Fort de Sainte-Agnès

Outside view of the fort. Author: Berthold Werner

 

Fort de Ste-Agnès, an underground structure on the Maginot Line, was designed to defend the border between France and Italy.

 

 

Fort de Sainte-Agnès, a structure in the Fortified Sector of the Alpes Maritimes on the Maginot Line, was built between 1932 and 1938 and is completely underground. Its purpose was to defend the border between France and Italy. The village of Sainte-Agnès, the highest coastal village in Europe, clutches to the side of a 780-metre peak overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. This advantage led the local lords to use it as a fortress starting in the 16th century. Thus, as a privileged observation and defence position, the construction of the Maginot structure at Sainte-Agnès was part of the military programme for the Fortified Sector of the Alpes Maritimes (SFAM).

 

 

Sainte-Agnès is located on a rocky outcropping overlooking the sea at nearly 800 metres. During the Roman period, the site was semi-permanently occupied by shepherds and peasants. The discovery of a church consecrated to Saint Agnès, martyr under the reign of Diocletian, has made it possible to date the founding of the town to the beginning of the 12th century, when it belonged to the Count of Ventimiglia. A strategically important location for the Counts of Provence and the Genoese, the site was fortified at the end of the 14th century by the House of Savoy. The scene of battles between French troops and the Sardinians, the fortress became a possession of the Kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia between 1814 and 1860, when the County of Nice and Savoy were attached to France.


 

The fort, built between 1932 and 1938 to defend the Bay of Menton against Italian attacks, is completely underground. With 2,000 m² of galleries and rooms, it was dug into over 55 metres of rock. Exclusively defensive, with powerful artillery blocks, it was one of the most powerful structures in the Fortified Sector of the Alpes Maritimes. Designed to be completely autonomous, the Fort de Sainte-Agnès is a veritable “underground city”.


 

The fort has also kept its artillery in a bunker (135 and 75-mm Howitzer cannons, 81-mm mortar). The south block (or block 2), the most powerfully armed front bunker of the entire Maginot Line (75 mm, 81 mm and 135 mm cannons), held off the Italian offensive of June 1940, with a barrage of artillery blocking the coast and forcing the Italian troops to retreat.


 

The fort was owned by the State until 1990. The municipality of Sainte-Agnès then acquired it to open it to the public and to preserve the memory of the site.


 

Town Hall

102 Place Saint Jean 06500 Sainte Agnès

Tel.: +33 (0)4 93 35 84 58

Fax: +33 (0)4 92 10 35 14


 

Opening hours: Week-ends from 2.00 pm to 5.30 pm. From July to September (closed Mondays) from 3.00 pm to 6.00 pm.

Admission (guided tours): Adults: €3.05 Children: €1.52 Groups (booked in advance): €2.29

Access: Coach Station – Regular service between Menton and Sainte-Agnès Tel.: +33 (0)4 93 35 73 51

Departure from the Menton coach station: every day at 9.50 am, 2.00 pm and 4.15 pm. An additional shuttle on Tuesdays and Saturdays at 8.00 am, 11.30 am, 1.00 pm and 5.15 pm.

Departure from Sainte-Agnès: every day at 10.20 am, 2.35 pm and 4.45 pm. An additional shuttle on Tuesdays and Saturdays at 8.30 am, 12.00 pm, 1.30 pm and 5.45 pm.

A8 motorway: Menton exit, the N 7 highway: seaside road, then follow the itinerary through the Valley du Borrigo or the Corniche des Serres de la Madone

 

  • Reconstitution de la vie quotidienne à l'intérieur du fort. Source : www.sainteagnes.fr

  • Mortier de 75 mm 1931. Source : www.sentinelles-des-alpes.com

  • Vue extérieur du fort. Source : www.sainteagnes.fr

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address

    6500
    Sainte Agnès
    04 93 35 84 58

    Prices

    Adultes: 5 € Enfants: 2 € Groupe: 3 €

    Weekly opening hours

    Le weekend: de 14h à 17h30 De juillet à septembre (sauf le lundi): de 15h à 18h

    Fermetures annuelles

    25 décembre et 1° janvier

    Read more

Fort de Sainte-Agnès

Partager :

Le Fort de Ste-Agnès, ouvrage de la ligne Maginot entièrement souterrain, a pour but de défendre la frontière entre la France et l'Italie.

 

Le Fort de Sainte-Agnès, ouvrage du Secteur Fortifié des Alpes Maritimes de la ligne Maginot, construit entre 1932 et 1938, est entièrement souterrain. Son but est alors de défendre la frontière entre la France et l'Italie. Le village de Sainte-Agnès, village littoral le plus haut d'Europe, est accroché au flanc d'un pic de 780 mètres en surplomb de la Méditerranée. Cet atout incite les seigneurs à en faire dès le XVIe siècle une forteresse. Ainsi, poste privilégié d'observation et de défense, la construction de l'ouvrage Maginot de Sainte-Agnès s'inscrit dans le programme militaire du Secteur Fortifié des Alpes Maritimes (SFAM).

  • Reconstitution de la vie quotidienne à l'intérieur du fort

    Reconstitution de la vie quotidienne à l'intérieur du fort. Source : www.sainteagnes.fr

  • Mortier de 75 mm 1931

    Mortier de 75 mm 1931. Source : www.sentinelles-des-alpes.com

  • Vue extérieur du fort

    Vue extérieur du fort. Source : www.sainteagnes.fr

Source : Mindef/SGA/DMPA

 

La cité de Sainte-Agnès est située sur un éperon rocheux qui surplombe la mer à près de 800 mètres. A l'époque romaine, le site est occupé de façon semi-permanente par des bergers et des paysans. La mise au jour d'une église consacrée à Sainte-Agnès, martyre sous le règne de Dioclétien, permet de dater la fondation du bourg au début du XIIe siècle, alors possession du comté de Vintimille. Enjeu stratégique entre les Comtes de Provence et les Génois, le lieu est fortifiée à la fin du XIVe siècle par la maison de Savoie. Scène de combats entre les troupes françaises et les Sardes, la forteresse devient possession du royaume de Piémont-Sardaigne entre 1814 et 1860 date de rattachement du comté de Nice et de la Savoie à la France.

 


Le fort, construit entre 1932 et 1938 pour assurer la défense de la baie de Menton contre les attaques italiennes, est entièrement souterrain. Avec ses 2000 m2 de galeries et de salles, il s'enfonce sous plus de 55 mètres de rochers. Exclusivement défensif, avec ses puissants blocs d'artillerie, il a été l'un des plus puissants ouvrages du Secteur Fortifié des Alpes Maritimes. Prévu pour être totalement autonome, le fort Sainte-Agnès est une véritable "ville souterraine


Le fort a également conservé son armement d'artillerie sous casemate (canon obusier de 135 et 75, mortier de 81). Le bloc sud (ou bloc 2), la casemate frontale la plus puissamment armée de toute la ligne Maginot (canons de 75 mm, 81 mm, 135 mm), a tenu en échec l'offensive italienne de juin 1940, en réalisant un tir de barrage sur le littoral, obligeant les troupes italiennes à la retraite.

 


Jusqu'en 1990, le fort est resté propriété de l'Etat. La municipalité de Sainte-Agnès en a fait alors l'acquisition pour l'ouvrir au public et conserver la mémoire du site.

 


Mairie

102 Place Saint Jean 06500 Sainte Agnès

Tél. : 04 93 35 84 58

Fax : 04 92 10 35 14

 

Horaires : Le week-end : de 14h00 à 17h30 De juillet à septembre (fermé le lundi) : de 15h00 à 18h00

 

Tarifs (visites guidées et commentées) Adulte : 3,05 Euros Enfant : 1,52 Euros Groupes (sur réservation) : 2,29 Euros

 

Accès Gare Routière - Service régulier Menton/Sainte-Agnès Tel. 04 93 35 73 51

Départ gare routière à Menton : Tous les jours à 09h50, 14h00 et 16h15 Navette supplémentaire le mardi et le samedi à 08h00, 11h30, 13h00 et 17h15

Départ de Sainte-Agnès : Tous les jours à 10h20, 14h35 et16h45 Navette supplémentaire le mardi et le samedi à 08h30, 12h00, 13h30 et 17h45

Autoroute A8 : sortie Menton Nationale 7 : route du bord de mer puis ensuite, itinéraire par la vallée du Borrigo ou par la Corniche des Serres de la Madone

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

 

Partager :