Marc Bloch

1886-1944

Despite being a renowned historian, the resistance activities of Marc Bloch, arrested in March 1944 by the Gestapo and shot with 29 others on 16 June in Saint-Didier de Formans, are not well known. Historian Laurent Douzou tells of the undercover action of this committed intellectual, from 1943 up to his death.

 

"We should focus more than we do on how academics die when they do not die of illness or old age" wrote the philosopher Georges Canguilhem about Marc Bloch, whose extraordinary reputation as a historian has sometimes obscured the active role he played during the Occupation.

 

A Professor at the Sorbonne and co-founder of the Annals of Economic and Social History, Bloch was a scientific luminary when war broke out. As he entered into the prime of life, he already had one work to his credit. He had also come under fire during the great war that he came out of with the Military Legion of Honour and the Croix de Guerre.

 

Aged 53 in 1939, this father of six asked to fight. Responsible for fuel supplies for the 1st army, he fulfilled his mission but noted with amazement that the building he believed to be solid was in fact very weak. In an analysis written in the summer of 1940 and published in 1946 under the title The Strange Defeat, he dissects the levels of responsibility for this disaster without trying to exonerate himself: "I belong to a generation that has a bad conscience. It is true that we came back very tired from the last war. Also, after these four years of fighting idleness, we were looking forward to going back to our jobs and taking up the tools of our various trades, tools now attacked by rust: we wanted to go all out and make up for the lost work. Those are our excuses. I no longer believe that they are sufficient to free us of blame".

 

Moved by the status of the Jews in October 1940, Marc Bloch was expelled from his position as Professor seconded to the University of Strasbourg, which had fallen back to Clermont-Ferrand. Under Article 8, which provided exemptions for individuals who had rendered exceptional services to France, he was reinstated in January 1941 and assigned to Montpellier in July. He refused to use the visa he had obtained for the United States because he would not leave his friends and family. He served in Montpellier until he was dismissed on 15 March 1943.

 

On this date, his peaceful medievalist life of toil took a radical turn. By going headlong into the resistance, Marc Bloch became "Narbonne" by making contact with Franc-Tireur. Georges Altman, leader of this movement, told of this encounter: "I can still remember that charming instant when Maurice [Pessis], one of our young friends in the underground, his 20-year old face red with joy, introduced me to his "new recruit", a fifty year old gentleman with military decorations, a finely sculpted face under a head of greying hair, a sharp look behind his spectacles, his briefcase in one hand, a cane in the other, rather ceremonial at first, my visitor soon smiled at me reaching out his hand and said kindly: Yes, I'm Maurice's "young colt"...

 

This precious testimony suggested what this plunge into the underground movement might have represented for the academic Marc Bloch where starting afresh he had to prove his worth just like any other beginner. Everything he then had to do was a break with his former life Georges Altman noted: "And we soon came to see the Sorbonne Professor share this gruelling "street dog" life that was the underground Resistance in our cities with amazing composure." "Maurice's colt" was quickly entrusted with tasks to match his talents. He worked on the Political Journals for the General Studies Committee and the Free Review, published by Franc-Tireur. These publications bear his mark, in particular this methodical table of the articles from the first year of the Political Journals in issue 5 in January 1944!

 

In July 1943, Marc Bloch became one of the three members of the regional directorate of united resistance movements, a position that was both exposed and strenuous. Aware of the danger, effective and determined, "Narbonne" asserted himself as a legitimate and respected leader in the small but demanding world of the underground. His arrest by a well-informed Gestapo, on the morning of Wednesday, March 8, 1944, on Boucle Bridge in Lyon shocked his comrades. Tortured on the premises of the military health school, interned in Montluc prison, Marc Bloch was shot on 16 June 1944 with 29 other resistance fighters in Saint-Didier-de-Formans.

 

Laurent Douzou, historian


In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 234/march 2013

Photo Source: ©Roger-Viollet/Albert Harlingue
< Back to the list of personalities

Marc Bloch

1886-1944

Aussi illustre soit-il en tant qu'historien, la résistance de Marc Bloch, qui fut arrêté en mars 1944 par la Gestapo et fusillé, avec 29 autres résistants, le 16 juin à Saint-Didier de Formans, reste peu connue. L'historien Laurent Douzou relate l'action clandestine de cet intellectuel engagé, depuis l'année 1943 jusqu'à sa mort.


"On devrait se préoccuper davantage qu'on ne le fait de la façon dont meurent les universitaires, quand il leur arrive de ne pas mourir de maladie ou de vieillesse" écrivait le philosophe Georges Canguilhem à propos de Marc Bloch, dont l'extraordinaire notoriété d'historien a parfois occulté le rôle actif durant l'Occupation.


Professeur à la Sorbonne, le co-fondateur des Annales d'histoire économique et sociale était, quand la guerre éclata, une sommité scientifique. Alors qu'il entrait dans sa pleine maturité, il avait déjà une œuvre à son actif. Il avait, de surcroît, été exposé au feu au cours de la Grande Guerre qu'il avait terminée avec la Légion d'honneur à titre militaire et la Croix de guerre.


Agé de 53 ans en 1939, ce père de six enfants demanda à combattre. Chargé du ravitaillement en essence de la 1re Armée, il remplit sa mission non sans constater avec stupéfaction que l'édifice qu'il avait cru solide était vermoulu. Disséquant dans une analyse rédigée à l'été 1940 et publiée en 1946 sous le titre de L'Étrange Défaite, les niveaux de responsabilité du désastre, il ne s'exonéra pas pour autant des siennes : "J'appartiens à une génération qui a mauvaise conscience. De la dernière guerre, c'est vrai, nous étions revenus bien fatigués. Nous avions aussi, après ces quatre ans d'oisiveté combattante, grande hâte de reprendre sur l'établi, où nous les avions laissé envahir par la rouille, les outils de nos divers métiers : nous voulions, par des bouchées doubles, rattraper le travail perdu. Telles sont nos excuses. Je ne crois plus, depuis longtemps, qu'elles suffisent à nous blanchir".


Touché par le statut des Juifs d'octobre 1940, Marc Bloch fut exclu de son poste de professeur détaché auprès de l'université de Strasbourg repliée à Clermont-Ferrand. Au titre de l'article 8, qui prévoyait des exemptions pour les individualités ayant rendu des services exceptionnels à la France, il fut relevé de cette mesure, en janvier 1941, et affecté à Montpellier en juillet. Il renonça à user du visa qu'il avait obtenu pour les États-Unis parce qu'il ne voulait pas laisser les siens. Il exerça ses fonctions à Montpellier jusqu'à sa révocation le 15 mars 1943.


À cette date, la paisible vie de labeur du médiéviste avait bifurqué radicalement. Entré de plain pied en résistance, Marc Bloch était devenu "Narbonne" en nouant contact avec Franc-Tireur. Georges Altman, dirigeant de ce mouvement, a relaté cette rencontre : "Je revois encore cette minute charmante où Maurice [Pessis], l'un de nos jeunes amis de la lutte clandestine, son visage de vingt ans rouge de joie, me présenta sa "nouvelle recrue", un monsieur de cinquante ans, décoré, le visage fin sous les cheveux gris argent, le regard aigu derrière ses lunettes, sa serviette d'une main, une canne de l'autre ; un peu cérémonieux d'abord, mon visiteur bientôt sourit en me tendant la main et dit avec gentillesse : Oui, c'est moi le "poulain" de Maurice..."


Précieux témoignage qui suggère bien ce que put représenter pour l'universitaire Marc Bloch le saut dans une clandestinité où, les cartes rebattues, il lui fallut faire ses preuves comme un débutant. Tout ce qu'il eut dès lors à faire s'inscrivit en rupture avec sa vie antérieure comme le relevait Georges Altman : "Et l'on vit bientôt le professeur en Sorbonne partager avec un flegme étonnant cette épuisante vie de "chiens de rues" que fut la Résistance clandestine dans nos villes". Au "poulain de Maurice" on confia vite des tâches à la mesure de ses talents. Il collabora aux Cahiers politiques du Comité général d'Études et à La Revue libre, éditée par Franc-Tireur. Ces publications portent sa marque, notamment cette table méthodique des articles de la première année des Cahiers politiques dans le numéro 5 de janvier 1944 !

 

En juillet 1943, Marc Bloch devint un des trois membres du directoire régional des Mouvements unis de résistance, poste à la fois exposé et harassant. Conscient du danger, efficace et déterminé, "Narbonne" s'affirma comme un dirigeant légitime et respecté dans le petit monde si exigeant de la clandestinité. Son arrestation, par une Gestapo bien renseignée, au matin du mercredi 8 mars 1944 sur le pont de la Boucle à Lyon, bouleversa ses camarades. Torturé dans les locaux de l'École de santé militaire, interné à la prison de Montluc, Marc Bloch fut fusillé le 16 juin 1944 avec 29 autres résistants à Saint-Didier-de-Formans.

 

Laurent Douzou, historien


In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 234/mars 2013

Source photo : ©Roger-Viollet/Albert Harlingue
< Revenir à la liste des personnalités