Georges Bernanos

1888-1948
Georges Bernanos ca. 1940. Public domain

 

The author of The Diary of a Country Priest joined the cavalry in August of 1914 at the age of 26. Like that of many other writers, Georges Bernanos’ work was marked by the Great War. Through his writing, he constantly sought to explore the mystery of evil while being committed to the struggle for faith and freedom.

Born in Paris in 1888, Georges Bernanos studied law and literature. A Catholic and a Royalist, he was an activist with the "Camelots du Roi". His first fictional essays were published in the press in 1913 and 1914, before being brought together in a book titled Dialogue of Shadows. While discharged in 1911, he managed to sign up again at the end of August 1914. His passion for horses and horse-riding led him to choose the cavalry. At the end of December, he joined the 6th Dragoon regiment, where he was to serve until the Armistice.

Bernanos was changed by the war. It was the ordeal that shaped his work. In a letter, he wrote "Those who cannot see the tragic side of our times, not because of a few thousand deaths, but because it marks the limit of world history, are asses."

"The ordeal of the trenches showed him the terrible grimace of modern humanity," observed Albert Béguin, literature professor, art critic and publisher whom Bernanos asked to manage his writings after his death. It was no doubt there that the tragic dimension of his work was born, with the author going, as Jean Bastier pointed out, "from a rather conventional world to the dark, cloudy skies, dirty, livid dawns and muddy, satanic lands," that can be seen in his main novels. Talking about his novel Under the Sun of Satan, which he began soon after the Armistice and was published in 1926, Bernanos himself said that it was born of the war.

In February 1915, Bernanos was in the Marne; in April he was near Verdun. In May, his division was in Picardy where part of the men were holed up in the trenches. In September, before the major offensives in Artois and Champagne, he hoped that the infantry would break through and finally enable the cavalry to ride on to victory. But the big attack was cancelled. During the following winter, the 6th Dragoons provided more detachments to the trenches. Bernanos was seriously shell-shocked during the bombardments of 1 May 1916: "Their big shells fell regularly around us, tightening their circle minute by minute, until one of them exploded right in the trench, at the height of a man, one metre away from me. What a flash of light (...) and immediately afterward, what darkness! The sparkling thing had thrown me God knows where, along with a comrade, under an avalanche of smoking dirt. The ground around us and under us was riddled with huge pieces of exploded shells (...)".

In February and March 1917, he took pilot courses at the Dijon-Longvic aviation school, then at Chartres. But as his eyesight was not considered to be good enough, he was sent back to the 6th Dragoons at the beginning of April. He nonetheless took advantage of his time away from the front to get married on 14 May 1917.

The Germans launched major offensives in the spring of 1918. Bernanos’ unit fought, on foot, in the Aisne and the Oise. On 30 May his leg was injured and he received a commendation. "I spent two days in the liaison service between my section and my company. (...). I travelled about the entire day of Thursday on a plain and in woods that were literally riddled with bullets (....). I fought like I had always dreamt of fighting."

Hospitalised in July-August, Bernanos returned to his regiment in September: "Dust, mud (...), I took on the colour of our paths". When 11 November came, the writer shared the regrets of the cavaliers – there was not a complete victory, the disorganised enemy army was not pursued. He was also disappointed by the application of the Treaty of Versailles: "Victory didn’t like us," he wrote in The Humiliated Children.

In the 1930s he broke away from his political circle. He lived in Palma de Mallorca with his family during the Spanish Civil War, which inspired his work, The Big Cemeteries under the Moon (1938), in which he criticised Franco and his partisans. In 1938, he left for Paraguay, then Brazil. He called the Vichy regime a "ridiculous farm dictatorship" and took the side of General de Gaulle.

He came back to France in 1945 and left for Tunisia, from which he returned to die in Neuilly in 1948.

 

Source : Jean Bastier, "Georges Bernanos, le dragon de 1914-1918" In Les écrivains combattants de la Grande Guerre, Giovanangeli éd., 2004, In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 186/September 2008

Georges Bernanos

1888-1948

L'auteur du Journal d'un curé de campagne s'engage dans la cavalerie en août 1914 à l'âge de 26 ans. Comme celle de bien d'autres écrivains, œuvre de Georges Bernanos est marquée par la Grande Guerre. À travers son travail d'écriture, il ne cessera de sonder le mystère du mal tout en s'engageant dans un combat pour la foi et la liberté.

 

Né à Paris en 1888, Georges Bernanos fait des études de droit et de lettres. Catholique et royaliste, il milite auprès des "Camelots du Roi". Ses premiers essais romanesques paraissent dans la presse en 1913 et 1914 avant d'être réunis dans un livre intitulé Dialogues d'ombres. Bien que réformé en 1911, il parvient cependant à s'engager fin août 1914. Sa passion des chevaux et de l'équitation le conduit à choisir la cavalerie. Il rejoint fin décembre le 6e régiment de dragons dans lequel il servira jusqu'à l'armistice.

 

La guerre va changer Bernanos. Elle est le creuset de son œuvre. Il écrit dans une lettre: "Ceux qui n'entendent pas ce que ce temps a de tragique, non pas à cause des quelques milliers de morts, mais parce qu'il marque une limite dans l'histoire du monde, sont des ânes."

 

"L'épreuve des tranchées lui a révélé la redoutable grimace de l'humanité moderne", a observé Albert Béguin, professeur de littérature, critique d'art et éditeur, que Bernanos a chargé de s'occuper de ses écrits après sa mort. C'est là sans doute que prend naissance la dimension tragique de son œuvre, l'auteur passant, comme le souligne Jean Bastier "d'un univers un peu conventionnel à des ciels bas et troubles, des aubes sales et livides, des terres boueuses et sataniques", qui peupleront ses grands romans. De son livre Sous le soleil de Satan, commencé peu après l'armistice et paru en 1926, Bernanos lui-même dira qu'il est né de la guerre.

 

En février 1915, Bernanos est dans la Marne ; en avril, près de Verdun. En mai, sa division se trouve en Picardie où une partie des hommes sont terrés dans les tranchées. En septembre, avant les deux grandes offensives en Artois et en Champagne, il espère une percée de l'infanterie qui permettra enfin à la cavalerie de chevaucher victorieusement. Mais la grande attaque est annulée. Durant l'hiver qui suit, le 6e dragons fournit encore des détachements aux tranchées. Lors d'un bombardement, le 1er mai 1916, Bernanos est sérieusement commotionné : "Leurs gros obus nous encadraient bien régulièrement, en rétrécissant le cercle de minute en minute, jusqu'au moment où l'un d'eux éclatait dans la tranchée même, à la hauteur d'une tête et à un mètre de moi. Quel éclair (...) et tout de suite après, quel noir! La chose étincelante m'avait jeté je ne sais où, avec un camarade, sous une avalanche de terre fumante. Le sol autour de nous et au-dessous de nous était criblé d'éclats énormes (...)".

 

En février et mars 1917, il suit des cours de pilotage à l'école d'aviation de Dijon-Longvic, puis à celle de Chartres. Mais, sa vue n'étant pas jugée suffisamment bonne, il est renvoyé début avril au 6e dragons. Il profite cependant de son éloignement momentané du front pour se marier le 14 mai 1917.

 

Arrivent les grandes offensives allemandes du printemps 1918. L'unité de Bernanos se bat, à pied, dans l'Aisne, l'Oise. Le 30 mai, il est blessé à la jambe et reçoit une citation. "J'ai fait deux jours de service de liaison entre ma section et ma compagnie. (...). J'ai circulé toute la journée de jeudi dans une plaine et un bois littéralement criblé de balles (....). J'ai combattu comme je l'avais toujours rêvé."

 

Hospitalisé en juillet-août, Bernanos rejoint en septembre son régiment : "Poussière, boue (...), je reprends la couleur de nos chemins". Quand arrive le 11 novembre, l'écrivain partage le regret des cavaliers : il n'y a pas eu de victoire complète, pas de poursuite avec désorganisation de l'armée ennemie. Il sera également déçu par l'application du traité de Versailles : "La Victoire ne nous aimait pas", écrira-t-il dans Les Enfants humiliés.

 

Dans les années trente, il rompt avec son milieu politique. Installé avec sa famille à Palma de Majorque, il assiste de là à la guerre d'Espagne qui lui inspirera Les grands cimetières sous la lune (1938), où il stigmatise Franco et ses partisans. En 1938, il part pour le Paraguay, puis le Brésil. Qualifiant le régime de Vichy de "ridicule dictature agricole", il prend le parti du général de Gaulle.

 

Il rentre en France en 1945, repart pour la Tunisie d'où il ne reviendra que pour mourir, à Neuilly, en 1948.

 

Source :

Jean Bastier, "Georges Bernanos, le dragon de 1914-1918" In Les écrivains combattants de la Grande Guerre, Giovanangeli éd., 2004.

In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 186/septembre 2008

< Revenir à la liste des personnalités