Newsletter

Riche

Riche National Cemetery. Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA/ONACVG

 

Click here to view the cemetery's information panel vignette Riche

 

Three kilometres south of Morhange, on the site of the positions formerly held by the men of 37th RI and the 4th BCP, Riche National Cemetery holds the remains of soldiers who died for France in August 1914 during the Battle of the Frontiers. Established after the battles, the cemetery holds the remains recovered from isolated graves in neighbouring towns, mainly Morhange and Achain. It was inaugurated in 1924 to mark the tenth anniversary of these battles. Covering 12 990 sqm, the cemetery holds the remains of nearly 2 500 French soldiers, including over 1 000 in the two ossuaries, together with 158 Russian soldiers.

 

Battle of Morhange, Battle of the Frontiers, 19-20 August 1914

At the end of the Franco-Prussian War (1870-71), the borders were redrawn. Morhange was now occupied by the Germans.

On 1 August 1914, German troops deployed a broad outflanking movement through “neutral” Belgium, to surround the French army. Putting Plan XVII into practice, General Joffre chose to force his way through enemy lines in Alsace and Lorraine, in order to take back the departments lost following the defeat of 1871.

In Lorraine, on 14 August 1914, the French Second Army crossed the border and advanced towards Morhange. Making rapid progress, on 18 August the French reached the town of Dieuze. On the 19th, they made contact with Crown Prince Rupprecht of Bavaria’s 6th Army. 

In a commanding position and equipped with considerable heavy field artillery, the enemy, caught in an ambush, harried the French 11th Infantry Division, nicknamed the “Iron Division”. Sitting targets, they were pinned to the spot and quickly overwhelmed. Fighting hand to hand to hold their position, the French soldiers were forced to beat a hasty retreat, abandoning nearly 7 000 dead and 10 000 wounded on the battlefield. On the evening of 20 August, the French offensive was crushed. Harassed, the French retreated towards Grand Couronné, near Nancy, where the fate of French Lorraine would be decided in September 1914.

The German army’s success was unequivocal. On the French side was surprise and disillusionment. Devised and extolled on the eve of the war, the doctrine of all-out attack proved ill-suited to the realities of the campaign of summer 1914.

Yet the German victory was not absolute. Not only had the French offensive held enemy troops in Lorraine who should have been deployed to the west for the march on Paris, but the French had made an orderly retreat. They had lost little territory and held onto Nancy. The front stood still. Joffre ordered his troops to retreat to the Marne, where they would muster the moral and physical resources to resume the offensive. The Battle of the Marne was to be the first French victory of the First World War. At the end of 1914, the front became stabilised along the Moselle and Meurthe-et-Moselle rivers.

The Riche cemetery

Four days after this violent fighting, civilians were requisitioned by the Germans to gather up the bodies, which were deteriorating rapidly in the heat. It was a grim task and the civilians buried the remains hastily in mass graves, topped with a spiked helmet for the Germans and a kepi for the French. Today, the local population remains attached to the memory of this tragic episode, and every year a commemorative ceremony is held.

Built in 1924 by the Friends of the Veterans of the 37th Infantry Regiment, a regimental monument honours the memory of the French soldiers killed in Lorraine, and in particular those of the 37th RI, who had their baptism of fire at Riche. This monument and ossuary contains the remains of 15 soldiers, mostly of the 37th RI. Designed by architect Marchal, it was donated by the Gardeur family, whose son is one of those buried beneath it.

Among those buried here is Second Lieutenant de Castelnau (grave 969), whose father, General de Castelnau, commanded the operations around Morhange.

  • Riche National Cemetery. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Riche National Cemetery. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Riche National Cemetery. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Riche National Cemetery. © Palmesani

  • Riche National Cemetery. © Palmesani

  • Riche National Cemetery. © Palmesani

  • French soldiers captured by the German army during the Battle of Morhange. © Rights reserved

  • Scene of fighting at Morhange. Engraving taken from the newspaper Le Panorama de la Guerre. © Rights reserved

  • French infantrymen in position in a field. Sitting targets for the enemy, French soldiers in their bright red trousers and blue coats stop in the middle of a field. © Private collection / FBN / DR

  • Temporary German cemetery in Morhange. © Rights reserved

  • Portrait of General de Curières de Castelnau. A brilliant officer, the most accomplished of his generation, as commander of the French Second Army, General de Curières de Castelnau led the Saar Offensive, then distinguished himself in September 1914 at Charmes and Grand Couronné, Nancy. © Rights reserved

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address


    Riche

    Summary

    Accès :

    South of Morhange

    Superficie : 14 990 m²
    Nombre de corps : Individual graves : 1 486
    Ossuaries (3) :1 088 + an indeterminate number of Russians
    Nombre de morts : 2574
    1914-18 : 2 416 French
    158 Russians

    Eléments remarquables

    Memorial to those killed in the fighting of 19-20 August 1914. Commemorative chapel. Grave of Second Lieutenant Joseph de Curières de Castelnau, of the 4th BCP light infantry battalion, son of the general, who was killed in action on 20 August 1914.

    Read more

    Read more

    Meurthe-et-Moselle tourisme
    14, rue Louis Majorelle
    54000 Nancy
    +33 (0)3 83 94 51 90  - www.tourisme-meurtheetmoselle.fr


    Related articles

    Commemorative sites

Lettre d'information

Riche

Nécropole nationale de Riche. Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA-ONACVG

 

Pour accéder au panneau d'information de la nécropole, cliquer ici vignette Riche

 

Située à trois kilomètres au sud de Morhange sur les anciennes positions occupées par les hommes du 37e RI et du 4e BCP, la nécropole nationale de Riche regroupe les dépouilles des soldats morts pour la France en août 1914 lors de bataille des frontières. Créé au lendemain des combats, le cimetière rassemble les corps épars relevés sur les communes alentours, notamment Morhange et Achain. Il est inauguré en 1924 afin de célébrer le 10e anniversaire de ces combats. D’une superficie de 12 990 m2, le cimetière rassemble les dépouilles de près de 2 500 soldats français dont plus de 1 000 sont répartis en deux ossuaires et 158 corps de soldats russes.

 

Bataille de Morhange, batailles des frontières, 19 - 20 août 1914

Au terme de la guerre franco-prussienne de 1870-1871, le tracé des frontières est modifié. Morhange est ainsi occupée par les Allemands.

Le 1er août 1914, les troupes allemandes déploient par la Belgique "neutre" un large mouvement de débordement pour envelopper l’armée française. Appliquant le plan XVII, le général Joffre choisit de forcer les lignes ennemies en Alsace et en Lorraine afin de reprendre les départements perdus à la suite de la défaite de 1871.

En Lorraine, le 14 août 1914, la 2e armée française franchit la frontière et avance en direction de Morhange. Progressant rapidement, les Français atteignent, le 18 août, la ville de Dieuze. Le 19, ils entrent en contact avec la VIe armée du prince Ruprecht de Bavière. 

Maitre du terrain et doté d’une importante artillerie lourde de campagne, l'ennemi, placé en embuscade, harcèle les Français de la 11e division, appelée Division de fer. Cibles de choix, ils sont cloués sur place et rapidement débordés. Luttant au corps à corps pour tenir la position, les soldats français sont forcés, dans l'urgence, de se replier précipitamment, abandonnant, sur le champ de bataille, près de 7 000 morts et 10 000 blessés. Au soir du 20 août, l'offensive française est brisée. Harassés, les Français reculent vers le Grand-Couronné de Nancy où s'est décidé, en septembre 1914, le sort de la Lorraine française.

Le succès de l’armée allemande est sans équivoque. Du côté français, c'est l'étonnement et la désillusion. Conçue et prônée à la veille de la guerre, la doctrine de l'offensive à outrance s'est avérée inadaptée aux réalités de la campagne de l'été 14.

Toutefois, la victoire allemande n’est pas totale. Non seulement l’offensive française a retenu en Lorraine des troupes ennemies qui aurait dû être engagées à l’ouest pour la marche vers Paris, mais en plus les Français se sont repliés en bon ordre. Ils n’ont perdu que peu de territoire tout en conservant Nancy. Le front se fige. Joffre ordonne aux troupes de se replier sur la Marne, qui trouveront les ressources, morale et physique pour reprendre l'offensive. La bataille de la Marne va devenir la première victoire française de la Grande Guerre. A la fin 1914, le front se stabilise le long de la Moselle et de la Meurthe-et-Moselle.

La nécropole de Riche

Quatre jours après ces violents combats, les civils sont réquisitionnés par les Allemands pour relever les corps, qui en raison de la chaleur, se dégradent rapidement. La tâche est particulièrement éprouvante et les civils inhument, à la hâte, ces dépouilles dans d'importantes fosses communes, surmontées pour les Allemands d'un casque à pointe et d'un képi pour les Français. Aujourd'hui, restée très attachée au souvenir de cet épisode tragique, la population locale organise, tous les ans, une cérémonie commémorative.

Erigé en 1924 par l'amicale des anciens du 37e RI, un monument régimentaire honore la mémoire des soldats français tombés en Lorraine, et plus particulièrement ceux du 37e RI qui reçut le baptême du feu à Riche. Ce monument-ossuaire rassemble les dépouilles de quinze majoritairement issues du 37e RI. Conçue par l'architecte Marchal, cette œuvre fut offerte par la famille Gardeur dont le fils repose sous ce monument-ossuaire.

Parmi les soldats inhumés, repose le sous-lieutenant de Castelnau (Tombe 969) dont le père le général de Castelnau conduisait les opérations sur Morhange.

  • Nécropole nationale de Riche. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Riche. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Riche. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Riche. © Palmesani

  • Nécropole nationale de Riche. © Palmesani

  • Nécropole nationale de Riche. © Palmesani

  • Soldats français capturés par l'armée allemande lors de la bataille de Mohrange. © DR

  • Scène de combats à Mohrange. Gravure tirée du journal Le Panorama de guerre. © DR

  • Fantassins français en position dans un champ. Cibles de choix pour l’ennemi, les soldats français en pantalon rouge garance et capote bleue stationnent au milieu d'un champ. © Collection particulière FBN - DR

  • Cimetière provisoire allemand de Mohrange. © DR

  • Portrait du général de Currières de Castelnau. Officier brillant le plus accompli de sa génération, le général de Currières de Castelnau conduit, à la tête de la 2e armée, l'offensive en direction de la Sarre, puis se distingue particulièrement en septembre 1914 à Charmes et au Grand Couronné de Nancy. © DR

  • > Retourner aux résultats

    Infos pratiques

    Adresse


    Riche

    En résumé

    Accès :

    Au sud de Morhange

    Superficie : 14 990 m²
    Nombre de corps : Tombes individuelles : 1 486
    Ossuaires (3) :1 088 + 1 nombre indéterminé de Russes
    Nombre de morts : 2574
    1914-18 : 2 416 Français
    158 Russes

    Eléments remarquables

    Monument aux morts des combats des 19-20 août 1914. Chapelle commémorative. Tombe de Joseph de Curières de Castelnau, sous-lieutenant au 4èmeB.C.P., fils du général, mort pour la France le 20 août 1914.

    En savoir Plus

    En savoir plus

    Meurthe-et-Moselle tourisme
    14, rue Louis Majorelle
    54000 Nancy
    03 83 94 51 90 - www.tourisme-meurtheetmoselle.fr