Raoul Monclar

1892-1964
Portrait of Raoul Monclar. Source: Order of the Liberation.

(Born 7 February 1892: Budapest, Hungary – Died 3 June 1964: Val-de-Grâce, Paris)

 

Born with the army in his blood, Raoul Magrin-Vernery happily described how at seven years old he wanted to leave his family and enlist with the Boers...

The son of a French teacher posted in Vienna, Anne Magrin, Raoul Charles was taken under the wing of a Hungarian count who looked after his intellectual and moral education. Raised in the cosmopolitan milieu of Austro-Hungarian society, the young man acquired an ease for adapting to his surroundings that would serve him throughout his lifetime. When he returned to France he was raised by his grandmother in Avison in the Doubs. After studying at the Victor Hugo school in Besançon then in a seminary college in Ornans, driven by his life-long dream to wear a military uniform, he ran away at 15 to enlist in the Foreign Legion. Too young to be recruited, he returned to school and finally embarked on his military career on 10 October 1912 when he joined the Ecole Militaire Spéciale, France's foremost military academy, in Saint-Cyr.

Graduating in 1914, in Montmirail’s year, he was propelled into the eye of the storm in the 60th Infantry Regiment: Plaine d'Alsace, Morte-Fontaine (Oise), fighting on the Ourcq and Aisne rivers, a volunteer in the Aumetzwiller offensive (Moselle), the counter-attack in the Bois d'Haumont (Bois des Caures), the offensive on the Somme, Ypres, the battle for the Butte de Tahure in Champagne.

Exhibiting extraordinary bravery, he was gassed, wounded six times and cited 11 times, including seven times to the Order of the Army. Despite having 90% disability, he was promoted captain on 24 June 1916 with the 260th IR and received the Legion of Honour.

During peace time, he was sent to overseas theatres of operations, in Odessa (1919), Syria-Palestine (1920) where his bravery earned him a new citation and the Officer's Cross of the Legion of Honour, in Algeria and in Morocco and then in Tonkin with the 5th Foreign Infantry Regiment. It was these missions that allowed him to fulfil his life’s ambition: to join the Foreign Legion, which he did in 1924.

On 23 February 1940, he quit the post of commander of the 4th Foreign Infantry Regiment in Morocco to take the helm of two marching battalions of the 13th Demi-Brigade of the Foreign Legion, a contingent of the expedition to Norway. On 5 May he landed in Ballangen, freed Bjervik and Narvik, liberated 60 allied prisoners and captured 590 Germans. The expedition was cut short and Magrin-Vernerey was sent to Brest on 15 June. When the armistice was declared, he left France with Captain Koenig and 500 of his men to fight under the command of General de Gaulle. Promoted to colonel, he became known as Monclar (the name of a town in Tarn-et-Garonne, his family's birthplace) for Free France. In December 1940, his 13th Demi-Brigade started its journey to Africa, to Dakar, Freetown and Cameroon where he wrote a small treatise on his theory of combat, Catéchisme du Combat. The brigade was sent to Anglo-Egyptian Sudan and took part in the campaign in Eritrea alongside the Garbay battalion, taking the capital Massawa, and capturing the admiral and the general commanders-in-chief of the Italian forces. In Syria (June 1941), however, as well as refusing to participate in the rallying campaign in Gabon, he refused to join because he couldn't stand the idea of a fratricidal struggle within the French army. Appointed to brigade general in 1941, he held various commands in Great Britain and then in the Levant. He was named Companion of the Liberation.

After various missions in Algeria, Pakistan and Indochina, he was named inspector of the Foreign Legion on 25 June 1948.

Appointed to general of the army corps on 20 February 1950, and having almost reached the age limit, rather than retire Monclar volunteered to join the command of the French Battalion of Korea which he commanded until 1951 against the communist troops in North Korea.

He retired in Neuilly, on 21 October 1962, a living military legend and crowned with the glory of seventeen national and twenty-one international decorations. He was the successor to General Kienst as the Governor of the Invalides,

He held this post until his death in 1964.

Raoul Monclar

1892-1964

(7 février 1892 : Budapest, Hongrie - 3 juin 1964 : Val-de-Grâce, Paris)

Soldat dans l'âme, Raoul Magrin-Vernerey racontait volontiers qu'à l'âge de sept ans il avait voulu quitter sa famille pour s'engager chez les Boers...

 

Fils d'une institutrice française en poste à Vienne, Anne Magrin, Raoul Charles est pris en affection par un comte hongrois qui veille à son éducation intellectuelle et morale. Evoluant dans le milieu cosmopolite de la société austro-hongroise, le jeune homme conservera une grande facilité d'adaptation tout au long de sa vie. De retour en France, il est élevé par sa grand-mère à Avison dans la Doubs. Après des études au lycée Victor Hugo à Besançon puis au petit séminaire d'Ornans, taraudé par son envie de porter l'uniforme, il s'enfuit de chez lui à quinze ans pour s'engager dans la Légion étrangère. Trop jeune pour une pareille aventure, il retourne à ses études pour enfin embrasser la carrière militaire le 10 octobre 1912 lorsqu'il intègre l'Ecole militaire spéciale de Saint-Cyr.

 

Diplômé en 1914, promotion Montmirail, il est propulsé dans la tourmente de la guerre au 60e régiment d'infanterie (RI) : la plaine d'Alsace, Morte-Fontaine (Oise), les combats de l'Ourcq, de l'Aisne, volontaire dans l'offensive d'Aumetzwiller (Moselle), la contre-attaque du bois d'Haumont (Bois des Caures), l'offensive de la Somme, Ypres, la butte de Tahure en pays rémois.

 


D'un héroïsme hors du commun, il est gazé, six fois blessé et onze fois cité, dont sept à l'ordre de l'armée. Réformé à 90%, il est promu capitaine le 24 juin 1916 au 260e RI, et reçoit la Légion d'Honneur.

 

La paix revenue, il est envoyé sur les théâtres d'opérations extérieures, à Odessa (1919), en Syrie-Palestine (1920) où sa bravoure lui vaut une nouvelle citation et la croix d'officier de la Légion d'Honneur, en Algérie et au Maroc puis au Tonkin au sein du 5e régiment étranger d'infanterie. Ces missions lui permettent de réaliser son rêve : rejoindre la Légion étrangère, et ce dès 1924.

 

Le 23 février 1940, il quitte le commandement du 4e REI au Maroc pour prendre la direction de deux bataillons de marche de la 13e demi-brigade de la Légion étrangère, contingent de l'expédition de Norvège. Le 5 mai il débarque à Ballangen, enlève Bjervik et Narvik, libère 60 prisonniers alliés et capture 590 Allemands. L'expédition tourne court et Magrin-Vernerey rejoint Brest le 15 juin. A l'annonce de l'armistice, avec le capitaine Koenig et 500 compagnons, il quitte la France pour aller se placer sous l'autorité du général de Gaulle. Promu colonel, il devient Monclar (nom d'une localité du Tarn-et-Garonne, berceau de sa famille) pour la France Libre. En décembre 1940, sa 13e demi-brigade entame son périple africain : Dakar, Freetown, le Cameroun où il rédige un petit traité sur sa conception du combat, Catéchisme du combat. Elle débarque au Soudan anglo-égyptien, prend part à la campagne d'Erythrée aux côtés du bataillon Garbay, enlevant la capitale, Massaouah, et capturant l'amiral et le général commandants en chef des forces italiennes. En Syrie (juin 1941) cependant, de même qu'il a refusé de participer à la campagne de ralliement du Gabon, il ne veut pas s'engager, ne pouvant supporter l'idée d'une lutte fratricide dans l'armée française. Nommé général de brigade en 1941, il exerce divers commandements en Grande Bretagne puis au Levant. Il est fait Compagnon de la libération.

 


Après diverses missions en Algérie, au Pakistan, en Indochine, il est nommé inspecteur de la Légion étrangère le 25 juin 1948.

 

Général de corps d'armée le 20 février 1950, bientôt atteint par la limite d'âge, Monclar reprend fictivement ses galons de lieutenant-colonel le 19 octobre et se porte volontaire pour prendre la tête du bataillon français de Corée qu'il dirige jusqu'en 1951 contre les troupes communistes en Corée du Nord.

 

Retiré à Neuilly, le 21 octobre 1962, légende militaire vivante auréolé de dix-sept décorations nationales et de vingt-et-une internationales, il succède au général Kienst au rang de Gouverneur des Invalides.

 

Il occupe cette charge jusqu'à sa mort en 1964.

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA
< Revenir à la liste des personnalités