Musée départemental de la résistance Henri Queuille

Former residence of Henri Queuille. Source: ©Fab5669 - License Creative Commons - Public domain.

When Henri Queuille died, in 1976, his heirs donated the house in which he lived all his life to the Corrèze département, to be turned into a museum. The main themes covered are the memory of Henri Queuille and the Résistance.

  

Background

 

When Henri Queuille died, in 1970, his heirs donated the house in which he lived all his life to the Corrèze département, to be turned into a museum. The main themes covered are the memory of Henri Queuille and the Résistance.

 

Thanks to Henri Queuille's collection, donated to the museum by his family, and to Résistance archives and donations from private people, a team made up of former Résistance members, historians and professors successfully brings together and exploits numerous objects and documents. The museum was inaugurated on 4th May 1982 by the President of the Republic, François Mitterrand.

 

Composition

 

The museum has 200 m2 of exhibition rooms, divided into five rooms on three levels. They cover the 3rd and 4th Republics, the Résistance and the maquis, Nazi crimes and deportation. It consists of 80 display cases, 100 signs and frames, around 1,500 collection items, including 900 photos and 300 documents and objects.

 

 
 
The museum has an archive of over 1,000 items, a documentary collection of 1,400 items, and the Henri Queuille collection with 35,000 items.
 
The museum has a learning department and a boutique. It also organises "memory trails" in the département.

 


Musée départemental de la résistance "Henri Queuille"

21 rue du Commerce

19160 Neuvic

Tél. : 33 (0)5 55 46 30 60 - Fax : 33 (0)5 55 46 30 69

Email : musee-henriqueuille@cg19.fr

 

www.musee-henriqueuille.com

 

  • Photo de la façade du musée Henri Queuille

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address

    Rue du Commerce 19160
    Neuvic
    05 55 46 30 60

    Weekly opening hours

    Low season: Monday to Friday 10 am to 12 pm and 2 pm to 6 pm High season: every day from 10 am to 12 pm and 2 pm to 6 pm.

    Fermetures annuelles

    Closed on 20th December and 1st January.

Musée départemental de la résistance Henri Queuille

Partager :

A la mort d'Henri Queuille, en 1976, ses héritiers font don de la maison qu'il occupa toute sa vie au Département de la Corrèze pour la transformer en musée dont les principaux thèmes sont le souvenir d'Henri Queuille et la Résistance.

Historique  

 

À la mort d'Henri Queuille, en 1970, ses héritiers font don de la maison qu'il occupa toute sa vie au Département de la Corrèze pour la transformer en musée dont les principaux thèmes sont le souvenir d'Henri Queuille et la Résistance.

 

Une équipe composée d'anciens résistants, d'historiens et de professeurs réussit grâce au fond Henri Queuille remis au musée par la famille, aux archives de la Résistance, et aux dons de particuliers, à réunir et à exploiter de nombreux documents et objets. Le musée est inauguré le 4 mai 1982 par le Président de la République, Monsieur François Mitterrand.

 

 

Composition

 

Le musée possède une superficie de 200 m2 d'exposition répartis en cinq salles sur trois niveaux qui traitent de la 3ème et 4ème République, de la Résistance et des maquis, des crimes nazis et la déportation. Il est composé de 80 vitrines, de 100 panneaux et cadres, d'environ 1500 pièces de collections exposées soit 900 photos, de 300 documents et objets.

  • Photo de la façade du musée Henri Queuille

    Photo de la façade du musée Henri Queuille

Source : Secrétariat d'Etat au Tourisme - délégation régionale du Limousin

Le musée possède un fonds d'archives de plus de 1000 pièces, un fonds documentaire de 1400 pièces et le fonds Henri Queuille qui compte 35 000 pièces.

 

Le musée dispose d'un service éducatif et d'une boutique. Il organise également des «chemins de la mémoire » sur le département.

 


Musée départemental de la résistance "Henri Queuille"

21 rue du Commerce

19160 Neuvic

Tél. : 33 (0)5 55 46 30 60 - Fax : 33 (0)5 55 46 30 69

Courriel : musee-henriqueuille@cg19.fr

 

www.musee-henriqueuille.com

 

Partager :