Arras

Partager :

The Citadel, the British Memorial and the New Zealand tunnels in Arras.

 

Nicknamed the Belle Inutile (the useless beautiful), the citadel is a Vauban structure built between 1668 and 1672. Pentagonal in shape, it is flanked on each corner by huge bastions protected by free-standing fortifications, part of which is preserved. The white stone Porte Royale faces the town and emphasises the power of the new sovereign. The buildings necessary for life in the Citadel surround the esplanade. Aligned with the Porte Royale, the arsenal, whose openings are emphasised by the stone décor, has a privileged place in the fort's spatial organisation The chapel, a gem of Baroque architecture, still has a brick façade richly decorated with fluted engaged columns, medallions, flame ornaments, etc.

  • The entrance to the Citadel of Arras. Source: http://arras-france.com

    The entrance to the Citadel of Arras. Source: http://arras-france.com

  • The entrance to the Citadel of Arras. Source: Jean-Pierre Le Padellec SGA/DMPA

    The entrance to the Citadel of Arras. Source: Jean-Pierre Le Padellec SGA/DMPA

Source MINDEF/SGA/DMPA Northern territory

 

 

The Chemin des Douves path takes visitors on a trail around the Citadel, to the Crinchon, a stream that was used to fill the ditches with water. The citadel itself is owned by the French Army. It can be visited as part of a tour organised by the Tourist Information Office in the Town Hall. Despite the modifications over the centuries, the Arras citadel is still testimony to Vauban's art.


There is a memorial in the Faubourg d'Amiens cemetery, not far from the citadel. It commemorates the deaths of 35,000 men – British, New Zealand and South African – who fell between spring 1916 and 7 August 1918 and who do not have their own tomb. The names of the dead are engraved on stone slabs affixed to the walls of the cloister with Doric columns, built by Sir Edwin Luytens. Faubourg d'Amiens cemetery on Boulevard du Général de Gaulle also has 2,652 identified tombs.

Opposite the Memorial, on the wall of the cloister is the "Flying Services Memorial", engraved with the names of the Royal Naval Air Service, the Royal Flying Corps, the Royal Air Force and the Australian Flying Corps.

 

Part of the Arras Memorial, erected in the Faubourg d'Amiens cemetery, is considered a homage to the first aviators who lost their lives in combat. The Aviators' Memorial is noticeable as soon as you enter the cemetery; it consists of a raised base surmounted with a globe.
The names of all the airmen who fell on the Western front and whose tombs are unknown are engraved on each side. These include the names of 46 Canadians. The Canadians were particularly distinguished in the air war. Twenty-five thousand of them served as pilots, lookouts, and mechanics in the British Forces. Canadian airmen received over eight hundred decorations and citations, including three Victoria Crosses, for their bravery. Out of the "aces" of the RAF, five were Canadian. Pilots like W.A. "Billy" Bishop, W.G. Barker, Raymond Collishaw and A.A. McLeod were famous for their boldness and their feats.


The New Zealand tunnels form a complex system of underground shafts and caves which extend from Arras to Bapaume and Cambrai. In 1916 and 1917, the New Zealand company of tunnellers extended an existing network of old caves with shafts to reach No Man's Land, under the German trenches. The site was rediscovered in 1996.

 

Website of the regional tourist board for the Nord

 

Quizz : Forts and citadels

Partager :

Arras

La Citadelle, le Mémorial britannique et les tunnels Néo-Zélandais d'Arras.

Partager :

La citadelle

 

Surnommée la Belle Inutile, la citadelle est une oeuvre de Vauban réalisée entre 1668 et 1672. De forme pentagonale, elle est flanquée à chaque angle d'énormes bastions protégés par des ouvrages avancés en partie conservés. La porte Royale de pierre blanche fait face à la ville et souligne le pouvoir du nouveau souverain. Autour de l'esplanade gravitent les bâtiments nécessaires à la vie de la citadelle.

Placé dans l'axe de la porte Royale, l'arsenal dont le décor de pierre souligne les ouvertures occupe une place privilégiée dans l'organisation spatiale de la place forte.

La chapelle, joyau de l'architecture baroque, conserve une façade de brique richement décorée de colonnes engagées, cannelées, de médaillons, pots à feu...

 

  • Entrée de la citadelle d'Arras

    Entrée de la citadelle d'Arras. Source : Jean-Pierre Le Padellec SGA/DMPA

  • Mémorial britannique d'Arras

    Mémorial britanique d'Arras. Source : Jean-Pierre Le Padellec SGA/DMPA

Source MINDEF/SGA/DMPA Territoire Nord

 

 

Le chemin des Douves permet de parcourir les extérieurs de la Citadelle et de découvrir le Crinchon, ruisseau aux allures bucoliques, utilisé à des fins militaires pour mettre en eau les fossés. La citadelle elle-même, propriété de l'Armée, est accessible dans le cadre des visites organisées par l'Office de Tourisme installé à l'Hôtel de Ville - Petite Place. Malgré les modifications subies au cours des siècles, la Citadelle d'Arras reste le témoignage de l'art de Vauban.

 

Le Mémorial Britanique

 

Il se situe au cimetière du Faubourg d'Amiens, non loin de la citadelle. Il commémore les morts de 35 000 hommes, Britanniques, Néo-zélandais et Sud-Africains qui tombèrent entre ce printemps 1916 et le 7 août 1918 et qui n'ont pas de tombe identifiée. Les noms des morts sont inscrits sur des stèles de pierre apposées aux murs du cloître à colonnes doriques bâti par Sir Edwin Luytens. Le cimetière du Faubourg d'Amiens, boulevard du Général de Gaulle, abrite aussi 2 652 tombes identifiées.

Face au Mémorial constitué par le cloître se dresse le "Flying Services Mémorial" sur les murs duquel sont gravés les noms du Royal Naval Air Service, du Royal Flying Corps, de la Royal Air Force et de l'Australian Flying Corps.

 

Une partie du Mémorial d'Arras, érigé dans le faubourg d'Amiens, est généralement considérée comme un hommage aux premiers aviateurs à avoir perdu la vie au cours de combats. On remarque immédiatement à l'entrée du cimetière le Mémorial des aviateurs, formé d'un socle élevé surmonté d'un globe.
De chaque côté y sont gravés les noms de tous les aviateurs tombés sur le front occidental et dont la sépulture est inconnue, incluant les noms de 46 Canadiens. Les Canadiens se distinguèrent particulièrement dans la guerre aérienne. Vingt cinq mille d'entre eux servirent comme pilotes, observateurs et mécaniciens dans les forces britanniques. Les aviateurs canadiens obtinrent pour leur bravoure plus de huit cents décorations et citations, dont trois croix de Victoria. Parmi les "as" de la RAF, cinq d'entre eux étaient canadiens. Des pilotes tels que W.A. "Billy" Bishop, W.G. Barker, Raymond Collishaw et A.A. McLeod se rendirent partout célèbres par leur audace et leurs exploits.

 

 

Les tunnels Néo-Zélandais


Les tunnels néo-zélandais forment un système complexe de galeries souterraines et de caves qui s'étendent d'Arras vers Bapaume et Cambrai. En 1916 et 1917, la compagnie néo-zélandaise des tunneliers creusait un réseau déjà existant de caves anciennes et les prolongeait par des galeries pour aboutir en no man's land, sous les tranchées allemandes. Le site a été redécouvert en 1996.

 

Site du comité régional du tourisme de la région Nord

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

Partager :