La Plaine au Bois

Source : Commune d'Esquelbecq

 

World War II Memorial Site in Esquelbecq (Nord department – 59)

As part of Operation Dynamo, which was supposed to enable the British and French troops, driven back to the sea, to evacuate Dunkirk, battalions of British soldiers were deployed in the sector of La Plaine au Bois with the mission of delaying the German troops’ advance for a few hours. After 9 hours of heroic fighting known as the Battle of Wormhout, most of the British were wounded and out of ammunition and had to surrender to the enemy. Unfortunately for them, their adversaries were the brutal SS from the Führer’s personal guard who, in total disregard for the Geneva Conventions, herded them into a barn and executed them in cold blood by throwing grenades inside.

 

Source : Commune of Esquelbecq

 

Eighty British soldiers and one French soldier were thus slaughtered on 28 May 1940 at 5.30 pm.

 

Thirteen British soldiers survived and were rescued by the farmers who lived around the site until medical help arrived.

 

Source : Commune of Esquelbecq

 

 

This massacre had remained unknown for a long time until some of the survivors of this tragic episode, who were among the British veterans who had come to commemorate the anniversary of Operation Dynamo, went to look for this site of the massacre and told of what they had lived through. Based on these harrowing stories, a local amateur historian Guy Rommelaere, wrote his book titled "The Forgotten Massacre" (*).

 

 

Source : Commune of Esquelbecq

 

In 2000, after consolidation of the farmland, the pasture where the massacre occurred was nearly turned into ploughland. This was without reckoning with the desires of the elected officials in the three communes of Esquelbecq, Ledringhem and Wormhout, where the events of 28 May 1940 took place. A Franco-British association was set up with the goal of preserving, restoring and maintaining this site fraught with history. The association acquired the pasture and has since built a barn identical to the original, as well as a lookout with an orientation table to be able to locate the various elements of that tragic day and, more recently, a stele of peace and friendship among peoples was inaugurated for the 70th anniversary of Operation Dynamo.

 

 

Source : Commune of Esquelbecq

 

 

(*)All income from the sale of this book is donated to the association. It is available at the tourism offices of Esquelbecq and Wormhout for 20 euros.

 

> Return to results

Practical information

Address

Office de Tourisme 9, place Alphonse Bergerot – 59470
Esquelbecq
Tel. : +33 (0)3.28.62.88.57 – Fax: +33 (0)3.28.62.49.57

Prices

Guided tours for groups (€2 per person)

La Plaine au Bois

Partager :

Site de mémoire 39-45 à Esquelbecq (59)

Dans le cadre de l'opération Dynamo qui devait permettre aux troupes britanniques et françaises, acculées à la mer, d'évacuer Dunkerque, des bataillons de soldats britanniques avaient été disposés dans le secteur de la Plaine au Bois avec pour mission de retarder de quelques heures l'avancée des troupes allemandes. Après 9 h de combats héroïques, connus par « La bataille de Wormhout », les Britanniques pour la plupart blessés et sans munitions durent se rendre à l'ennemi. Malheureusement pour eux, leurs adversaires étaient de terribles SS de la garde personnelle du Führer, qui, au mépris total de la Convention de Genève, les entasseront dans une grange et les exécuteront froidement par jet de grenades.

 

Source : Commune d'Esquelbecq

 

 

80 soldats britanniques et 1 soldat français furent ainsi massacrés le 28 mai 1940 à 17h30.

 

13 soldats britanniques ont survécu, ils ont été secourus par les fermiers, résidents aux alentours du site, jusqu’à l’arrivée des secours médicaux. 

 

Source : Commune d'Esquelbecq

 

 

Longtemps ce massacre resta ignoré. Jusqu'à ce que, parmi les vétérans britanniques venus commémorer l'anniversaire de l'opération Dynamo, certains survivants de cet épisode tragique se mirent à la recherche du lieu du massacre et à raconter ce qu'ils y avaient vécu. A partir de ces témoignages poignants, un historien local amateur Guy Rommelaere rédigea son livre intitulé: "Le massacre oublié" (*)

 

 

Source : Commune d'Esquelbecq

 

 

En 2000, après le remembrement des terres agricoles, la pâture du massacre a bien failli être transformée en terre à labour. C'était  sans compter avec la volonté des élus des trois communes d'Esquelbecq, Ledringhem et Wormhout où s'étaient déroulés les faits le 28 mai 1940. Une association franco-britannique a vu le jour avec pour objectifs: la sauvegarde, la mise en valeur et l'entretien de ce lieu chargé d'histoire. La pâture a pu être acquise par l'association qui depuis y a fait ériger une grange identique à celle d'origine ainsi qu'un belvédère doté d'une table d'orientation permettant de situer les différents éléments de cette journée tragique et plus récemment une stèle de la paix et de l'amitié entre les peuples a été inaugurée lors du 70ème  anniversaire de l’opération Dynamo.

 

 

Source : Commune d'Esquelbecq

 

 

(*)L'intégralité des produits de la vente de ce livre est reversée à l'association. Il est disponible dans les offices de tourisme d'Esquelbecq et de Wormhout au prix de 20 euros.

 

Partager :