Lettre d'information

Jean de Lattre de Tassigny

Sous-titre
1889-1952

Le général de Lattre acclamé par la population de Colmar. Source : ECPAD
Le général de Lattre acclamé par la population de Colmar. Source : ECPAD

At the beginning of the Second World War (1939-45), Jean de Lattre de Tassigny was France's youngest general.

After the signing of the armistice, on 22 June 1940, he set about planning to overcome the Nazi occupier, under the motto Ne pas subir ('Never give in'). His rallying to General de Gaulle's Free France took him to Algiers, which he left with his army in 1944 to liberate France, from Provence to the Rhine.

On 9 May 1945, de Lattre was present in Berlin, alongside the Allies, to sign, on behalf of France, the official act of surrender of Nazi Germany.

Corps 1

General de Lattre in 1951. Source: Association Rhin et Danube

De Lattre before the Second World War: France's youngest general

Jean de Lattre de Tassigny was born on 2 February 1889, in the village of Mouilleron-en-Pareds, in the Vendée countryside.

After studying in Poitiers and Paris, in July 1908 the future Marshal of France entered the Saint-Cyr military academy to train as a cavalry officer.

Jean de Lattre, lieutenant of the 12th Dragoons. Source: Musée National Clemenceau-de-Lattre

In October 1912, fresh out of the Saumur cavalry school, he was posted to the 12th Dragoons Regiment, at Pont-à-Mousson. As a reconnaissance officer of the 2nd Cavalry Division, Lieutenant de Lattre was wounded twice within months of the outbreak of the First World War: in August a shrapnel wound and in September a spear wound to the chest. On 20 December 1914, he was made a Knight of the Légion d'Honneur. In 1915, he requested a transfer to the infantry. Temporarily promoted to captain, he chose the 93rd Infantry Regiment, the Vendée regiment, with which he spent several months fighting at Verdun, on the Chemin des Dames. He ended the war at the 2nd Staff Office of the 21st Division. Wounded on several occasions, by the end of the conflict he had been mentioned eight times in dispatches.

Jean de Lattre with the 93rd Infantry Regiment. Source: Musée National Clemenceau-de-Lattre

After spending two years in Bayonne with the 49th Infantry Regiment, Captain de Lattre asked to be sent to Morocco. He took part in operations in Haute Moulouya in 1922 and Taza in 1923. He was chief of staff for the Taza region during the uprising against the French led by Abd el-Krim (Rif War, 1925-26). Wounded twice, he had three further mentions in dispatches.

Jean de Lattre on active service in Morocco. Source: Rights reserved

The year of his marriage to Simonne Calary de Lamazière, in 1927, battalion commander de Lattre entered the École de Guerre, France's highest military academy for senior officer training. In 1932, he served on the staff of General Weygand, then vice-chairman of the Conseil Supérieur de la Guerre (Supreme War Council). Charged with planning and foreign affairs, over the next three years spent with General Weygand then General Georges, Lieutenant Colonel de Lattre followed the development of foreign policy and certain matters of domestic policy affecting the military budget. Promoted to colonel, he commanded the 151st Infantry Regiment at Metz from 1935 to 1937. In 1938, he trained at the Centre des Hautes Études Militaires (Centre for Higher Military Studies, or CHEM). His appointment to the rank of brigadier general, in March 1939, made him the youngest general in France.

Corps 2

From the Second World War to Indochina

Chief of Staff of the 5th Army - the army of Alsace - when war was declared on 3 September 1939, in January 1940 he took command of the 14th Infantry Division. In the fighting of May and June, the division distinguished itself at Rethel, where it pushed back three times German troops trying to cross the Aisne, before retreating to engage in stalling attacks along the Marne and Loire.

The armistice was signed with Germany on 22 June 1940. The French armed forces were demobilised and disarmed, and France was permitted to keep only the troops necessary to maintain domestic law and order. In this climate of defeat, de Lattre wanted to give hope and faith back to the French youth, and devoted himself to the training of senior army officers. His motto was Ne pas subir, or 'Never give in'. At Opme near Clermont-Ferrand, at Salammbô in Tunisia and at Carnon near Montpellier, he worked to put French forces back on their feet, with a view to resuming combat alongside the Allies.

On 11 November 1942, when the Germans entered the Free Zone, he gave his troops the order to come out of their garrisons and resist. He was arrested and held at the Maison Centrale d'Arrêt in Toulouse, then at Fort Montluc in Lyon, before being sentenced on 9 January 1943 to ten years' imprisonment for abandonment of post by the Tribunal d'État (a special court without the right of appeal). On 2 February, he was transferred to Riom, from where he escaped on the night of 2-3 September, with the aid of his wife and son, Bernard.

After lying low in the Auvergne for a month, he headed to the Mâcon area, then on to London in mid-October, then Algiers, now the capital of Free France, on 20 December. General de Gaulle entrusted him with the training and command of Army B, whose senior officers were trained at the Douera school. Victorious on the island of Elba in June 1944, the army came from Africa and Italy to land in Provence in August alongside the Allies, in Operation Dragoon. Its mission, according to the US plan, was to take Toulon on the 4th and Marseille on the 24th September.

August 1944: General de Lattre and his men prepare to land in Provence.Source: ECPAD

Ahead of schedule, it liberated the two port cities on 27 and 28 August, then headed up the Rhône Valley, entering Lyon on 3 September and liberating Mâcon, Autun and Dijon, where General de Lattre linked up with the 2nd Armoured Division and achieved what was perhaps his greatest feat: the incorporation of the Resistance fighters of the French Forces of the Interior with the regular units of the Army of Africa.

De Lattre's army, now called the First French Army, was the first of all the Allied armies to reach the Rhine, on 19 November. The recapture of Belfort, Mulhouse, Strasbourg and Colmar completed the liberation of France.

General de Lattre's staff at Montbéliard, January 1945, by Siss. Source: Musée National Clemenceau-de-Lattre

On 31 March 1945, his troops stormed across the Rhine, reaching Karlsruhe and Stuttgart, then crossed the Danube and advanced as far as Ulm, while others followed the Swiss border from Basel to Konstanz, then on to Arlberg.

General de Lattre is cheered by the inhabitants of Colmar. Source: ECPAD

On 9 May 1945, General de Lattre was present in Berlin alongside the Allies to sign, on behalf of France, the act of surrender of Nazi Germany.

ORDER OF THE DAY No 9

Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers, Corporals and Soldiers of the First French Army,

The day of Victory has come.

In Berlin, I am proud to sign on behalf of France, on your behalf, the official act of Germany's surrender.

Worthy of the trust of our Supreme Leader, General de Gaulle, liberator of our Country, you have, by your efforts, your fervour and your heroism, given this Nation back its prestige and greatness.

Standing as brothers with the soldiers of the Resistance, side by side with our Allied comrades, you cut the enemy to pieces wherever you found him.

Your flags fly at the heart of Germany.

Your victories mark the stages in the French Resurrection.

From the bottom of my soul, I offer you my gratitude. You have the right to be proud of yourselves and your exploits.

Let us faithfully preserve the memory of our dead. Noble comrades fallen on the Field of Honour, they have joined, in sacrifice and glory, for the Redemption of France, our martyrs and our sons killed by firing squad.

Let us celebrate your victory: a May victory, a radiant spring victory giving France back its Youth, Strength and Hope.

Victorious soldiers, your children shall be taught the new epic which is France's debt to you.

Berlin, 9 May 1945

General de Lattre de Tassigny,

Commander-in-Chief of the First French Army

J. DE LATTRE

Inspector-General and Chief of the General Staff of the French Army from 1945, in 1948 de Lattre was appointed Commander-in-Chief of the Land Forces of Western Europe, under Field Marshal Montgomery.

On 6 December 1950, in view of the gravity of the situation in Indochina, in the war between the French and Viet Minh which had been going on since 1946, de Lattre was appointed High Commissioner for Indochina and Commander-in-Chief for the Far East. He restored the situation in Tonkin with victories at Vinh Yen and Mao Khe, encouraged and gave renewed confidence to all, and developed the Vietnamese army. His only son, Bernard, was killed at Ninh Binh, on 30 May 1951, at the head of a Vietnamese troop of the 1st Light Cavalry Regiment.

Vietnamese army parade. Source: Rights reserved

After several missions to Washington, London and Rome, though already in poor health, he departed once again for Vietnam. He returned to France to attend the High Council of the French Union for Associated States (Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos), at which he reported on the situation in Indochina. He died on 11 January 1952. Four days later, Jean de Lattre de Tassigny was made a Marshal of France.

He held the titles of Grand Croix of the Legion of Honour and Compagnon de la Libération, and was awarded the Médaille Militaire, the Croix de Guerre 1914-1918, Croix de Guerre 1939-1945 and Croix de Guerre des Théâtres d'Opérations Extérieurs (for conflicts other than WWI and WWII), and the Médaille des Évadés (for escaped POWs), as well as numerous foreign decorations.

Memorial to Marshal de Lattre de Tassigny and the French Far East Expeditionary Corps, Mouilleron-en-Pareds. Source: Rights reserved

Jean de Lattre de Tassigny

1889-1952

 

Au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945), Jean de Lattre de Tassigny est le plus jeune général de France.

Après la signature de l'armistice, le 22 juin 1940, il s'inspire de sa devise, "Ne pas subir", pour préparer la victoire contre l'occupant nazi. Son ralliement à la France Libre du général de Gaulle l'amène à Alger, d'où il partira avec son armée, en 1944, pour libérer la France, de la Provence au Rhin.

 

Le 9 mai 1945, ce futur maréchal de France est à Berlin aux côtés des Alliés, et signe, au nom de la France, l'acte solennel de la capitulation de l'Allemagne nazie.

 

 

Le général de Lattre en 1951. Source : Association Rhin et Danube

 

 

De Lattre avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale : le plus jeune général de France

 

Jean de Lattre de Tassigny est né le 2 février 1889 dans un village du bocage vendéen, Mouilleron-en-Pareds.

 

Après ses études à Poitiers et à Paris, le futur maréchal est reçu en juillet 1908 à Saint-Cyr et opte pour la cavalerie.

 

 

Jean de Lattre, lieutenant au 12e Dragons. Source : Musée national des deux victoires Clemenceau – de Lattre

 

 

En octobre 1912, sorti de Saumur, il est affecté au 12e régiment de dragons, à Pont-à-Mousson. Officier éclaireur de la 2e division de cavalerie, le lieutenant de Lattre est blessé à deux reprises dès les premiers mois de la guerre 1914-1918, d'un éclat d'obus en août et d'un coup de lance dans la poitrine en septembre. Le 20 décembre 1914, il est fait Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur. En 1915, il demande à être affecté dans l'infanterie. Promu capitaine à titre temporaire, il choisit le 93e régiment d'infanterie, le régiment de Vendée, et se bat à Verdun où il passe plusieurs mois, au Chemin des Dames. Il termine la guerre au 2e bureau de l'état-major de la 21e division. Blessé à plusieurs reprises, il totalise huit citations à la fin du conflit.

 

Jean de Lattre au 93e régiment d'infanterie. Source : Musée national des deux victoires Clemenceau – de Lattre

 

Après deux ans passés à Bayonne au 49e régiment d'infanterie, le capitaine de Lattre demande à servir au Maroc. Il participe aux opérations de la Haute Moulouya en 1922 et de Taza en 1923. Il est chef d'état-major de la région de Taza lors du soulèvement conduit par Abd el-Krim contre les Français (guerre du Rif, 1925-1926). Blessé deux fois, il compte trois nouvelles citations.

 

Jean de Lattre en opération au Maroc. Source : DR

 

 

L'année de son mariage avec Simonne Calary de Lamazière, en 1927, le chef de bataillon de Lattre entre à l'École de guerre. En 1932, il sert à l'état-major du général Weygand, alors vice-président du Conseil supérieur de la Guerre. Chargé du "Plan" et des "Relations avec l'étranger", le lieutenant-colonel de Lattre suit ainsi, au cours des trois années passées auprès du général Weygand puis du général Georges, l'évolution de la politique étrangère ainsi que certaines questions de politique intérieure affectant les budgets militaires. Promu colonel, il commande le 151e régiment d'infanterie à Metz de 1935 à 1937. En 1938, il est élève au Centre des hautes études militaires (CHEM). Sa nomination au grade de général de brigade, en mars 1939, fait de lui le plus jeune général de France.

 

 

 

De la Deuxième Guerre mondiale à l'Indochine

 

Chef d'état-major de la Ve Armée – l'armée d'Alsace – à la déclaration de guerre le 3 septembre 1939, il prend, en janvier 1940, le commandement de la 14e division d'infanterie. Au cours des combats de mai et juin, cette division se distingue à Rethel, où elle repousse par trois fois les troupes allemandes qui tentent de franchir l'Aisne, avant de se replier en menant des combats retardateurs sur la Marne et la Loire.

 

L'armistice est signé avec l'Allemagne le 22 juin 1940. Les forces armées françaises sont démobilisées et désarmées, la France n'étant autorisée à conserver que les troupes nécessaires au maintien de l'ordre intérieur. Dans ce climat de défaite, de Lattre veut rendre l'espoir aux jeunes Français, leur redonner confiance et se consacre à la formation des cadres de l'armée. "Ne pas subir", telle est sa devise. À Opme près de Clermont-Ferrand, à Salammbô en Tunisie, à Carnon près de Montpellier, il œuvre à la remise sur pied des troupes françaises en vue d'une reprise des combats aux côtés des Alliés.

 

Le 11 novembre 1942, lorsque les Allemands pénètrent en zone libre, il donne l'ordre à ses troupes de sortir de leurs garnisons et de résister. Arrêté, il est incarcéré à la Maison centrale d'arrêt de Toulouse puis au fort Montluc à Lyon et condamné le 9 janvier 1943 à dix ans de prison pour abandon de poste par le Tribunal d'État (juridiction d'exception sans appel). Le 2 février, il est transféré à Riom, d'où il s'évade dans la nuit du 2 au 3 septembre, avec l'aide de sa femme et de son fils, Bernard.

 

Quittant l'Auvergne, où il est resté caché un mois, il gagne la région de Mâcon et rejoint Londres à la mi-octobre, puis Alger, devenue capitale de la France Libre, le 20 décembre. Le général de Gaulle lui confie la formation et le commandement de l'armée B, dont les cadres s'entraînent à l'école de Douera. Victorieuse à l'île d'Elbe en juin 1944, l'armée venue d'Afrique et d'Italie débarque en Provence en août aux côtés des Alliés (opération "Dragoon"). Elle a pour mission de s'emparer de Toulon et de Marseille qui, selon le "planning" américain doivent être prises les 4 et 24 septembre.

 

Août 1944, le général de Lattre et ses hommes s'apprêtent à débarquer en ProvenceSource : ECPAD

 

 

Devançant les prévisions, elle libère ces deux villes les 27 et 28 août puis remonte la vallée du Rhône, entre à Lyon le 3 septembre, libère Mâcon, Autun, Dijon, où le général de Lattre fait jonction avec la 2e division blindée (la 2e DB) et remporte sa plus belle victoire : "l'amalgame" de l'Armée d'Afrique avec les Forces françaises de l'intérieur (l'intégration au sein de l'armée "régulière" des unités de résistants).

L'armée de De Lattre, devenue la 1re Armée française, atteint le Rhin le 19 novembre, première de toutes les armées alliées. Avec la reconquête de Belfort, Mulhouse, Strasbourg, Colmar s'achève la libération totale de la France.

 

L'état-major du général de Lattre à Montbéliard, janvier 1945, par Siss. Source : Musée national des deux victoires Clemenceau – de Lattre

 

 

Les troupes passent le Rhin de vive force le 31 mars 1945, atteignent Karlsruhe et Stuttgart, franchissent le Danube et poussent jusqu'à Ulm, tandis que d'autres éléments longent la frontière suisse de Bâle à Constance, jusqu'au col de l'Arlberg.

 

Le général de Lattre acclamé par la population de Colmar. Source : ECPAD

 

Le 9 mai 1945, à Berlin, le général de Lattre est présent aux côtés des Alliés pour signer, au nom de la France, l'acte de capitulation de l'Allemagne nazie.

 

 

ORDRE DU JOUR N° 9

Officiers, Sous-officiers, Caporaux et Soldats de la Première Armée Française

 

Le jour de la Victoire est arrivé.

 

À Berlin, j'ai la fierté de signer au nom de la France, en votre nom, l'acte solennel de la capitulation de l'Allemagne.

 

Dignes de la confiance de notre Chef Suprême, le Général de Gaulle, libérateur de notre Pays, vous avez, par vos efforts, votre ferveur, votre héroïsme, rendu à la Patrie son rang et sa grandeur.

 

Fraternellement unis aux soldats de la Résistance, côte à côte avec nos camarades alliés, vous avez taillé en pièces l'ennemi, partout où vous l'avez rencontré.

 

Vos drapeaux flottent au coeur de l'Allemagne.

 

Vos victoires marquent les étapes de la Résurrection Française.

 

De toute mon âme, je vous dis ma gratitude. Vous avez droit à la fierté de vous-mêmes comme à celle de vos exploits.

 

Gardons pieusement la mémoire de nos morts. Généreux compagnons tombés au Champ d'Honneur, ils ont rejoint dans le sacrifice et la gloire, pour la Rédemption de la France, nos fusillés et nos martyrs.

 

Célébrons votre victoire : victoire de Mai, victoire radieuse de printemps qui redonne à la France la Jeunesse, la Force et l'Espoir.

 

Soldats vainqueurs, vos enfants apprendront la nouvelle épopée que vous doit la Patrie.

 

 

Berlin, le 9 mai 1945

 

Le Général d'Armée DE LATTRE DE TASSIGNY,

Commandant en Chef la 1re Armée Française

 

J. DE LATTRE

 

 

Inspecteur général et chef d'état-major général de l'armée de terre dès 1945, de Lattre est, en 1948, auprès du maréchal Montgomery, le premier commandant supérieur des Forces terrestres de l'Europe occidentale.

 

Le 6 décembre 1950, devant la gravité de la situation en Indochine dans la guerre qui oppose les Français au Viêt-minh depuis 1946, il est nommé haut-commissaire en Indochine et commandant en chef en Extrême-Orient. Il rétablit la situation au Tonkin par les victoires de Vinh Yen et de Mao Khé, redonne confiance à tous, encourage et développe l'armée vietnamienne. Son fils unique, Bernard, est tué à Ninh Binh, le 30 mai 1951, à la tête d'un escadron vietnamien du 1er Chasseurs.

 

Défilé de l'armée vietnamienne. Source :  DR

 

 

Après plusieurs missions à Washington, Londres et Rome, bien que déjà malade, il repart pour le Vietnam. Il rentre en France pour participer au Haut Conseil de l'Union française pour les États associés (Vietnam, Cambodge, Laos), devant lequel il présente un bilan de la situation en Indochine. Il meurt le 11 janvier 1952. Quatre jours plus tard, Jean de Lattre de Tassigny est fait maréchal de France.

Il était Grand-Croix de la Légion d'honneur, Compagnon de la Libération et titulaire de la Médaille militaire, de la Croix de guerre 1914-1918, de la Croix de guerre 1939-1945, de la Croix de guerre des théâtres d'opérations extérieurs, de la Médaille des évadés ainsi que de nombreuses décorations étrangères.

 

Monument dédié à la mémoire du maréchal de Lattre de Tassigny et du corps expéditionnaire français en Extrême-Orient, Mouilleron-en-Pareds. Source:  DR

 

 

 

Source : Collection "Mémoire et citoyenneté", N°19, Publication Ministère de la défense SGA/DMPA