Fort Lobau

Share:

Fort and museum of the Resistance in Bondues.

 

Overlooking the confluence of the rivers Marque and Deûle, on the N17 road connecting Lille and Menin, Fort Lobau was erected in the 1880s, becoming part of the defence system designed by Séré de Rivières in the Lille region.

It has ramparts with a perimeter of 720 metres, protected by a wide ditch. It was impressive. It could accommodate 800 men and 40 pieces of artillery. However, although it had an armoured dome, it was not sufficient to provide shelter from new forms of explosives. Another weakness was linked to the fact that it could be opposed from the high ground of Mouvaux.

 

 

  • Fort de Bondues - courtyard of honour and façade. Source: Photo DMPA

    Fort de Bondues - courtyard of honour and façade. Source: Photo DMPA

  • Fort de Bondues - courtyard of honour and façade. Source: Photo DMPA

    Fort de Bondues - courtyard of honour and façade. Source: Photo DMPA

  • Fort de Bondues - courtyard of honour and façade. Source: Photo DMPA

    Fort de Bondues - courtyard of honour and façade. Source: Photo DMPA

Source MINDEF/SGA/DMPA territoire Nord

 

The peculiarity of the site is that it wasn't really used by French soldiers, but by German soldiers. It was actually occupied during the two wars in the 20th century. In the second world war it was linked to an airfield as of July 1940 and was used to store bombs for German aircraft.

But it was much more than this: from 17 March 1943 to 1 May 1944, it was a site of execution for the 68 members of the French Resistance in the region. Before they left on 1 September 1944, the Germans bombed the entire site. All that was left was a third of its original structure.

It was rediscovered by accident, and the Fort's casemates were renovated, following the original plans. The Sacred Courtyard, where executions had taken place, was inaugurated in 1986. The Fort is an interesting example of military architecture from the end of the 19th century (restored casemates, different courtyards: battery courtyard, courtyard of honour and Sacred courtyard).

 

The Fort houses the Musée de la Résistance, inaugurated on 20 September 1997.
The museum retraces the activities of the French Resistance in the region of Nord - Pas de Calais during the Second World War. Organised by theme, an educational trail explains the backgrounds of the men and women who belonged to the "shadow army", with collections of objects and documents from the time.

The museum has different rooms, organised by theme: the Memory room recalls the sacrifice made by the members of the Resistance killed at the Fort; the Refusal room explains the reasons for wanting to fight the occupier; the Courage room illustrates the different forms of resistance, from collecting information to carrying out spectacular actions; the Enrolment room describes the paths of the Resistance members and the different organisations (networks and movements) to help understand their reasons for joining; lastly, the Sacrifice room exposes the repression and the conditions of detention experienced by the arrested members.

The Museum also has an area dedicated to the Voix du Nord newspaper showing 66 clandestine copies of Voix du Nord, from 1 April 1941 to 5 September 1944, and a library open to students who want to do some research. The Museum also has a conference room and a dining area.

 


Musée de la Résistance de Bondues

BP80001 59587 BONDUES Cedex

Tel.: +33 (0)3 20 28 88 32

Fax: +33 (0)3 20 28 94 95

E-mail: hpriego@mairie-bondues.fr

 

Opening times Summer : Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday from 2 pm to 4.30 pm Other periods: open every day subject to booking, from 9 am to 12 pm and 2 pm to 5 pm. Open on the first Sunday of the month (except in August) from 2.30 pm to 6 pm - guided tours at 3.30 pm. Closed on Tuesday, the weekend and national holidays. Guided tours can be organised on request outside the usual opening times.

 

Prices Individuals: €5.00. Children under 12 accompanied by an adult: free. Groups (from 10 people): €4.50 per person. School groups (30 pupils maximum): €25.00 per class

 

Mairie de Bondues

BP 1 59587 BONDUES Cedex

 

Correspondance ASSOCIATION "UNION RESISTANCE VOIX DU NORD"

Espace Résistance Voix du Nord 200, rue de la Coeuillerie 59840 PREMESQUES

Tel.: +33 3.20.22.20.56

 

 

Website of the Tourist Information Office of Lille

 

Website of the departmental tourist board for the Nord

 

Website of the town of Bondues

 

Website of the regional tourist board for the Nord

 

Quizz : Forts and citadels

 

Share:

Fort Lobau

Partager :

Le fort et musée de la Résistance de Bondues.

 

Surplombant le confluent de la Marque et de la Deûle, implanté sur la Nationale 17, reliant Lille à Menin, le Fort Lobau fut érigé dans les années 1880, entrant dans le dispositif de défense élaboré par Séré de Rivières, dans la région lilloise.

Il compte un rempart de 720 mètres de périmètre, protégé par un large fossé. C'était considérable. Il pouvait accueillir 800 hommes et 40 pièces d'artillerie. Mais, bien que doté d'une coupole cuirassée, il ne contenait pas d'abris ou de magasins à l'épreuve des nouveaux explosifs. Une autre faiblesse était liée au fait qu'il pouvait être contre battu depuis les hauteurs de Mouvaux.

 

  • Fort de Bondues - cour d'honneur et façade

    Fort de Bondues - cour d'honneur et façade. Source : Photo DMPA

  • Fort de Bondues - cour des batteries

    Fort de Bondues - cour des batteries. Source : Photo DMPA

  • Fort de Bondues - cour d'honneur

    Fort de Bondues - cour d'honneur. Source : Photo DMPA

Source MINDEF/SGA/DMPA territoire Nord

 

La singularité du site est qu'il ne servit pas véritablement aux soldats français mais aux soldats allemands. Il fut, en effet, occupé lors des deux guerres mondiales du XXème Siècle. Militairement lié au terrain d'aviation, lors du deuxième conflit mondial, et cela dès juillet 1940, il servit de dépôt de bombes pour les avions allemands.

Mais il fut bien d'avantage : dès le 17 mars 1943 jusqu'au 1er mai 1944, il fut un lieu d'exécutions pour 68 résistants de la Région. Avant leur départ, le 1er septembre 1944, les Allemands posèrent des bombes sur l'ensemble du site. Ce dernier s'écroula, ne laissant derrière lui qu'un tiers de sa conception originelle, parmi les ruines.

Redécouvertes fortuitement, des casemates du Fort furent réhabilitées, conformément aux plans originaux, et la Cour Sacrée, lieu des exécutions, inaugurée en 1986. Actuellement, le Fort présente un intérêt au niveau historique d'architecture militaire de la fin du XIXème Siècle (casemates restaurées, différentes cours : des batteries, d'honneur et Sacrée).

 

Le Fort abrite le Musée de la résistance inauguré le 20 septembre 1997.
Le musée retrace ce que fut la Résistance dans le Nord - Pas de Calais durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. On y explique de manière thématique et pédagogique le parcours d'hommes et de femmes ayant appartenu à " l'armée des ombres" à partir de collections du musée comprenant des objets et des documents d'époque.

Le musée est composé de différentes salles thématiques : la salle du Souvenir rappelle le sacrifice des résistants fusillés au Fort; la salle du Refus explique les fondements de la lutte contre l'occupant; la salle de Courage illustre les différentes formes de résistance, de la collecte de renseignements aux actions spectaculaires; la salle de l'Engagement décrit les itinéraires de résistants et les différentes organisations de résistants (réseaux et mouvements) permettant de comprendre la nature et les motivations de l'engagement; enfin, la salle du Sacrifice expose la répression et les conditions de détention auxquelles étaient confrontés les résistants arrêtés.

Le Musée possède également un espace dédié à la Voix du Nord présentant 66 copies des numéros de la Voix du Nord clandestine parues du 1er avril 1941 au 5 septembre 1944 ainsi qu'une bibliothèque accessible aux élèves désirant faire des recherches. Le Musée compte aussi une salle de projection-conférences et un espace de restauration.

 


Musée de la Résistance de Bondues

BP80001 59587 BONDUES Cedex

Tel. : 03 20 28 88 32

Fax : 03 20 28 94 95

E-mail: hpriego@mairie-bondues.fr

 

Heures d'ouverture Période estivale : lundi, mercredi, jeudi, vendredi de 14h00 à 16h30 Hors période estivale : ouvert tous les jours sur réservation de 9h00 à 12h00 et de 14h00 à 17h00 ouvert le premier dimanche du mois (sauf en août) de 14h30 à 18h00 - visite guidée à 15h30 fermé le mardi, le week-end et les jours fériés Des visites guidées peuvent être organisées sur demande en dehors des heures d'ouverture habituelles.

 

Tarifs Individuels : 5.00 € Moins de 12 ans accompagnés de leurs parents : gratuit Groupes (à partir de 10 personnes) : 4.50 € par personne Scolaires (30 élèves maximum) : 25.00 € par classe

 

Mairie de Bondues

BP 1 59587 BONDUES Cedex

 

Correspondance ASSOCIATION "UNION RESISTANCE VOIX DU NORD"

Espace Résistance Voix du Nord 200, rue de la Coeuillerie 59840 PREMESQUES

Tél. : 03.20.22.20.56

 

 

Site de l'office du tourisme de Lille

 

Site du comité départemental du tourisme du Nord

 

Le site de la Ville de Bondues

 

Site du comité régional du tourisme de la région Nord

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

 

Partager :