Christian Carion

Chapeau

After Merry Christmas, a historical fresco that looked at how soldiers on the front fraternised during the Christmas of 1914, Christian Carion has taken an interest in the exodus in his latest feature film En mai fais ce qu'il te plaît (Come What May). He talks about the reasons for his choice and the educational project that accompanies the film.

Texte

Why did you choose to make a film about this precise period of the exodus?

Where I come from, in the North of France, every family was deeply marked by this period. My mother, who was 14 years old at the time, lived through that month of May 1940 and the memory of the exodus is still very present in my family as in all those in the region. Eight million people on the roads, that's something that stays etched in people's minds. You could say that this is not a real subject because it was not a glorious time, the people were abandoned by the authorities. Not accustomed to no longer being watched over, the people on the roads did not know what to do. The collapse of the State was a real shock for the people. My grandfather, mayor of his village and deeply Republican (played by Olivier Gourmet in the film), left with the bust of Marianne... Everything he believed in no longer existed. The historian Olivier Wieviorka, with whom we worked, used tell us that many things about French behaviour during the war stemmed from the exodus, this terrible moral chasm: the people would no longer believe in the political elite because it had abandoned them. The trauma was all the greater for this generation that had experienced the German occupation and had barely finished rebuilding their homes when they had to flee again.

How was the documentary and research work on the film carried out?

My starting point was what I was told by my mother. I called on France 3 Nord - Pas - de - Calais and Picardie to collect exodus stories. And we were overwhelmed with testimonies from inhabitants: lots of letters, but also recordings of their grandparents. People could finally talk about it. All this material has been transcribed; it will in fact be given over to the departmental Archives. The stories confirmed what my mother had told me and provided us with anecdotes that were used in some parts of the script. But I wanted to make a more open film, not just a French-focused film. I knew that British soldiers had been caught up in the chaos and were unable to reach Dunkirk, that's why there's a Scottish character in the film. I also wanted to have a German who was not a Nazi - the character of Hans in the film who fled Germany (there was an estimated 300,000 German civilians who sought refuge in France) and who became a permanent alien. I wanted the war to be seen from the individual's point of view, showing their day to day lives and giving a different view of history.

Can you tell us about the educational project proposed to teachers?

To accompany the release of the film, a huge call for contributions was made in Northern France among teachers of history, geography and French. The first step was to give the pupils access to the numerous testimonies collected prior to the film. This is very rich material, a living memory of the exodus which the teachers can use to build a unifying project. Each class will be able to participate, by placing the testimony of one of the pupil's family members on a dedicated website. The goal is to get over to the younger generation how important the duty of remembrance is and that of passing on knowledge, and to generate a collective and multidisciplinary work to be performed in class. Initiated by Parenthèse Cinema, this project was designed with the help of a teacher of history/geography and history of art, who drafted very comprehensive educational material with numerous proposals for activities around the film related to the theme of the exodus and connected to the school curricula.

A guide from this teacher is accessible online and includes practical instructions.


Auteur
The editorial staff

Articles of the review

Christian Carion

Chapeau

Après Joyeux Noël, fresque historique qui abordait la fraternisation au front lors du Noël 1914, Christian Carion s’intéresse à l’exode dans son dernier long métrage En mai fais ce qu’il te plaît. Il revient sur les raisons de son choix et sur le projet pédagogique qui accompagne le film.

Christian Carion. © DR
Texte

Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de réaliser un film sur cette période précise de l’exode ?

Dans le Nord de la France, dont je suis originaire, toutes les familles ont été marquées profondément par cette période. Ma mère, qui avait 14 ans, a vécu ce mois de mai 1940 et le souvenir de l’exode est encore très présent dans ma famille comme dans toutes celles de la région. Huit millions de personnes sur les routes, ça reste gravé dans les esprits. On peut considérer que ce n’est pas un vrai sujet parce que c’est un moment peu glorieux, le peuple est abandonné par les autorités. Pas habitués à ne plus être encadrés, les gens sur les routes sont désemparés. L’effondrement de l’État a été un vrai choc pour les populations. Mon grand-père, maire de son village et profondément républicain (interprété par Olivier Gourmet dans le film), part avec le buste de Marianne... Tout ce en quoi il croyait n’existe plus. L’historien Olivier Wieviorka, avec qui nous avons travaillé, nous disait que beaucoup de choses concernant le comportement français pendant la guerre découle de l’exode, de ce terrible gouffre moral : le peuple ne croira plus en l’élite politique parce qu’elle l’a abandonné. Le traumatisme est d’autant plus grand pour cette génération qui a connu l’occupation allemande qu’elle doit fuir à nouveau alors que ses maisons sont à peine reconstruites.

Comment s’est organisé le travail documentaire en amont du film ?

Mon point de départ, c’est ce que m’a raconté ma mère. J’ai fait appel à France 3 Nord - Pas-de- Calais et Picardie pour recueillir des récits d’exode. Et là, nous avons été submergés par les témoignages des habitants : de nombreuses lettres, mais aussi des enregistrements de leurs grands-parents. Une parole enfin libérée. Tout ce matériau a été retranscrit . il sera d’ailleurs reversé aux Archives départementales. Les récits recoupaient celui de ma mère et nous ont apporté des anecdotes qui ont nourri une partie du scénario. Mais je voulais faire un film plus ouvert, pas seulement franco-français. Je savais que des soldats britanniques, pris dans le chaos, n’avaient pu rejoindre Dunkerque, d’où le personnage écossais dans le film. J’avais à cœur aussi de présenter un Allemand qui ne soit pas nazi - le personnage de Hans dans le film qui a fui l’Allemagne (on estime à 300 000 le nombre de civils allemands réfugiés en France) et devient l’exilé permanent. Je voulais que la guerre soit regardée depuis l’individu, à hauteur d’homme, d’après son quotidien, ce qui permet une autre perception de l’histoire.

Pouvez-vous nous parler du projet pédagogique proposé aux enseignants ?

En accompagnement de la sortie du film, un vaste appel à contribution a été lancé dans le Nord de la France auprès des professeurs d’histoire-géographie et de français. Il s’agit dans un premier temps de donner accès aux élèves aux nombreux témoignages recueillis en amont du film. Ils constituent un matériau d’une grande richesse, une mémoire vivante de l’exode à partir de laquelle les enseignants peuvent construire un projet fédérateur. Chaque classe pourra participer, en déposant sur un site dédié le témoignage d’une personne issue de l’entourage familial d’un élève. L’objectif est d’interpeller la jeune génération sur l’importance du devoir de mémoire et sur les enjeux de la transmission, et de susciter un travail collectif et pluridisciplinaire à réaliser en classe. Initié par Parenthèse Cinéma, ce projet a été conçu avec l’aide d’une professeure d’histoire-géographie et d’histoire des arts, qui a rédigé un support pédagogique très complet avec de multiples propositions d’activités autour du film et de la thématique de l’exode, en lien avec les programmes scolaires.

Un guide du professeur, accessible en ligne, précise les modalités pratiques.


Auteur
La rédaction

Articles de la revue