Edmond Marin la Meslée

1912-1945
Commander Marin la Meslée. Source: SHD

(Born 5 February 1912, Valenciennes – Died 4 February 1945, Dessenheim)

 

A child of the aviation age, the young Edmond inherited his passion for aircraft from his father, an engineer who graduated from the Arts et Métiers engineering school. Together they built gliders and formed air clubs. Graduating from high school in Latin and sciences at 16, he started a short-lived law course. After a few weeks, he applied for a pilot’s grant and was admitted into the aviation school in Morane. After earning his pilot’s licence on 1 August 1931, he completed his training in Istres on 20 April 1932 and started preparing for the entry exam to join the training school for reserve officers. Ranking a sub-lieutenant by 20 September, he gave up his stripes so he could bypass the regulation that banned reservist officers from flying. He then enlisted into a fighter unit at the rank of sergeant before joining the Air Force Academy in 1936 from where he graduated in October 1937 having returned to the rank of sub-lieutenant with a qualification in observation.

He was assigned to the GC I/5 fighter group in Reims and served under Jean Accart, in the first "Champagne" fighting squadron, which continued the legacy of the prestigious Spa-67 squadron from Navarre. Promoted to the grade of lieutenant at the start of the Second World War, his unit, flying one of the Curtis H-75 fighters, spent winter on the ground in Suippes, breaking up the daily monotony by carrying out long alert missions at altitude.

On 11 January 1940 Marin La Meslée, Marina as he was known over radio, experienced the intoxicating adrenalin of his first battles. On patrol with Lieutenant Rey, the two pilots brought a reconnaissance mission of a Dornier-17 to an end in the skies above Verdun. But it was in May of that year, confronted with the irresistible German machine of war that he earned his fame and entered into the aviation fighting hall of fame. On the 12th, he struck down two Stukas Junkers-87 and the following day more than one Messerschmitt-109 fighter plane. Over the following weeks Heinkel bomber, two Henschel-126s and one Heinkel-111 fell victim to his sharp shooting.

On 1 June, with 16 aircraft under his belt, he was appointed to lead the “Cigogne” squadron replacing Captain Accard, who had been seriously injured. When the Armistice was declared, he had carried out a total 106 sorties and chalked up fifteen victories in France and five over Germany, and earned ten Citations to the Order of the Army. His record is unrivalled.

 

In November 1942, the squadron based in North Africa received orders from Vichy to resume the offensive. Under cover of the British and American landing, the "Cigognes" flew for Free France in the skies above Tunisia, even if in reality the unit was only carrying out reconnaissance missions. The lieutenant carried out 105 sorties aboard an Airacobra P-39 and achieved four victories over the African coasts. A commander in June 1944, he returned to the base in Salon-en-Provence at the controls of a P-47 Thunderbolt on 20 September, a month after the landing in Provence. His unit was then attached to the 1st French Army.

In early 1945, offensives to reconquer Alsace were raging. Allied aircraft were used to destroy obstacles ahead of the infantry, attacking in perilous dives when necessary. On 4 February, Commander Edmond Marin la Meslée executed a second crossing over German lines. His aircraft, hit by a shot from a DCA, crashed and exploded two kilometres from the village of Rustenhardt.

His wings were permanently clipped just shy of his thirty-third birthday:

 

"A noble face of air-to-air combat, of which he was the embodiment, 

He will forever remain for his virtues and his glory,

One of the most brilliant figures of the French Air Force

And one of the most noble heroes of the nation."

  • Mémorial de l'aviateur sur lieu de son crash. Source : Commune de Dessenheim

Edmond Marin la Meslée

1912-1945

(5 février 1912 : Valenciennes - 4 février 1945 : Dessenheim)

 

Enfant du siècle de la conquête de l'air, le jeune Edmond hérite de son père, ingénieur des Arts et Métiers, la passion des avions. Ils construisent ensemble des planeurs et créent des aéro-clubs. Bachelier latin-sciences à l'âge de 16 ans, il se lance dans de brèves études de droit. Au bout de quelques semaines, il demande une bourse de pilotage et entre à l'école d'aviation Morane. Breveté pilote le 1er août 1931, il termine sa formation à Istres, le 20 avril 1932, et prépare le concours d'entrée à l'Ecole des Officiers de Réserve. Sous-lieutenant le 20 septembre suivant, il se résigne à abandonner ses galons afin de contourner le règlement qui interdit de voler aux réservistes. Il s'engage alors avec le grade de sergent dans l'aviation de chasse, pour intégrer l'école de l'Air en 1936 et en sortir en octobre 1937 à nouveau sous-lieutenant avec le brevet d'observateur.

 

Il rejoint alors la 5e escadre aérienne à Reims et sert sous les ordres du capitaine Accard dans la première escadrille de chasse "Champagne", héritière de la prestigieuse Spa-67 de Navarre. Promu lieutenant au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, son groupe, équipé de Curtis H-75, hiverne sur le terrain de Suippes ponctuant la monotonie quotidienne par de longues missions d'alerte en altitude.

  • Mémorial de l'aviateur sur lieu de son crash

    Mémorial de l'aviateur sur lieu de son crash. Source : Commune de Dessenheim

Le 11 janvier 1940 enfin, Marin la Meslée, " Marina " pour la radio, connaît l'ivresse des premiers combats. En patrouille avec le lieutenant Rey, les deux pilotes mettent un terme à la mission de reconnaissance d'un Dormier-17 dans le ciel de Verdun. Mais c'est au mois de mai, face à l'irrésistible machine de guerre allemande qu'il acquiert ses titres de gloire et entre dans la légende de l'aviation de chasse. Le 12, il abat deux Stukas Junkers-87 et le lendemain, des chasseurs Messerschmidt-109. Les semaines suivantes, c'est au tour d'un bombardier Heinkel, de deux Henschel-126 et d'un Heinkel-111 de plier sous ses tirs.

 

Le 1er juin, avec 16 appareils à son tableau de chasse, il est nommé chef d'escadrille Cigogne en remplacement du capitaine Accard, grièvement blessé. Au moment de l'armistice, il totalise 106 sorties, quinze victoires en France, cinq au-dessus de l'Allemagne et dix citations à l'Ordre de l'Armée. Le palmarès est sans égal.

 

En novembre 1942, l'escadrille basée en Afrique du Nord, aux ordres de Vichy, renoue avec son désir de reprendre la lutte. A la faveur du débarquement anglo-américain, les " Cigognes " volent pour la France Libre dans le ciel de Tunisie, même s'il ne s'agit que de simples missions de reconnaissance. Le lieutenant effectue 105 sorties à bord d'un " Airacobra P-39 " et remporte quatre victoires au large des côtes africaines. Commandant en juin 1944, il revient sur le terrain de Salon-en-Provence aux commandes d'un P-47 " Thunderbolt ", le 20 septembre, un mois après le débarquement de Provence. Son groupe est alors attaché à la 1re armée française.

 

Début 1945, les combats pour la reconquête de l'Alsace font rage. L'aviation alliée s'emploie à détruire les obstacles à l'avancée de l'infanterie, au moyen de périlleux piqués si nécessaire. Le 4 février, le commandant Edmond Marin la Meslée exécute un second passage au-dessus des lignes allemandes. Son appareil, touché par un tir de DCA, vient s'écraser et explose à deux kilomètre du village de Rustenhardt.

 


Ses ailes se sont définitivement repliées à l'aube de sa trente-troisième année :

 

"Pur visage de l'aviation de chasse, dont il était l'incarnation

il restera par ses vertus et par sa gloire,

une des figures les plus éclatantes de l'Armée de l'Air

et un des héros les plus nobles de la Nation"

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA
< Revenir à la liste des personnalités