Raoul Villain

1885-1936

Raoul Villain was born in Reims on 19 September 1885 and died in Ibiza on 17 September 1936. He assassinated Jean Jaurès on 31 July 1914, on the eve of the start of World War I. He was acquitted at his trial in 1919.

 

 

Nationalist student

 

Raoul Villain was the son of Louis Marie Gustave Villain, head clerk of the civil court in Reims, and Marie-Adèle Collery, who suffered from mental illness and was interned at the asylum in Châlons-sur-Marne in 1887. His paternal grandmother, Émélie Alba, had also shown signs of brain disorders. During his grandmother’s funeral, before her tomb, he declared, "There are people who are playing Germany’s game and they deserve death!" shortly before he assassinated Jean Jaurès. He had an elder brother, Marcel Villain, court clerk, aviation lieutenant and Officer of the Legion of Honour, notably for his battle exploits during World War I.

 

Raoul Villain studied at the Jesuit middle school in the faubourg of Cérès, then at the high school in his home town, but he did not complete his studies. In October 1905, he enrolled at the École Nationale d'Agriculture in Rennes, where he came down with typhoid fever in November 1905, and nearly died. His police file states that, "before his military service he was considered a very serious young man, very gentle, well raised," he "kept no bad company, did not go to the cafés, nor to shows".

 

In November 1906, he was incorporated into the 94th Infantry Regiment in Bar-le-Duc, but was discharged in 1907. In June 1909, he received his diploma from the school in Rennes, ranking 18th out of 44. He worked in agriculture for six weeks in the arrondissement of Rethel, then came back to Reims to his father’s house. He went to Alsace in September 1911. From October 1911 to 29 June 1912, he was an invigilator at Collège Stanislas, with authorisation to prepare for the Baccalaureate. His rhetoric teacher, Abbot Charles, said that "he seemed unhappy to be alive. His compositions lacked depth, logic and consistency. One day I expressed my fears concerning the threat of war. Villain listened to me. He answered, "the enemies from the outside are not the most dangerous". He was gentle and polite with everyone, but never connected with anyone and was let go for his lack of authority. In 1912, he spent six weeks in London and about ten days in Loughton, to which he returned in 1913. He stayed with Mrs Annie Francis, who, according to The Observer of 6 June 1915, described him as "a gentle and very kind man". In March and April 1913, he also went to Greece, visiting Athens and Ephesus. In June 1914, he enrolled at the École du Louvre to study archaeology. According to his police file, "for seven years, the father has always spoken of his son Raoul with sadness. He had become exalted, unstable, affected by religious mysticism". He only came to Reims twice a year and "gave no details about his lifestyle in Paris, where he lived alone for four years".

 

A member of Le Sillon, Marc Sangnier’s Christian social movement, until it was condemned by Pius X in 1910, he then joined the “Ligue des Jeunes Amis de l'Alsace-Lorraine”, a group of far-right ultra-nationalist students, where he played an effective role, he reproached Jaurès for being against the law requiring three years of military service.

  • Raoul Villain’s anthropometric record card. © Préfecture de Police

Assassination of Jean Jaurès

 

Little by little, Raoul Villain got it into his head to kill Jaurès. He bought a revolver and started stalking the Socialist leader, scribbling down incoherent notes on his habits in his wallet.

 

On Friday, 31 July 1914 at 9.40 pm, Jaurès was dining with his colleagues, sitting on a bench with his back to an open window at the Café du Croissant, 146 rue Montmartre, in Paris (2nd arrondissement). Raoul Villain violently drew back the curtain, raised his fist armed with a revolver, and shot twice. A bullet struck the Socialist orator in the head and he immediately collapsed.

 

The shooter tried to get away, running toward the rue de Réaumur, but was seen by Tissier, a layout man at L'Humanité, who followed him, hit him over the head with his cane and immobilised him on the ground with the help of a policeman. Taken to the police station, he cried, "Don’t tie me so tight, I don’t want to get away. Just take the revolver in my left-hand pocket. It’s not loaded."

 

This assassination, which took place three days before the start of World War I, helped to trigger the hostilities by rallying the left together, including some hesitant Socialists, in a "Sacred Union".

 

 

The trial

 

 

Awaiting his trial, Raoul Villain spent World War I in prison. In a letter sent to his brother from La Santé Prison on 10 August 1914, he stated, "I shot down the spokesman, the great traitor of the period of the three-year law, the big mouth who covered all the calls for Alsace-Lorraine. I punished him, and that was the symbol of a new era, both for the French and for Foreigners". The inquiry was led by the investigating magistrate, Drioux.

 

The trial opened on 24 March 1919 before the criminal court of the Seine in a context of patriotism, after fifty-six months of preventive detention. The accused was defended by attorneys Henri Géraud and Alexandre Bourson, aka "Zévaes", a former Socialist member of parliament. On the last day of the debates, Villain declared, "I ask for forgiveness for the victim and for my father. The pain of a widow and an orphan will leave no room for joy in my life". The popular jury was asked to answer two questions "1) Is Villain guilty of voluntary homicide on the person of Jaurès? 2) Was this homicide committed with premeditation?". After a short period of deliberation, the jury, by a vote of eleven to one, answered no on 29 March 1919. Raoul Villain was acquitted. The President of the Court ordered that he should be released and praised him for being a good patriot. The Court issued a degree granting one franc in damages to the plaintiff, and ordered the plaintiff to pay trial expenses to the State. Mrs Jaurès was therefore condemned to pay court costs.

 

In reaction to the verdict, Anatole France sent a short letter from his property, La Béchellerie, to the editors of L'Humanité, printed on 4 April: "Workers, Jaurès lived for you, he died for you. A monstrous verdict has proclaimed that his assassination was not a crime. This verdict makes outlaws of all of you, you and everyone who defends your cause. Workers, beware!" As soon as it was published, the letter gave rise to a demonstration organised by the Union de Syndicats and the Fédération Socialiste de la Seine on Sunday 6 April, following avenue Victor-Hugo all the way to Passy, where Jaurès had lived.

 

 

The death of Raoul Villain

 

In April of 1919, Raoul Villain had to leave Auxerre suddenly after hostile demonstrations organised by the workers’ unions. He returned to anonymity in Paris, staying at No. 7, rue Jean-Lantier, under the name René Alba. He was arrested on 19 July 1920 for trafficking in silver coins at a café in Montreuil, at the corner of rue Douy-Delcupe and rue de Vincennes and, out of despair, tried to strangle himself to death. Freed on 23 July 1920, he was sentenced by the 11th Criminal Chamber on 18 October 1920 to just a one-hundred-franc fine due to his mental condition. In September 1921, he shot himself twice in the stomach at his father’s office at the Reims Courthouse in protest against his father’s opposition to his marriage plans.

 

He expatriated to Danzig, where he worked as a croupier, then to Memel (now Klaipėda), where he lived until 1926. He moved to the island of Ibiza, in the Balearic Islands off Spain, in 1932. He inherited some money and moved into a hotel near Santa Eulària, more precisely at Cala Sant Vicenç, where the locals called him "el boig del port" (the madman of the port). With the help of a few friends, Laureano Barrau, the Spanish impressionist, and Paul-René Gauguin, the painter’s grandson, he undertook to build a bizarre house on the seaside. The residence, which still exists, was never finished.

 

Soon after the Spanish Civil War broke out, on 20 July 1936, the military garrison and the civil guards of the island took the side of the Francoists. The Republicans in Barcelona sent a detachment under the direction of Commander Bayo to take back the Balearic Islands. It landed on Ibiza on 8 August. On 9 and 10 September 1936, a column of nearly five hundred anarchists under the "Cultura y Acción" banner, arrived on Ibiza, leaving one hundred and fourteen dead. On 12 and 13 September 1936, the island was bombarded by the Italian aviation and, in the confusion, the anarchists executed Raoul Villain.

 

He was buried at the cemetery in Sant Vicent de sa Cala on Ibiza and a funeral mass was celebrated at Saint-Remi Basilica in Reims. His tomb at the Cimetière du Nord in Reims bears his name (and calls up his memory) and is the renovated tomb of his parents. Despite the family’s requests, his remains were never transferred to Reims.

 

 

Why Raoul Villain was acquitted

 

 

Jaurès’ assassin, who was 29 years old in 1914, had a fragile personality. The younger son of the head clerk of the civil court in Reims, he suffered from a serious heritage: his mother was in an insane asylum and his paternal grandmother suffered from a mystical delirium. After his incomplete secondary studies and years of uncertainty, he enrolled at the École Nationale d'Agriculture in Rennes in 1906, where he came down with typhoid fever that left him with nervous sequelae. Once cured, he did his military service, completed school, but gave up on being an agricultural engineer. He was attracted by Marc Sangnier’s social Catholicism and, in 1904, he joined Le Sillon, where he found the emotional warmth he had lacked. His appears to have begun to become unstable after the movement’s condemnation by Rome in 1910. Obsessed with Alsace and Lorraine, he joined the at Ligue des Jeunes Amis de l'Alsace-Lorraine the end of 1913 or the beginning of 1914, an organisation that included nationalists who were hostile to the regime, but also steadfast Republicans.

 

Villain knew that Jaurès was opposed to a three-year military service and that he had threatened a strike against the war. From then on, he saw him as "the big mouth" that had to be taken out. After seeing the antimilitarist demonstrations in Paris on 29 July 1914, his hatred for Jaurès grew. He bought a Smith and Wesson and, on 31 July at 9.40 pm, he committed the irreparable at the Café du Croissant, where Jaurès was dining with about a dozen friends. He was immediately arrested.

 

Initially scheduled for 1915, his trial was not held until 1919. Viviani, the President of the Council of Ministers who feared for the "Sacred Union", had asked the general prosecutor of the Seine to sign a postponement order; all of his successors did the same. After nearly five years of "preventive detention", an unusually long period that horrified the Human Rights League and some of Jaurès’ friends such as the journalist Séverine, Raoul Villain’s trial was held from 24 to 29 March 1919. He was defended by attorneys Zévaès and Géraud, while Paul-Boncour and Ducos de la Haille represented the plaintiff. On 29 March, the jury – deliberating alone – considered that Villain was not guilty; the President of the Cour d'Assises therefore acquitted him. Commentators denounced the attitude of the jury members, pointing out their age (all were over 50) and their bourgeois condition. Actually, alongside a rentier and a veterinarian, there was one employee and several artisans.

 

Above and beyond his heredity, various factors can explain the verdict. The plaintiff’s attorneys ignored Villain and concentrated their closing arguments on Jaurès’ memory. They called more than 40 witnesses (only 27 showed up), which made the trial drag on, no doubt much to the discontent of the jury members who were kept away from their daily business. To demonstrate that Jaurès’ ideas about the motherland and the army were distorted, attorney Paul-Boncour committed the imprudence of reading long excerpts from L'Action Française and from pamphleteer Urbain Gohier, with the risk of giving a very bad image of Jaurès. Villain’s attorneys, on the other hand, were very skilful. Lastly, acquittals were not uncommon at the time (Henriette Caillaux was acquitted in 1914, as was Germaine Berton in 1923).

 

It is commonly believed that Louise Jaurès had to pay court costs, but there are no official documents attesting to that. The court proceedings make no mention of this point and the newspapers give contradicting accounts.

 

The verdict was followed by huge protest demonstrations. Raoul Villain went on to live an adventurer’s life and was murdered on Ibiza in 1936 by a Spanish Republican or Anarchist according to some, by a Frenchman fighting in Spain according to others.

Source: Ministry of Defence - DMPA
< Back to the list of personalities

Raoul Villain

1885-1936

Né à Reims le 19 septembre 1885 et mort fusillé à Ibiza le 17 septembre 1936, il est l’assassin de Jean Jaurès, le 31 juillet 1914, à la veille du déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il avait été acquitté lors de son procès en 1919.

 

 

Étudiant nationaliste

 

 

Raoul Villain est le fils de Louis Marie Gustave Villain, greffier en chef au tribunal civil de Reims, et de Marie-Adèle Collery, atteinte d'aliénation mentale en 1887 et internée à l'asile de Châlons-sur-Marne. Sa grand mère paternelle, Émélie Alba, a elle aussi manifesté des troubles cérébraux. C'est durant l'enterrement de cette dernière, devant sa tombe, qu'il déclara : « il y a des gens qui font le jeu de l’Allemagne et qui méritent la mort ! », peu avant d'assassiner Jaurès. Il a un frère aîné, Marcel Villain, commis-greffier, lieutenant aviateur et officier de la Légion d'honneur, notamment pour ses faits d'armes durant la Première Guerre mondiale.

 

 

Élève des Jésuites, au collège du faubourg Cérès, puis au lycée dans sa ville natale, Raoul Villain n'achève pas sa première. En octobre 1905, il s'inscrit à l'École nationale d'agriculture de Rennes, où il contracte en novembre 1905 la typhoïde, dont il manque de mourir. Sa fiche de police fait apparaître que, « avant son service militaire considéré comme un jeune homme très sérieux, très doux, bien éduqué », il « n'avait aucune mauvaise fréquentation, n'allait ni au café, ni aux spectacles ».

 

En novembre 1906, il est incorporé au 94e régiment d'infanterie à Bar-le-Duc, mais est réformé en 1907. En juin 1909, il sort diplômé de l’école de Rennes classé 18e sur 44. Il travaille six semaines dans l'agriculture dans l'arrondissement de Rethel, puis revient à Reims chez son père. En septembre 1911, il va en Alsace. D'octobre 1911 au 29 juin 1912, il est surveillant suppléant au collège Stanislas, autorisé à préparer le baccalauréat. Son professeur de rhétorique, l'abbé Charles, dit de lui qu'« il semblait malheureux de vivre. Dans ses compositions il manquait de profondeur, de logique et d'esprit de suite. J'exprimais un jour mes craintes devant les menaces de guerre. Villain m'écoutait. Il répondit « les ennemis du dehors ne sont pas les plus redoutables ». Doux et poli avec tout le monde, il ne se lie cependant avec personne et se fait congédier en raison de son manque d'autorité. En 1912, il séjourne en Angleterre, six semaines à Londres et une dizaine de jours à Loughton, où il retourne en 1913. Il demeure chez Mrs Annie Francis, qui l’a décrit, selon The Observer, le 6 juin 1915, comme « un homme doux et très gentil ». En mars et avril 1913, il se rend également en Grèce à Athènes et à Ephèse. En juin 1914, il s'inscrit à l’École du Louvre pour y étudier l'archéologie. Selon sa fiche de police, « depuis sept ans, le père ne parle de son fils Raoul qu'avec tristesse. Celui-ci est devenu exalté, instable, atteint de mysticisme religieux ». Il ne venait plus que deux fois par an à Reims et « ne donnait aucun détail sur son genre de vie à Paris où il vivait seul depuis quatre ans ».

 

Membre du Sillon, le mouvement chrétien social de Marc Sangnier, jusqu'à sa condamnation par Pie X en 1910, puis adhérent de la « Ligue des jeunes amis de l'Alsace-Lorraine », groupement d'étudiants ultra-nationalistes d'extrême droite où il joue un rôle effacé, il reproche à Jaurès de s'être opposé à la loi sur le service militaire de trois ans.

  • Fiche anthropométrique de Raoul Villain. © Préfecture de Police

Assassinat de Jean Jaurès

 

 

Raoul Villain se met peu à peu en tête de tuer Jaurès. Il achète un revolver et commence à traquer le chef socialiste, griffonnant des notes incohérentes sur ses habitudes dans son portefeuille.

 

Le vendredi 31 juillet 1914 à 21 h 40, Jaurès soupe avec ses collaborateurs, assis sur une banquette le dos tourné vers une fenêtre ouverte au Café du Croissant, 146 rue Montmartre à Paris (2e arrondissement). Raoul Villain tire violemment le rideau, lève son poing armé d'un révolver, et tire deux fois. Une balle atteint à la tête le tribun socialiste, qui s'affaisse aussitôt.

 

L'auteur des coups de feu tente de s'enfuir à grands pas vers la rue de Réaumur mais il est vu par Tissier, metteur en page de L'Humanité, qui le poursuit, l'assomme avec un coup de sa canne et l'immobilise au sol avec l'aide d'un policier. Conduit au poste, il s'exclame : « Ne me serrez pas si fort, je ne veux pas m'enfuir. Prenez plutôt le révolver qui est dans ma poche gauche. Il n'est pas chargé. »

 

Cet assassinat, qui a lieu trois jours avant le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, précipite le déclenchement des hostilités, notamment en permettant le ralliement de la gauche, y compris de certains socialistes qui hésitaient, à l’« Union sacrée ».

 

 

Le procès

 

 

En attente de son procès, Raoul Villain est incarcéré durant toute la Première Guerre mondiale. Dans une lettre adressée à son frère de la prison de la Santé le 10 août 1914, il affirme : « j'ai abattu le porte-drapeau, le grand traître de l'époque de la loi de trois ans, la grande gueule qui couvrait tous les appels de l'Alsace-Lorraine. Je l'ai puni, et c'était le symbole de l'ère nouvelle, et pour les Français et pour l'Étranger ». L'enquête est dirigée par le juge d'instruction Drioux.

 

Le procès s'ouvre le 24 mars 1919 devant la cour d'assises de la Seine dans un contexte patriotique, après cinquante-six mois de détention préventive. L'accusé a pour défenseurs Maître Henri Géraud, et Maitre Alexandre Bourson dit « Zévaes », ancien député socialiste. Le dernier jour des débats, Villain déclare « je demande pardon pour la victime et pour mon père. La douleur d'une veuve et d'une orpheline ne laisseront plus de bonheur dans ma vie ». Le jury populaire doit répondre à deux questions « 1e) Villain est-il coupable d'homicide volontaire sur Jaurès ? 2e) cet homicide a-t-il été commis avec préméditation? ». Après une courte délibération, par onze voix contre une, le 29 mars 1919, il se prononce par la négative. Raoul Villain est acquitté. Le président ordonne sa mise en liberté et l'honore d'être un bon patriote. La Cour prend un arrêt accordant un franc de dommages et intérêts à la partie civile, et condamne la partie civile aux dépens du procès envers l'État. Madame Jaurès est donc condamnée à payer les frais de justice.

 

En réaction à ce verdict, Anatole France adresse, de sa propriété de La Béchellerie, une brève lettre à la rédaction de L'Humanité parue le 4 avril : « Travailleurs, Jaurès a vécu pour vous, il est mort pour vous. Un verdict monstrueux proclame que son assassinat n’est pas un crime. Ce verdict vous met hors la loi, vous et tous ceux qui défendent votre cause. Travailleurs, veillez ! ». Dès sa publication, ce billet provoque une manifestation organisée par l'Union de Syndicats et la Fédération socialiste de la Seine le dimanche 6 avril suivant de l'avenue Victor-Hugo jusqu'à Passy, où habitait Jaurès.

 

 

La mort de Raoul Villain

 

 

En avril 1919, Raoul Villain doit quitter précipitamment Auxerre à la suite de manifestations hostiles organisées par les syndicats ouvriers. Il retourne à l'anonymat parisien et loge rue Jean-Lantier, no 7, sous le nom de René Alba. Il est arrêté le 19 juillet 1920 pour trafic de monnaie en argent dans un café de Montreuil, à l'angle de la rue Douy-Delcupe et de la rue de Vincennes et, pris de désespoir, tente de s'étrangler. Libéré le 23 juillet 1920, il n’est condamné, le 18 octobre 1920, par la 11e chambre correctionnelle qu’à cent francs d’amende en raison de son état mental. En septembre 1921, il se tire deux balles dans le ventre dans le cabinet de son père au palais de justice de Reims pour protester contre l'opposition de ce dernier à un projet de mariage.

 

Il s'expatrie à Dantzig, où il exerce le métier de croupier, puis à Memel, où il vit jusqu'en 1926. Il s'installe en 1932 dans l’île d’Ibiza, dans les Baléares, au large de l’Espagne. Recevant de l’argent grâce à un héritage, il s’installe dans un hôtel près de Santa Eulària, plus précisément cala Sant Vicenç, où les habitants le surnomment « el boig del port » (le fou du port). Avec l’aide de quelques amis, Laureano Barrau, impressionniste espagnol, et Paul-René Gauguin, petit-fils du peintre, il entreprend de bâtir une maison bizarre au bord de l’eau. La demeure, qui existe toujours, n’a jamais été terminée.

 

Peu après le début de la guerre d’Espagne, le 20 juillet 1936, la garnison militaire et les gardes civils de l'île se rallient aux franquistes. Les républicains de Barcelone envoient un détachement sous la direction du commandant Bayo reprendre les Baléares. Il débarque à Ibiza le 8 août. Les 9 et 10 septembre 1936, une colonne de près de cinq cents anarchistes, sous la bannière de « Cultura y Acción », arrive à Ibiza et fait cent quatorze morts. Les 12 et 13 septembre 1936, l'île est bombardée par l'aviation italienne et, dans le chaos, les anarchistes exécutent Raoul Villain.

 

Il est inhumé au cimetière de Sant Vicent de sa Cala à Ibiza et une messe d’enterrement est célébrée à la Basilique Saint-Remi de Reims. Au Cimetière du Nord de Reims, la tombe qui porte son nom (et qui rappelle son souvenir) est celle, refaite, de ses parents. Ses restes, malgré les demandes familiales, n’ont jamais été transférés à Reims.

 

 

 

Pourquoi Raoul Villain fut acquitté

 

 

L'assassin de Jaurès, âgé de 29 ans en 1914, présentait une personnalité fragile. Fils cadet du greffier en chef du tribunal civil de Reims, il souffrait d'une lourde hérédité : sa mère était internée dans un asile d'aliénés et sa grand-mère paternelle atteinte de délire mystique. Après des études secondaires inachevées et des années d'incertitude, il intégra en 1906 l'École nationale d'agriculture de Rennes, où il contracta une fièvre typhoïde qui lui laissa des séquelles nerveuses. Guéri, il fit son service militaire, acheva sa scolarité, mais renonça à rester ingénieur agricole. En 1904, séduit par le catholicisme social de Marc Sangnier, il adhéra au Sillon, où il trouva la chaleur affective qui lui avait manqué. Sa dérive semble dater de la condamnation de ce mouvement par Rome, en 1910. Obsédé par l'Alsace et la Lorraine, il adhéra, fin 1913 ou début 1914, à la Ligue des jeunes amis de l'Alsace-Lorraine, qui comptait dans ses rangs des nationalistes hostiles au régime mais aussi de fermes républicains.

 

Villain savait que Jaurès s'était opposé au service militaire de trois ans et qu'il avait brandi la menace de la grève contre la guerre. Il le vit dès lors comme « la grande gueule » à abattre. Après avoir assisté à des manifestations antimilitaristes à Paris le 29 juillet 1914, sa colère contre Jaurès s'amplifia. Il acheta un Smith et Wesson et, le 31, à 21 h 40, il accomplit l'irréparable au Café du Croissant où Jaurès dînait en compagnie d'une douzaine d'amis. Il fut aussitôt arrêté.

 

Initialement prévu en 1915, son procès n'eut lieu qu'en 1919. Viviani, le président du Conseil, qui craignait pour l'union sacrée, avait prié le procureur général de la Seine de signer une ordonnance de report ; tous ses successeurs agirent de même. Au terme d'une « détention préventive » de près de cinq ans, durée inhabituelle qui scandalisa la Ligue des droits de l'homme et certains amis de Jaurès, comme la journaliste Séverine, Raoul Villain fut jugé du 24 au 29 mars 1919. Il fut défendu par maîtres Zévaès et Géraud, tandis que Paul-Boncour et Ducos de La Haille représentaient la partie civile. Le 29 mars, les jurés - qui délibéraient alors seuls - estimèrent que Villain n'était pas coupable ; le président de la cour d'assises prononça donc l'acquittement. Les commentateurs dénoncèrent l'attitude des jurés dont ils soulignèrent l'âge (tous avaient plus de 50 ans) et la qualité de bourgeois. En fait, à côté d'un rentier et d'un vétérinaire, se trouvaient un employé et plusieurs artisans.

 

Outre son hérédité, divers facteurs peuvent expliquer le verdict. Les avocats de la partie civile ignorèrent Villain et concentrèrent leur plaidoirie sur la mémoire de Jaurès. Ils firent citer plus de 40 témoins (seuls 27 se présentèrent), ce qui allongea la durée du procès, sans doute au grand dam des jurés, retenus loin de leurs affaires. Pour démontrer que les idées de Jaurès sur la patrie et l'armée avaient été déformées, Me Paul-Boncour commit l'imprudence de lire de longs extraits de L'Action française et du pamphlétaire Urbain Gohier, au risque de donner une très mauvaise image de Jaurès. Les avocats de Villain, eux, furent particulièrement habiles. Enfin, les cas de criminels acquittés n'étaient pas rares à cette époque (Henriette Caillaux avait été acquittée en 1914, Germaine Berton le sera en 1923).

 

D'après la vulgate, Louise Jaurès aurait payé les frais du procès, mais aucun document officiel ne l'atteste. Le compte rendu du procès est silencieux sur ce point et les journaux contradictoires.

 

Le verdict fut suivi de grandes manifestations de protestation. Quant à Raoul Villain, il mena une vie aventureuse et mourut assassiné à Ibiza en 1936 par un républicain ou un anarchiste espagnol selon certains, par un Français combattant en Espagne selon d'autres.

Source : Ministère de la Défense - DMPA
< Revenir à la liste des personnalités