Le Quesnoy

Share:

The fortifications of Le Quesnoy.

 

A castle was built here by the count of Hainaut in the 12th century. The entrance door and the sandstone cellars remain. The first strongholds, built by order of Charles Quint, date from 1528. After the city was taken by Turenne in 1657, Vauban began to modernise it in 1668. He created four pools with which to flood the ditches and remodelled the southern flank. The Saint-Martin and Gard strongholds are representative of Vauban's first system. In the 18th century, a large hornwork structure was erected to the east of Porte Fauroeulx.

  • The citadel of Le Quesnoy. Source: Etablissement du génie de Lille

    The citadel of Le Quesnoy. Source: Etablissement du génie de Lille

  • The fortifications of Le Quesnoy. Source: Etablissement du génie de Lille

    The fortifications of Le Quesnoy. Source: Etablissement du génie de Lille

Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA Northern territory

 

 

In 1881, the fort was further strengthened.

The well-preserved enclosure has the shape of an irregular octagon. It is defended by eight bastions and has been fully restored. There are two walking circuits open to the public:

 

- The ramparts: hiking card available from the Conseil Général du Nord.

- Discovery of the trees on the ramparts of Le Quesnoy: Circuit designed by the Parc Naturel Régional de L'Avesnois.

 


As you walk around the fortifications, stopping to read the educational panels, you can admire the eight bastions and seventeen outwork constructions in the ditches. Worthy of mention are the 18th century gunpowder store, the medieval tower of Count Baudouin, the Porte Fauroeulx, the Fauroeulx hornwork from the 18th century and five bastions: royal, imperial, green, Gard and Saint-Martin. Outside, the Pont-Rouge pool which was used to fill the ditches is now a watersport site.


Every year during the Heritage Days, a military encampment of the revolutionary armies, animates the fortified site for two days, with over 400 participants. An association called "Le Cercle Historique Quercitain" is researching the past of Le Quesnoy and its two cantons. It has premises in the Cernay centre, or the Château Marguerite de Bourgogne, where it welcomes groups to look around two exhibition rooms covering the history of the fortification. Since 1987, the fortified cities have had a regional day on the last Sunday of April, and some citadels, which are now military barracks, regularly open their doors to the public. Lastly, the route of fortified cities, launched in 1993, gives the public the chance to discover these cities, armed with a map and explanation cards available from the Association des villes fortifiées and in the tourist offices of Ambleteuse, Arras, Avesnes-sur-Helpe, Bergues, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Calais, Cambrai, Condé-sur-Escaut, Gravelines, Le Quesnoy, Lille, Maubeuge, Montreuil-sur-Mer and Saint-Omer.

 


This war memorial commemorates the victory of the New Zealand Rifle Brigade, which liberated Le Quesnoy on 4 November 1918 from the German garrison which had occupied the town for four years. The New Zealanders climbed the fortifications with ladders, just like in the Middle Ages.

In 1999, Le Quesnoy opened the "Centre de documentation relatif à la libération de la ville en 1918", a documentation centre concerning the town's liberation in 1918. Le Quesnoy has become the main site for World War 1 commemorations for New Zealand in France, with a ceremony organised by the ambassador of New Zealand in Paris, the local authorities and the Commonwealth War Graves Commission. During these ceremonies, a parade including the mayor and local authorities, war veterans, visitors and people from the region crosses the town up to the ramparts and the New Zealand war memorial of 1923 to lay a wreath. The procession then moves towards the French war memorial to lay another wreath. The ceremony ends at the town hall, where a tribal sculpture "teko teko maori" perpetuates the memory.

 

New Zealand is still officially represented at Le Quesnoy during commemorations for the Armistice, on 11 November. New Zealand parliament officials and other groups, such as the New Zealand rugby team, have been to this town several times. Le Quesnoy and Cambridge in New Zealand were twinned in 1999.


Association des villes fortifiées

Hôtel de Ville Rue Maréchal Joffre 59530 Le Quesnoy

Tel.: +33 3.27.47.55.54
 

Le Quesnoy Tourist Information Office

Tel.: +33 3.27.20.54.70

 

e-mail : OTSI.le.quesnoy@wanadoo.fr

 

Quizz : Forts and citadels

Share:

Le Quesnoy

Partager :

Les fortifications de Le Quesnoy...

 

Un château y fut édifié par le comte de Hainaut au XIIème siècle. Il en subsiste la porte à l'entrée et des caves de grès. Ses premiers bastions construits sur l'ordre de Charles Quint datent de 1528. Après la prise de la ville en 1657, par Turenne, Vauban modernise la place à partir de 1668. Il crée quatre étangs pour inonder les fossés et remodèle le front sud dont les bastions Saint-Martin et du Gard illustrent avec leur dehors le premier système de Vauban. Au XVIIIème siècle est édifié un grand ouvrage à corne à l'est de la Porte Fauroeulx.

  • La citadelle de Le Quesnoy

    La citadelle de Le Quesnoy. Source : Etablissement du génie de Lille

  • Les fortifications de Le Quesnoy

    Les fortifications de Le Quesnoy. Source : Etablissement du génie de Lille

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA territoire Nord

 

 

En 1881, la place-forte fut encore confortée.

L'enceinte très bien conservée a la forme d'un octogone irrégulier. Elle est défendue par huit bastions et a été entièrement restaurée. 2 circuits pédestres sont proposés au grand public :

 

- Le circuit des remparts : fiche de randonnée du Conseil Général du Nord.

- A la découverte des arbres des remparts du Quesnoy : Circuit élaboré par le Parc Naturel Régional de L'Avesnois.

 


Lors de la promenade des fortifications, jalonnée de panneaux pédagogiques, on admirera les huit bastions et dix-sept dehors implantés dans les fossés. Mentionnons la Poudrière du XVIIIème siècle, la tour médiévale du Comte Baudouin, la porte Fauroeulx, l'ouvrage à cornes Fauroeulx, du XVIIIème siècle, et 5 bastions : royal, impérial, vert, du Gard, Saint-Martin. Au dehors, l'étang du Pont-Rouge qui servait à remplir les fossés des remparts est à présent un site "balnéaire".


Un bivouac des Armées révolutionnaires, avec plus de 400 participants anime le site fortifié pendant 2 jours tous les deux ans au moment des Journées du Patrimoine. Une association "Le Cercle Historique Quercitain" fait des recherches sur le passé du Quesnoy et de ses deux cantons et possède un local au centre Cernay dit Château Marguerite de Bourgogne pour accueillir des groupes dans deux salles d'exposition didactiques sur l'histoire de la fortification. Depuis 1987, les villes fortifiées ont également leur journée régionale le dernier dimanche d'avril et certaines citadelles devenues casernes militaires ouvrent régulièrement leurs portes au public. Enfin, la route des villes fortifiées, lancée en 1993 permet au public de découvrir ces villes à l'aide d'une carte et de fiches explicatives disponibles auprès de l'association des villes fortifiées et dans les offices de tourisme d'Ambleteuse, Arras, Avesnes-sur-Helpe, Bergues, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Calais, Cambrai, Condé-sur-Escaut, Gravelines, Le Quesnoy, Lille, Maubeuge, Montreuil-sur-Mer et Saint-Omer.

 


Ce monument aux morts commémore la victoire de la New Zealand RifleBrigade qui libéra le Quesnoy le 4 novembre 1918 de la garnison allemande qui occupait la ville depuis quatre ans. Les Néo-zélandais escaladèrent les fortifications comme au Moyen-Age avec des échelles.

En 1999, Le Quesnoy a ouvert la maison quercitaine de Nouvelle Zélande "Centre de documentation relatif à la libération de la ville en 1918". Le Quesnoy est devenu le lieu principal des commémorations de la Première Guerre mondiale pour la Nouvelle Zélande en France, avec la tenue d'une cérémonie organisée par l'ambassade de Nouvelle-Zélande à Paris, les autorités locales et la Commonwealth War Graves Commission. Lors de ces deux cérémonies, un défilé rassemblant le maire et des autorités locales, des anciens combattants, des visiteurs et des personnes de la région traverse la ville jusqu'aux remparts et au monument aux morts néo-zélandais de 1923 pour le dépôt de gerbe. La procession se dirige ensuite vers le monument aux morts français pour un nouveau dépôt de gerbe. La cérémonie se termine à la mairie où une sculpture tribale "teko teko maori" perpétue le souvenir.

 

La Nouvelle Zélande est toujours officiellement représentée à Le Quesnoy lors des commémorations de l'Armistice, le 11 novembre. Des parlementaires néo-zélandais et d'autres groupes divers comme l'équipe néo-zélandaise de rugby, les All Blacks, sont déjà allés à plusieurs reprises dans cette ville. Le Quesnoy et Cambridge, en Nouvelle-Zélande sont jumelées depuis 1999.

 


Association des villes fortifiées

Hôtel de Ville Rue Maréchal Joffre 59530 Le Quesnoy

Tél. : 03.27.47.55.54

 

Office de Tourisme du Quesnoy

Tel : 03.27.20.54.70

e-mail : OTSI.le.quesnoy@wanadoo.fr

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

Partager :