Lettre d'information

Cantigny

Plaque – Detail of the Monument to the US 1st Division. Source: www.usmilitariaforum.com

The Battle of Cantigny in May 1918 was the first major American battle in the Great War.

The Battle of Cantigny, which took place from 28 to 31 May 1918, remains extremely important in the history of the United States as it was the first major American battle in the Great War.

The Battle of Cantigny helped to contain the German offensives during the spring of 1918, giving newfound confidence and morale to the Allies and demonstrating the American soldiers’ fighting skills. General John J. Pershing wrote, "It was a question of pride for the American Expeditionary Forces that the division’s troops, in their first battle... should display the moral strength and courage of the veterans, holding on to land taken and refusing to let the enemy take the slightest advantage".

Over 1,000 American soldiers were put out of combat during this battle and 199 of them died. At Cantigny, the 1st Division began a series of American successes, powerfully amplified by the heroic position of the 2nd and 3rd US Divisions along the Marne a few days later. With nearly one million Americans in France at the time, the Allies’ morale was about to change, from a defeatist spirit to the certainty of victory soon to come. Cantigny was the first battle of the US 1st Division (now known as the 1st Infantry Division) which was again to make a name for itself in 1944 during the attack on Omaha Beach in Normandy on 6 June.

Many famous Americans fought at Cantigny, including George C. Marshall, Army Chief of Staff during World War II and later Secretary of Defence and the Secretary of State who implemented the Marshall Plan. Robert R. McCormick, owner of the Chicago Tribune who changed the name of his property to Cantigny when he returned to the United States. Upon his death, the property was transformed into a park open to the public in keeping with his last wishes; a foundation that bears his name was set up along with a museum dedicated to the history of the 1st Division from 1917 to the present, in Wheaton, Illinois. There are several monuments in Cantigny, in the Somme department, that serve to remind us of their exploits. A small private museum houses vestiges of the battle and can be visited by appointment.

"Pays de Parmentier" Tourist Office
5 Place du Général de Gaulle 80500 Montdidier
Tel.: +33 (0) 322 789 200 Fax : +33 (0) 322 780 088
Mail: ot-montdidier@orange.fr

 

 

Somme Somme Tourism Committee

“Pays Parmentier” Tourism

 First Division Museum

La Somme 14-18

  • Monument au 28e Régiment d'Infanterie US.
    Source : Frederic Castier, First Division Museum

  • Monument de la 1ère Division US.
    Source : Frederic Castier, First Division Museum

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address

    5 Place du Général de Gaulle 80500
    Montdidier
    Tél : +33 (0) 322 789 200Fax : +33 (0) 322 780 088

    Weekly opening hours

    Accessible year round

Cantigny

Partager :

La bataille de Cantigny en mai 1918, est la première bataille américaine majeure de la Grande Guerre.

La bataille de Cantigny, qui se déroule du 28 au 31 mai 1918, reste extrêmement importante dans l'histoire des Etats-Unis car elle est la première bataille américaine majeure de la Grande Guerre.

  • Monument au 28e Régiment d'Infanterie US

    Monument au 28e Régiment d'Infanterie US.
    Source : Frederic Castier, First Division Museum

  • Monument de la 1ère Division US

    Monument de la 1ère Division US.
    Source : Frederic Castier, First Division Museum

Source : Frederic Castier, First Division Museum

La bataille de Cantigny a aidé à contenir les offensives allemandes du printemps 1918, a redonné confiance au moral des Alliés et a démontré l'aptitude au combat du soldat américain. Le général John J. Pershing écrit "C'était une question de fierté pour la Force Expéditionnaire Américaine que les troupes de cette division, dans leur première bataille... affichent la force morale et le courage de vétérans, tiennent le terrain gagné, et refusent à l'ennemi le plus petit avantage".

 

Plus de 1 000 soldats américains ont été mis hors de combat durant cette bataille dont 199 sont morts. A Cantigny, la 1ère Division débute une série de succès américains puissamment amplifiée par l'héroïque position des 2e et 3e Divisions US le long de la Marne, quelques jours plus tard. Avec près d'un million d'Américains en France à cette période, le moral des Alliés allait changer, passant d'un esprit défaitiste à la certitude de la victoire prochaine. Cantigny est la première bataille de la 1ère Division américaine (de nos jours la 1ère Division d'Infanterie) qui se distinguera encore en 1944, pendant l'assaut, le 6 juin, sur la plage d'Omaha Beach en Normandie.


De nombreux Américains célèbres ont servi à Cantigny, dont George C. Marshall, chef d'état-major de l'armée durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale puis Secrétaire à la Défense et aux Affaires Etrangères et qui mettra en place le Plan Marshall. Robert R. Mc Cormick, propriétaire du journal le Chicago Tribune, changera à son retour aux Etats-Unis le nom de sa propriété pour l'appeler Cantigny. A son décès, cette propriété sera transformée en un parc ouvert au public pour respecter ses dernières volontés, ainsi qu'une fondation qui porte son nom et un musée dédié à l'histoire de la 1ère Division, de 1917 à nos jours, à Wheaton dans l'Illinois. Plusieurs monuments rappelant ces faits d'armes se dressent aujourd'hui à Cantigny, dans la Somme. Un petit musée privé renfermant les vestiges de cette bataille est également visible sur rendez-vous.


Office de tourisme "Pays de Parmentier"

5 Place du Général de Gaulle 80500 Montdidier

Tél : +33 (0) 322 789 200 Fax : +33 (0) 322 780 088 E-mail : ot-montdidier@orange.fr

 

 

Comité du tourisme de la Somme

Tourisme du Pays Parmentier

 First Division Museum

La Somme 14-18

Partager :