Lettre d'information

Louis Pergaud

1882-1915

“Mort pour la France”

 

Louis Pergaud was born on 22 January 1882 in Belmont, in the Doubs department. Son of a lay schoolteacher, he spent his childhood in small villages, exploring the countryside and trout fishing with his buddies. A brilliant student, he was admitted to the École Normale in 1898 and was appointed schoolteacher at Durnes in October 1901. The death of his two parents in February and March of 1900 was a great shock to the young man, which he got over by reading the poems of Léon Deubel, inspiring his literary passion.

In 1902, he did his military service, which left him with bad memories; his marriage to Marthe Caffot in 1903 was a failure and his daughter died in 1904. At the same time, his militant Republicanism caused him some problems with the population, leading to his transfer to Landresse at a time when the relations between the Church and Republican schools were extremely tense. Louis Pergaud was dissatisfied with life and withdrew into hunting and walking, awaking the scents of his childhood, and discussions with friends, including the extravagant café owner, Duboz. He soon fell in love with one of his daughters, Delphine. Léon Deubel, who had helped him get his first collection of poems published in 1904, asked him to come and join him in Paris.

Pergaud decided to change his life. He moved to the capital in 1907 and had Delphine join him and he married her after his divorce. Léon Deubel supported him in his desire to write. To make a living, he went back to his profession of schoolteacher and during his holidays he gathered material for his works. Louis Pergaud immediately became a figure in the literary world: he received the Prix Goncourt in 1910 for his first book, De Goupil à Margot, which met with great success.

In 1912, he published The War of the Buttons, the novel of my twelfth year. On the backdrop of the rivalries between two villages, the author uses sometimes fierce humour to develop subjects that were dear to him: country life, parochialism, the quarrels between the church and the secular state, etc. For Pergaud, 1913 was a happy period with the success of his novel Miraut the Hunting Dog, but it was also painful due to Léon Deubel’s suicide.

 

 

A naturalist writer, Pergaud used rich, dense writing to create a hymn to life that is still wild, with an innovative side in seeking out empathy with animals. He revisited his rural world, preparing several texts that he sent to Mercure de France in the spring of 1914 under the title Les rustiques. The book had not yet been published when Louis Pergaud was mobilised. War broke out on 2 September. With recruitment roll number 2216 in Belfort, he was assigned as a sergeant to the 166th Infantry Regiment at Verdun. “A pacifist and antimilitarist, I did not want the Kaiser’s boot more than any other boot rammed onto my country.”  (1)

He reached the front in October, in the Woëvre sector of the Meuse, a damp region whose hills saw fierce fighting. His correspondence deplored "bedroom patriots", describing the courage of the "poilus" – the French soldiers – the mud in the trenches and ever-present death. The childhood fights between the Lebrac gang and the Aztec gang of Les Gués, the heroes of The War of the Buttons, took on the mortal dimension of an adult conflict.

 

Second lieutenant Louis Pergaud (centre).

 

In the spring of 1915, the French launched an offensive in the Hauts de Meuse. During the night of 7 April, Second Lieutenant Pergaud’s company set out from Fresnes-en-Woëvre, attacking hill 233 in the direction of Marchéville. Near the enemy trenches, under the pouring rain, the soldiers met with intense gunfire. Louis Pergaud’s section was decimated, the survivors hid and then withdrew in the early morning. No one ever saw the writer again. Some of the men said he was wounded. German stretcher-bearers may have retrieved him and transported him to a trench while waiting to be able to evacuate him. But to take the Les Éparges Ridge, hill 233 had to be taken: the next day, the French artillery pounded the area, destroying the entire landscape, forever burying the men in this land, without distinction.

On 4 August 1921, a judgement by the court of the Seine, Louis Pergaud, who had disappeared, was declared “Mort pour la France” (Dead for France) on 8 April 1915 at Fresnes-en-Woëvre. He was one of the 1,160 soldiers who died or disappeared from the 166th Infantry Regiment during the year 1915. There is no tomb, but his books carry on the memory of this writer and his broken destiny.

 

Commemorative plaque, 3 rue Marguerin, Paris 14e. Source: © Public Domain / Wikimedia Commons
 
(1) Letter to Lucien Descaves, March 1915.

Louis Pergaud

1882-1915

« Mort pour la France »

 

Louis Pergaud naît le 22 janvier 1882 à Belmont dans le Doubs. Fils d’un instituteur laïc, il vit son enfance dans des petits villages, explorant la campagne et traquant la truite avec ses copains. Brillant élève, il entre, en 1898, à l’École normale et est nommé instituteur à Durnes en octobre 1901. La mort de ses deux parents, en février et mars 1900, a causé au jeune homme un traumatisme profond qu’il surmonte en lisant les poèmes de Léon Deubel, lesquels suscitent en lui une passion littéraire.

 

En 1902, il effectue son service militaire dont il garde un mauvais souvenir ; son mariage, en 1903, avec Marthe Caffot, se révèle un échec et sa fille décède en 1904. En même temps, son républicanisme de combat lui vaut des querelles avec la population, entraînant sa mutation à Landresse, à un moment où les tensions entre l’Église et l’école républicaine sont extrêmement vives. Mal dans sa peau, Louis Pergaud se réfugie dans la chasse, les promenades où se réveillent les parfums de l’enfance, les discussions avec les amis dont le volubile cafetier Duboz. Il tombe bientôt amoureux de l’une de ses filles, Delphine. Léon Deubel, qui l’a aidé, en 1904, à faire paraître son premier recueil de poèmes, lui propose de le rejoindre à Paris.

 

Pergaud décide de changer de vie. En 1907, il gagne la capitale, fait venir Delphine qu’il épouse après son divorce. Léon Deubel le conforte dans son désir d’écrire. Pour subsister, il reprend son métier d’instituteur et pendant ses vacances recueille le matériau de ses ouvrages. D’emblée, la figure de Louis Pergaud s’impose dans le monde littéraire : le Prix Goncourt couronne en 1910 son premier ouvrage, De Goupil à Margot, qui rencontre un véritable succès.

 
En 1912, il publie La Guerre des boutons, roman de ma douzième année. Sur fond de rivalités entre deux villages, l’auteur développe, avec un humour parfois féroce, des thèmes qui lui sont chers : la vie campagnarde, l’esprit de clocher, les querelles laïco-cléricales…1913 est pour Pergaud une période faste qui voit le succès de son Roman de Miraut, chien de chasse, mais aussi douloureuse à cause du suicide de Léon Deubel.

 

Ecrivain naturaliste, Pergaud déploie une écriture riche et dense pour un hymne à la vie encore sauvage, se montrant novateur en cherchant l’empathie avec les animaux. Il revisite son univers rural, préparant plusieurs textes, qu’il remet au printemps 1914 au Mercure de France sous le titre Les rustiques. Le livre n’est pas encore imprimé que Louis Pergaud reçoit son ordre de mobilisation. La guerre éclate le 2 septembre. Matricule 2216 au recrutement de Belfort, il est affecté comme sergent au 166e régiment d’infanterie, à Verdun. « Pacifiste et antimilitariste, je ne voulais pas plus de la botte du Kaiser que de n’importe quelle botte éperonnée pour mon pays. » (1)

 

En octobre, il gagne le front, dans le secteur meusien de la Woëvre, région humide dont les collines font l’objet d’âpres combats. Sa correspondance stigmatise « les patriotes en chambre », décrit le courage des poilus, la boue des tranchées, la mort permanente. Les bagarres juvéniles entre la bande de Lebrac et celle de l’Aztec des Gués, héros de La Guerre des boutons, ont pris la dimension mortelle d’un conflit d’adultes.

 

Le sous-lieutenant Louis Pergaud (au centre de l'image).

 

Au printemps 1915, les Français lancent une offensive dans les Hauts de Meuse. Le 7 avril, dans la nuit, la compagnie du sous-lieutenant Pergaud attaque, depuis Fresnes-en-Woëvre, la cote 233 vers Marchéville. Près des tranchées ennemies, sous une pluie battante, les soldats subissent une intense fusillade. La section de Louis Pergaud est décimée, les survivants se terrent puis se replient au petit jour. Nul ne reverra l’écrivain. Des hommes l’ont dit blessé. Des brancardiers allemands auraient pu le récupérer et le transporter dans une tranchée, en attendant de pouvoir l’évacuer. Mais pour assurer la conquête de la crête des Éparges, la cote 233 doit être reprise : le lendemain, l’artillerie française la pilonne, détruisant tout le paysage, ensevelissant à jamais, sans distinction, les hommes dans cette terre.

 

Le 4 août 1921, par jugement du tribunal de la Seine, Louis Pergaud, disparu, fut déclaré « mort pour la France » le 8 avril 1915 à Fresnes-en-Woëvre. Il compte au nombre des 1 160 morts et disparus du 166e RI pour l’année 1915. En l’absence de tombe, ce sont désormais ses livres qui portent le souvenir de l’écrivain au destin brisé.

 

 

(1) Lettre à Lucien Descaves, mars 1915.

 




Plaque commémorative, 3 rue Marguerin, Paris 14e.
Source :  © Public Domain / Wikimedia Commons
Ministère de la défense - DMPA - Daniel Fleury - Revue : Les Chemins de la Mémoire n° 221 – Déc. 2011
< Revenir à la liste des personnalités