Lettre d'information

Mauve Carbonell

Chapeau

Doctor of History, researcher at ESPE Aix-Marseille and member of the teaching team at the Master of European Studies at Aix-Marseille University, Mauve Carbonell talks about the reasons that led to the resurrection of the European idea after World War II.

Texte

When did the idea of building a united Europe appear?

The idea of a united Europe as we know it today was developed in the 20th century. Up until 1945, it was marginal in the conceptions of the world put forward by States, political parties, intellectuals and society, although we can find some hints of a European consciousness among the 18th-century humanists or with Victor Hugo, who is often quoted for having mentioned the creation of the "United States of Europe" as early as 1849. The political project for European unity has its roots in the first half of the 20th century. After World War I, Count Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi founded the Pan-Europa movement, or the Paneuropean Union, calling for peace through the creation of a federation of European States. He influenced the French Minister Aristide Briand when he proposed the creation of a European union in 1929. The project did not see the light of day, but it was still one of the first pacifistic political attempts to unite the European States. After World War II, European federalist ideas took on new meaning and a new dimension. In 1948, the Hague Congress, under the honorary presidency of Winston Churchill, brought together over 800 pro-European militants (political personalities, journalists, trade unionists, etc.) and adopted several resolutions calling for the creation of a politically and economically united Europe. Above and beyond the ideological aspirations of part of the European élites, the international political and economic context was central to the concrete implementation of these ideas in the early 1950s.

What were the main motivations behind the resurrection of the "European idea" after the war?

World War II devastated the European continent. The bloody failures of the nationalist ideology pushed beyond its limits brought new ideologies to the fore, from Christian Democracy to Communism, which were founded on democracy, brotherhood, solidarity and freedom. The union of Europe was just one aspect among others in this ideological renewal. The decisive factor in the progression of pro-European ideas, above and beyond their ideological bases, lies in the international geopolitical context after 1945. Liberated by the Allied Armies in the West and by the Red Army in the East, the European continent was quickly divided into two opposing camps. In the West, where liberal democracy (re)occupied its rightful place, the Communist threat quickly replaced the fear of the Nazis. Countering the "red menace" became a necessity. An economically strong and politically stable Western Europe was seen as indispensable for the United States, the big winner of the war, and its allies. The United States offered its financial support to rebuilding Europe (Marshall Plan, 1947) on the condition that the States united and worked together to coordinate aid distribution, giving rise to the OEEC (Organisation for European Economic Co-operation). At the end of the 1940s, it was a question in the West of uniting Europeans, even though they were just coming out of a terrible conflict, to return to prosperity, peace and stability, and to contain Communism. In this context, pro-European ideas were not popular – anti-German feelings still ran strong in many countries – and were imposed from above, with European leaders speeding up the reconciliation process through the launch of European construction in 1950.

What were its founding acts ?

At the origin of a community-based Europe lies the proposal by French Minister of Foreign Affairs, Robert Schuman, to pool French and German coal and steel production in a supranational organisation. At the end of the 1940s, several European cooperation bodies (Organisation for European Economic Co-operation, Western Union Defence Organisation, Council of Europe) and regional economic integration organisations (Benelux) were formed. But the Schuman Declaration, the resulting Treaty of Paris of 18 April 1951 and the European Coal and Steel Community that came out of it gave a conception of Europe that went beyond simple cooperation between States. The founding of the ECSC was not at the origin of European ideas or achievements – other organisations came before it, but it was indeed the founding act of the European community and of institutions that still exist today within the European Union. A few years after the formation of the ECSC, the second founding act was the creation of the European Economic Community (EEC) by the Treaty of Rome in 1957 with the goal of establishing a common market between the Member States, of which there were six.

Who were the founding fathers of Europe?

We call the "founding fathers" of Europe those political leaders who worked in favour of post-war European unity, who took part in the first major steps in European construction and who, in their respective countries and with their fellow citizens, embodied the very idea of Europe. The duo Robert Schuman – Jean Monnet were the emblematic leaders, as they were behind the ECSC. We can mention other "founding fathers": German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer, Italian Premier Alcide de Gasperi, the head of the Luxembourg government Joseph Bech, Belgian Minister and MP Paul-Henri Spaak, Dutch Minister and diplomat Johan Willem Beyen, etc. They all took part in the first stages of European construction: the ECSC and the EEC. Other personalities were later included in the European "pantheon", such as the German Walter Hallstein. The "founding fathers", a legitimate and legitimising affiliation, were often showcased by the European institutions themselves. But the human component of the history of European construction is much wider and goes beyond the six countries present at the start of European construction: members of the ECSC's High Authority, European commissioners (EEC, then EU[1]), Members of the European Parliament, Judges at the European Court of Justice, civil servants, diplomats, men and women in the community administration, etc., have been the basic building blocks of European venture through its successive expansions.

"Europe didn't happen. We ended up with war." said Robert Schuman in his speech on 9 May 1950. In what way is the idea of peace inseparable from European construction?

Peace, along with democracy, is the strongest value put forward by united Europe. In the past, the European continent had been the theatre of many wars and conflicts whose causes were territorial, economic, political and ideological. In the 20th century, the two world wars pushed human and material destruction to new heights. In 1945, the expression "never again" was taken up by all levels of society. The means for establishing lasting peace in Europe – an absolute condition for political and economic recovery – appeared to be few and far between, especially in the face of the international tensions related to the start of the Cold War; the fear of a Third World War was palpable. Starting with the Schuman Declaration, the idea of peace was put forward in European projects, even if they were mainly economic in nature: linking French and German coal and steel production, "the sinews of war" in the 20th century, would de facto prevent war from breaking out between France and Germany. Moreover, this was a way of reintegrating Germany into the concert of nations while controlling its (re)development. The European leaders involved in the process in the early 1950s emphasised the political promise of economic union: establishing peace, reconciliation, strengthening democratic Europe, a political union going all the way to a federation for some, etc.

Peace as a founding value of united Europe should, however, be analysed with care. Of course, peace between the States of Western Europe – for a long time just a small part of Europe – appeared to be ensured, but the European Union was unable to stop horrific conflicts from breaking out on the continent (wars in the former Yugoslavia in the 1990s) or on its borders (Ukraine), even today.

How was the ECSC the "first stage of the European federation"?

The Schuman Declaration and the ECSC that it brought about contained a fundamental ideological originality that help us to understand later developments in European construction. The very principals of the ECSC included abandoning part of national sovereignty in favour of the Community. Executive power was in the hands of a High Authority that was headquartered in Luxembourg, theoretically independent and in charge of decision-making, ensuring that its decisions are applied in a concern for the general welfare. The product of federalist ideas, the ECSC was, in Jean Monnet's mind, just a first step in gradual economic integration, by sector, that was to lead to a political federation. But in practice, the ECSC was quite alone in this and European construction took a very different direction after the failure of the European Defence Community project in 1954 and the ensuing change of course.

How do you explain the failure of the EDC in 1954? What were the consequences (economic integration/political integration)?

In 1950, the United States backed rearming the Federal Republic of Germany in the context of a worsening Cold War. Rearming the former enemy pure and simple was still unacceptable for France, which proposed creating a European defence system that would include Germany. In the wake of the Schuman Declaration, the Pleven Plan – named after French Prime Minister René Pleven – drawn up by Jean Monnet – was presented to the French National Assembly. The project was ambitious and was in keeping with the federalist line of the ECSC: an integrated European army headed by a European Minister of Defence. Following this proposal, there were heated debates in France and Western governments were mostly wary. The treaty signed in May 1952 created a European Defence Community (EDC) that was much less supranational than initially planned. Between the treaty's signing and the ratification vote at the National Assembly in 1954, there were constant quarrels between pro- and anti-EDCs, with the two sides being torn apart through the political debate, in the press, in intellectual circles and in society. The context changed in 1954 compared with the time at which the project and treaty were originally written: the death of Stalin and the end of the war in Korea reduced the Communist menace. French parliamentarians, starting with the Gaullists and the Communists, voted against the EDC on 30 August 1954. The project was subsequently abandoned. The main reason for this negative vote lies in the fear of resurgent German military might so soon after the war. The EDC's failure truly put a stop to European construction as initiated with the ECSC, especially as the project for a European Political Community, which was supposed to integrate the ECSC and the EDC over time, was also abandoned in 1953. In the end, the federalist orientation only really brought the ECSC project to fruition. Proposals were no longer on the agenda and the relaunch of European construction after 1955 concentrated joint efforts on the economy (the future EEC) and, to a lesser extent, energy (the future Euratom).

What were the consequences of the signature of the treaty establishing the EEC and the Euratom treaty in March 1957 in Rome?

European construction was relaunched in the mid-1950s after the failure of the EDC, taking form at the Messina interministerial conference in 1955. The conference's final resolution called for pursuing the construction of a united Europe "firstly in the economic field", through the creation of a common market. Two years later, the six ECSC countries signed a treaty establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC or Euratom). The many differences between the EEC of 1957 and the ECSC of 1951 reflect the change of course of European construction that had intervened in just a few years, now less supranational. New institutions were set up: the European Commission and the EEC Council for the executive branch, with the parliamentary Assembly and the Court of Justice being common to the three Communities. Brussels was chosen to be the main seat of community institutions. The leading economic goal of the EEC was to establish a common market based on a customs union. The Treaty of Rome implanted the principles of the free movement of goods (common market), people, service and capital in the community's genes. Lastly, common policies were targeted: a common agricultural policy (CAP) and a common transport policy, which did not succeed. History will remember that the EEC was the ancestor of today's European Union, with successive treaties reinforcing and consolidating the community structure over time, widening the European Communities' fields of action despite the Member States' reticence at delegating their sovereignty.


[1] The European Communities (the ECSC, the EEC and then the European Community, the EAEC or Euratom) did not become the "European Union" until 1992 with the Maastricht Treaty.


Auteur
The Editorial Staff

Articles of the review

Mauve Carbonell

Chapeau

Docteur en histoire, chercheur à l’ESPE d’Aix-Marseille et membre de l’équipe pédagogique du Master Etudes européennes d’Aix-Marseille Université, Mauve Carbonell revient sur les raisons qui ont présidé au renouveau de l’idée européenne au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Mauve Carbonell. © DR
Texte

Quand apparaît l’idée de construire une Europe unie ?

L’idée d’Europe unie telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui s’est développée au XXe siècle. Jusqu’en 1945, elle est marginale dans les conceptions du monde véhiculées par les États, les partis politiques, les intellectuels, la société, même si on trouve quelques prémices de conscience européenne chez les humanistes du XVIIIe siècle ou chez Victor Hugo, souvent cité pour avoir mentionné dès 1849 la création des "États-Unis d’Europe". Le projet politique d’unité européenne s’enracine dans la première moitié du XXe siècle. Le comte Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi fonde, au lendemain de la Première Guerre mondiale, le mouvement Pan-Europe, ou Union paneuropéenne, prônant la paix par la création d’une fédération des États d’Europe. Il influence le ministre français Aristide Briand lorsque ce dernier propose la création d’une union européenne en 1929. Le projet ne voit pas le jour mais reste comme l’une des premières tentatives politiques pacifiques d’unir les États européens. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les idées fédéralistes européennes prennent une signification et une ampleur nouvelles. Le Congrès de La Haye en 1948, sous la présidence d’honneur de Winston Churchill, voit réunis plus de 800 militants pro-européens (personnalités politiques, journalistes, syndicalistes…) et adopte plusieurs résolutions appelant à la création d’une Europe unie économiquement et politiquement. Au-delà des aspirations idéologiques d’une partie des élites européennes, le contexte économique et politique international est central dans la concrétisation de ces idées au début des années 1950.

Quelles sont les principales motivations qui expliquent le renouveau de " l’idée européenne" après-guerre ?

La Seconde Guerre mondiale a dévasté le continent européen. L’échec sanglant de l’idéologie nationaliste poussée à son paroxysme fait passer au premier plan des idéologies renouvelées, de la démocratie-chrétienne au communisme, fondées sur la démocratie, la fraternité, la solidarité, la liberté. L’union de l’Europe n’est qu’un aspect parmi d’autres de ce renouveau idéologique. L’élément déterminant dans la progression des idées pro-européennes, au-delà de leurs bases idéologiques, réside dans le contexte géopolitique international d’après 1945. Libéré à l’Ouest par les armées alliées et à l’Est par l’Armée rouge, le continent européen est très rapidement coupé en deux camps opposés. A l’Ouest, où la démocratie libérale se (re)met en place, la menace communiste a très vite remplacé la crainte des Nazis. Faire barrage au "péril rouge" devient une nécessité. Une Europe occidentale forte économiquement et stable politiquement apparaît comme indispensable pour les États-Unis, grands vainqueurs de la guerre, et leurs alliés. Les États-Unis proposent leur soutien financier pour la reconstruction de l’Europe (Plan Marshall, 1947) à condition que les États s’unissent, travaillent ensemble pour coordonner la répartition de l’aide, donnant naissance à l’OECE (Organisation européenne de coopération économique). A la fin des années 1940, il s’agit donc à l’Ouest d’unir les Européens, quand bien même ils sortent d’un conflit terrible, pour retrouver la prospérité, la paix, la stabilité et endiguer le communisme. Dans ce contexte, les idées pro-européennes ne sont pas populaires – le ressentiment antiallemand est encore vif dans de nombreux pays – et s’imposent par le haut, les dirigeants européens accélérant le processus de réconciliation par le lancement de la construction européenne en 1950.

Quels en sont les actes fondateurs ?

À l’origine de l’Europe communautaire se trouve la proposition du ministre français des Affaires étrangères, Robert Schuman, de mettre en commun les productions de charbon et d’acier française et allemande dans une organisation supranationale. A la fin des années 1940, plusieurs organismes de coopération européenne (Organisation européenne de coopération économique, Union occidentale, Conseil de l’Europe) ou d’intégration économique régionale (Benelux) voient le jour. Mais la déclaration Schuman, le traité de Paris qui en découle le 18 avril 1951 et la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l’acier qui en est issue portent la marque d’une conception de l’Europe qui va au-delà de la simple coopération entre États. La naissance de la CECA n’est pas à l’origine des idées ou des réalisations européennes – d’autres organismes la précèdent, mais est bel et bien l’acte fondateur de l’Europe communautaire et des institutions toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui au sein de l’Union européenne. Quelques années après la mise en place de la CECA, le deuxième acte fondateur est la création de la Communauté économique européenne (CEE) par le Traité de Rome en 1957 ayant pour objectif l’instauration d’un marché commun entre les États membres, au nombre de six.

Qui sont les pères fondateurs de l’Europe ?

On appelle les "pères fondateurs" de l’Europe les dirigeants politiques ayant œuvré en faveur de l’unité européenne après-guerre, ayant participé aux premières grandes étapes de la construction européenne et incarnant, dans leurs pays respectifs et auprès de leurs concitoyens, l’idée même d’Europe. Le tandem Robert Schuman – Jean Monnet en est la tête de proue pour être à l’origine de la CECA. Citons les autres "pères fondateurs" : le chancelier allemand Konrad Adenauer, le président du Conseil des ministres italien Alcide de Gasperi, le chef de gouvernement luxembourgeois Joseph Bech, le ministre et parlementaire belge Paul-Henri Spaak, le ministre et diplomate néerlandais Johan Willem Beyen… Tous ont participé aux premières étapes de la construction européenne : CECA et CEE. Ensuite, sont intégrés au "panthéon" de l’Europe d’autres personnalités, tel l’Allemand Walter Hallstein. Les "pères fondateurs", filiation légitime et légitimante, sont souvent mis en avant par les institutions européennes elles-mêmes. Mais la composante humaine de l’histoire de la construction européenne est bien plus large et dépasse les six pays présents aux débuts de la construction européenne : membres de la Haute Autorité de la CECA, commissaires européens (CEE puis EU[1]), (CEE puis UE[1]), députés au Parlement européen, juges à la Cour de justice européenne, fonctionnaires, diplomates, hommes et femmes de l’administration communautaire… sont à la base de l’édifice européen au fil des élargissements successifs.

"L’Europe n’a pas été faite. Nous avons eu la guerre" a dit Robert Schuman dans son discours du 9 mai 1950. En quoi l’idée de paix est-elle indissociable de la construction européenne ?

La paix, avec la démocratie, est la valeur la plus forte portée par l’Europe unie. Le continent européen fut par le passé le théâtre de nombreux guerres et conflits, que les causes furent territoriales, économiques, politiques, idéologiques. Au XXe siècle, les deux guerres mondiales ont abouti à un paroxysme dans les destructions humaines et matérielles jamais atteint jusqu’alors. En 1945, le "plus jamais ça" est de mise dans toutes les couches de la société. Les moyens d’établir une paix durable en Europe – condition absolue pour un redressement économique et politique – apparaissent peu nombreux face aux tensions internationales liées au début de la Guerre froide . la crainte d’une Troisième guerre mondiale est alors vive. Dès la déclaration Schuman, l’idée de paix est avancée dans les projets européens, même si leur nature est avant tout économique : lier les productions françaises et allemandes de charbon et d’acier, "nerfs de la guerre" au XXe siècle, empêchera de facto toute guerre entre la France et l’Allemagne. Par ailleurs, il s’agit là d’une façon de réintégrer l’Allemagne dans le concert des nations tout en contrôlant son (re)développement. Les dirigeants européens impliqués dans le processus au début des années 1950 mettent en avant les promesses politiques de l’union économique : établissement de la paix, réconciliation, renforcement de l’Europe démocratique, union politique allant jusqu’à une fédération pour certains…

La paix comme valeur fondatrice de l’Europe unie doit cependant être analysée prudemment. Certes, la paix entre les États de l’Europe occidentale – pendant longtemps une petite partie de l’Europe donc – semble acquise mais l’Union européenne n’a pas su empêcher des conflits terribles d’éclater sur le continent (guerres en ex-Yougoslavie dans les années 1990) ou en ses marges (Ukraine), même de nos jours.

En quoi la CECA fut-elle la "première étape de la fédération européenne" ?

La déclaration Schuman et la CECA qui en est issue portent en elle une originalité idéologique fondamentale qui permet de comprendre les évolutions ultérieures de la construction européenne. Dans les principes même de la CECA est inscrit l’abandon d’une part de la souveraineté nationale au profit de la Communauté. Le pouvoir exécutif est dans les mains d’une Haute Autorité, siégeant à Luxembourg, théoriquement indépendante et chargée de prendre des décisions, de les faire appliquer dans le souci du bien commun. Fruit des idées fédéralistes, la CECA ne constituait dans l’esprit de Jean Monnet que la première étape d’une intégration économique graduelle, par secteurs, devant aboutir à une fédération politique. Mais dans les faits, la CECA est restée bien seule dans cette voie et la construction européenne prend une direction sensiblement différente suite à l’échec du projet de Communauté européenne de défense en 1954 et au changement de cap qui a suivi.

Comment expliquer l’échec de la CED en 1954 ? quelles en sont les conséquences (intégration économique/intégration politique) ?

En 1950, les États-Unis appuient le réarmement de République fédérale d’Allemagne dans un contexte de Guerre froide grandissant. Un réarmement pur et simple de l’ennemi d’hier est alors inacceptable pour la France, qui propose la création d’un système européen de défense qui engloberait l’Allemagne. Dans la foulée de la déclaration Schuman, le plan Pleven – du nom du président du Conseil René Pleven –, élaboré par Jean Monnet, est présenté à l’Assemblée nationale. Le projet est ambitieux et se situe dans la ligne fédéraliste de la CECA : une armée européenne intégrée dirigée par un ministre européen de la Défense. A la suite de cette proposition, les débats sont houleux en France et les gouvernements occidentaux sont dans l’ensemble méfiants. Le traité signé en mai 1952 crée une Communauté européenne de défense beaucoup moins supranationale que prévu initialement. Entre la signature du traité et le vote de ratification à l’Assemblée nationale en 1954, les querelles sont incessantes entre cédistes et anticédistes, les deux camps se déchirant à travers le débat politique, dans la presse, dans les milieux intellectuels, dans la société. Le contexte a changé en 1954 par rapport au moment de la rédaction du projet et du traité : la mort de Staline et la fin de la guerre de Corée font s’éloigner la menace communiste. Les députés français, gaullistes et communistes en tête, votent le 30 août 1954 contre la CED. Le projet est abandonné dans la foulée. La principale raison à ce vote négatif réside dans la crainte de voir ressurgir la puissance militaire allemande, si peu d’années après la guerre. L’échec de la CED est un réel coup d’arrêt pour la construction européenne telle qu’initiée avec la CECA d’autant plus qu’a été également abandonné en 1953 le projet de Communauté politique européenne, laquelle devait à terme intégrer la CECA et la CED. Au final, de l’orientation fédéraliste, seul le projet CECA a abouti. Les propositions supranationales ne sont plus à l’ordre du jour et la relance de la construction européenne après 1955 concentre les efforts communs sur l’économie (future CEE) et, dans une moindre mesure, l’énergie (future Euratom).

Quels sont les conséquences de la signature du traité instituant la CEE et du traité Euratom en mars 1957 à Rome ?

La relance de la construction européenne au milieu des années 1950, après l’échec de la CED, se concrétise lors de la conférence interministérielle de Messine en 1955. La résolution finale de la conférence prévoit de poursuivre la construction de l’Europe unie "d’abord dans le domaine économique" par la création d’un marché commun. Deux ans plus tard est signé à Rome entre les six pays de la CECA le traité instituant la Communauté européenne économique (CEE) et la Communauté européenne de l’énergie atomique (CEEA ou Euratom). Entre la CEE de 1957 et la CECA de 1951, de nombreuses différences reflètent le changement de cap de la construction européenne intervenu en quelques années, moins supranational. De nouvelles institutions sont créées : la Commission européenne et le Conseil de la CEE pour le pouvoir exécutif - l‘Assemblée parlementaire et la Cour de justice étant communes aux trois Communautés. Bruxelles est choisie pour être le siège principal des institutions communautaires. L’objectif économique premier de la CEE est d’établir un marché commun, basé sur une union douanière. Le traité de Rome inscrit dans les gènes communautaires les principes de libre circulation des marchandises (marché commun), des personnes, des services, des capitaux. Enfin, des politiques communes sont visées : politique agricole commune (PAC) et politique commune des transports, laquelle sera un échec. L’histoire retient que la CEE est l’ancêtre de l’Union européenne d’aujourd’hui, les traités successifs venus entre-temps renforcer et consolider l’édifice communautaire, élargissant les champs d’action des Communautés européennes malgré les réticences des Etats à déléguer leur souveraineté.

 


[1] Les Communautés européennes (CECA, CEE puis Communauté européenne, CEEA ou Euratom) ne deviennent "Union européenne" qu’en 1992 avec le traité de Maastricht.

Auteur
La rédaction

Articles de la revue