Paul Nizan

1905-1940
Portrait of Paul Nizan. Source: The literary library at the ENS – Photograph collection © ENS – Rights reserved

“I was twenty. I won’t let anyone say those are the best years of your life.” These words were written by a young man, Paul Nizan, aged twenty-six at the time. They introduced his first book published in 1931, Aden, Arabie, an extremely inflammatory pamphlet against colonialism, which set the tone for his future work: open, controversial and intentionally despairing.  Waving the flag of mutiny and guided by the principles of communism, Paul Nizan, throughout his short career, relentlessly assailed the established order, ferreted out the failings of bourgeois society and watched out for the harbingers of history. 

Born on 7 February 1905 in Tours to a middle class family, his father had previously worked in rail before the war, at 19 years of age Paul joined the Ecole Normale Supérieure, one of France’s elite universities. His fellow students in his graduating year included philosophers and writers Ray Aron and Jean-Paul Sartre. On reading Aden, Arabie, Sartre, his inseparable friend who was always confused with him (one had a divergent strabismus and one a convergent strabismus), described him as "absorbed in studying his fingernails and releasing his violence with a sly and underhand serenity." But this apparent coolness, this brilliant demonstration of a charming dandy whose lilac outfits and concise way of speaking sent a tremble of excitement running through the ENS student ranks, belied his secret wounds.

"My only original trait is that periodically I suffer from depression," he once confided when chatting to the woman who would later become his wife, Henriette Alphen. "I’m neither joyful nor desperate, but I’ll admit during the main course that life doesn’t make any sense, and during dessert that nobody should be surprised if one day I enter the regular clergy.” Nizan would thus spend entire days in complete silence unless he ran away suddenly only to reappear a few nights later, haggard-looking, declaring his affiliations for somewhere between the extreme right and communism, and then discovered a passion for cinema. Tormented by a profound discontentment that gave him not a moment’s peace, obsessed by death, disgusted by the “official practice of philosophy”, he left to go to Aden, in Yemen, as a private tutor for an English family. Aden, “a compressed version of Europe” would be the opportunity for him to find his political consciousness. He returned a year later and opted for Marxism, the only concrete solution to his revolt. By late 1927, he had joined the French Communist Party. He was almost 23 and had a wife, one child, soon to be two, and the highest diploma for teaching philosophy.

A fervent militant, he stood as a candidate for the French Communist Party in the 1932 legislative elections in Bourg-en-Bresse, where he’d been teaching philosophy for a year. He then went on to pursue a career in literature and journalism and worked as editor in chief of the avant-garde magazine Bifur, which brought attention to Michaux, Sartre and Joyce; a literature critic at L’Humanité where he supported Céline, Breton and Lacan, and foreign politics correspondent for Ce Soir, then directed by Aragon. Between Moscow, where he was staying to organise the International Writers Congress, to Brest, the site of bloody riots as the Front Populaire grew in popularity, passing through England and Spain, the latter a few months before the Civil War broke, he was always on the front line.  A passionate international reporter, he still managed to pursue his literary career and published essays (Les Chiens de garde, Les Matérialistes de l'Antiquité) and novels (Antoine Bloyé, Le Cheval de Troie), one after the other, all to critical acclaim. In 1938, La Conspiration won the Interallié Prize. Ironically, only the French Communist Party remains somewhat reserved and even very critical with regard to his literary corpus since his publications could never be described as orthodox and did not toe the French Communist party line at the time. 

In 1939, his last publication Chronique de Septembre presented a detailed analysis of the negotiation mechanisms employed between Hitler, Daladier, Chamberlain and Mussolini that led to the Munich Agreement and the dismantling of Czechoslovakia.  He was surprised to learn of the German-Soviet Pact between Stalin and Hitler during his holidays in Ajaccio.

He immediately returned to Paris, impatient to find out the party position. The French Communist Party in fact approved the Pact. Faithful to his beliefs and his anti-fascist convictions, Nizan publically resigned from the FCP in September 1939.

Mobilised, he continued to militantly campaign on the front, passionately discussing his position with his fellow men.

Posted in Lille as an interpreter for the British army, he was killed on 23 May 1940 when the Germans attacked Dunkerque. He is buried at the national cemetery La Targette in Neuville-Saint-Vaast.

Paul Nizan

1905-1940

J'avais vingt ans. Je ne laisserai personne dire que c'est le plus bel âge de la vie. Ces mots sont écrits par un jeune homme de 26 ans nommé Paul Nizan. Ils inaugurent son premier livre publié en 1931 "Aden Arabie", un pamphlet résolument provocateur contre le colonialisme, qui donne le ton de l'œuvre à venir : à vif, polémique et activement désespéré. Sur les cimes de la révolte et le fil rouge du communisme, Paul Nizan n'a de cesse, tout au long de sa trop brève carrière, de pourfendre l'ordre établi, débusquer les travers de la société bourgeoise et guetter les signes précurseurs de l'Histoire.

 

Né le 7 février 1905 à Tours, ce fils de petite bourgeoisie et "d'ouvrier devenu bourgeois", intègre, à dix-neuf ans, l'Ecole Normale Supérieure. Ses condisciples de promotion en 1924 ont pour nom Raymond Aron et Jean-Paul Sartre. A la lecture d'"Aden Arabie", Sartre, l'ami inséparable avec lequel on le confond toujours (question de strabisme divergent chez l'un, convergent chez l'autre), le revoit à l'époque "absorbé dans la contemplation de ses ongles et lâchant ses violences avec une sournoise et trompeuse sérénité". Mais cette froideur apparente, cette vitrine brillante de dandy charmeur dont les costumes lilas et les formules lapidaires du genre "Morale, c'est trou de balles" font courir un frisson d'excitation dans les rangs des Normaliens, dissimule mal une blessure secrète.

Ma seule originalité est de traverser périodiquement des phases de dépression, confie-t-il en badinant à celle qui deviendra sa femme, Henriette Alphen. "Je ne suis pas joyeux, je ne suis pas désespéré, mais j'affirme au rôti que la vie n'a aucun sens, et au dessert que personne n'aura lieu de s'étonner si j'entre un jour dans les ordres réguliers." Nizan s'enfonce ainsi des jours entiers dans un mutisme total, quand il ne fugue pas subitement pour resurgir hagard quelques nuits plus tard, cherche sa voie entre l'extrême droite et le communisme, se découvre une passion pour le cinéma. Rongé par un mal de vivre qui ne lui laisse aucun répit, obsédé par la mort, dégoûté de "l'exercice officiel de la philosophie", il part pour Aden, au Yémen, comme précepteur dans une famille anglaise. Aden "ce comprimé d'Europe" sera l'occasion de sa prise de conscience politique. Il en revient un an après et opte pour le marxisme, seule solution concrète à sa révolte. Fin 1927, il adhère au parti communiste français. Il a presque 23 ans, une femme, bientôt deux enfants et l'agrégation de philosophie.

 

Militant fervent, il est candidat du Parti aux élections législatives de 1932 à Bourg-en-Bresse, où il enseigne un an la philosophie. Il choisit ensuite la littérature et le journalisme et devient tour à tour rédacteur en chef de la revue d'avant-garde "BIFUR" qui révèle Michaux, Sartre et Joyce, chroniqueur littéraire à l'Humanité (1935) où il soutient Céline, Breton et Lacan, et chargé de politique étrangère à "Ce Soir" dirigé alors par Aragon. De Moscou, où il séjourne pour préparer le Congrès International des Écrivains, à Brest, cadre de sanglantes émeutes en pleine montée du Front Populaire, en passant par l'Angleterre et l'Espagne quelques mois avant la guerre civile, il est toujours en première ligne. Grand reporter passionné, il n'en mène pas moins en parallèle sa carrière d'écrivain et publie presque coup sur coup des essais (Les Chiens de garde, Les Matérialistes de l'Antiquité) et des romans (Antoine Bloyé, Le Cheval de Troie), tous salués par la critique. En 1938, La Conspiration obtient le prix Interallié. Paradoxalement, seul le P.C.F. reste toujours réservé, sinon très critique de son œuvre littéraire tant il est vrai que ses écrits ne sont guère orthodoxes et ne s'intègrent pas dans l'étroite grille de lecture du P.C.F. d'alors.

 


En 1939, son dernier ouvrage Chronique de Septembre démonte les mécanismes des négociations entre Hitler, Daladier, Chamberlain et Mussolini, qui aboutissent aux Accords de Munich et au démantèlement de la Tchécoslovaquie. Le pacte germano-soviétique entre Staline et Hitler le surprend en vacances à Ajaccio.

 

Il rentre aussitôt à Paris, impatient de connaître la position du Parti, qui approuve le pacte. Fidèle à lui-même et à ses convictions anti-fascistes, Nizan démissionne publiquement du P.C.F. en septembre 1939.

 

Mobilisé, il continue de militer sur le front, discutant fougueusement sa position avec ses camarades.

 

Affecté à Lille comme interprète de l'armée anglaise, il est tué le 23 mai 1940 lors de l'attaque des Allemands sur Dunkerque. Il est inhumé dans la nécropole nationale La Targette, à Neuville-Saint-Vaast.

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA
< Revenir à la liste des personnalités