Navarrenx

Share:

Lying at the heart of the Atlantic Pyrenees southwest of the Béarn plain, Navarrenx has been a fortified town since 1316. It was the first fortified town in what would become the Kingdom of France...

A salmon capital on the streets of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, Navarrenx was also the first fortified town in what would become the Kingdom of France. Lying at the heart of the Atlantic Pyrenees southwest of the Béarn plain, Navarrenx has been a fortified town since 1316. After the assault by Spanish troops led by Charles Quint who took over the city in 1523, Henri II d'Albret, the king of Navarre, decided to reinforce defences on the right bank of the mountain stream of Oloron. From 1538 to 1546, fortification works were carried out under the direction of Béarn master builders François Girard and Arnaud de Mirassor, as per the design of Italian architectural engineer Fabricio Siciliano.

  • The powder magazine

    The powder magazine. Photo: Guillaume Roumeguère

  • The bastion of the bell as seen from the Saint-Antoine gate

    The bastion of the bell as seen from the Saint-Antoine gate. Photo: Guillaume Roumeguère

  • View of the Saint-Antoine entrance

    View of the Saint-Antoine entrance. Photo: Guillaume Roumeguère

Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA

Less than a century before the birth of Vauban, Navarrenx was thus transformed into a modern fortified town "Italian-style", based on the citadel of Lucas in Tuscany. Later, a powder magazine would be built that would store up to 25000 pounds of gunpowder: a square-shaped construction little more than nine metres long, it was originally surrounded by a wall, part of which was visible aboveground. While this wall has since disappeared, the thickness of this wall (1.4m) and the lowness of the building (6m) prevented it from receiving direct hits from enemy forces.
The fortifications were tried and tested during religious wars under the reign of Jeanne of Albret, when the garrison under the command of the Baron of Arros successfully resisted a three-month siege in 1568. The town was re-equipped in the XVIII century, in particular with the Saint-Antoine gate built by engineer De Salmon on the ruins of an old church. Facing Spain, the gate owed its name to a chapel that welcomed pilgrims and was destroyed during the construction of the ramparts. With three massive arcades, the town was accessed via a drawbridge, the passage of the chains of which can still be seen today. In the XIX century, work on road and rail infrastructure led to the destruction of the old Saint-Germain gate which faced France.
Over the centuries, the fortified wall of Navarrenx has retained its main features. It outlines a reinforced firing range at each of its five corners with a bastion. Two of the five are fitted with anti-mine galleries, while a glacis and ground structures reinforce the town to the east, ahead of the moat. Several barracks have been built inside the walls to house the garrison, one of which nowadays is used as the tourist information office. From the top of the ramparts (for example, from the crenellation platform overhanging the Saint-Antoine gate), there is a pleasant view of the Pyrenees and, below, the arches of the bridge of Navarrenx (XIII century).
Visits There is free access to the 1818-metre perimeter of the town. The walls of the city contain bilingual (French-English) descriptive plaques that trace the history of each structure. Information on guided visits can be obtained from the Navarrenx district tourist office. How to get there 80 km from Bayonne via Peyrehoarde and Escos on the A 64/E 80 (exit no. 6 Peyrehoarde), then the D 936 and D 115. 40 km from Pau via Tarsacq, Noguères and Mourenx along the D 2, the D 281 then the D 111. 60 km from Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port along the D 933 towards Sauveterre-de-Béarn, then the D 936. 6 km from Gurs along the D 947 and D 936. Canton of Navarrenx Tourist Office L'Arsenal - Rue Saint-Germain 64190 Navarrenx Tel.: 05.59.66.14.93 Fax: 05.59.66.54.80 e-mail : navarrenx@tourisme-bearn-gaves.fr

Share:

Navarrenx

Partager :

Au coeur des Pyrénées-atlantiques, Navarrenx s'éleve dès 1316 au rang de bastide. Elle est la première cité bastionnée sur le sol du futur Royaume de France...

 

Capitale de la pêche au saumon, ville étape sur les chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle, Navarrenx est également la première cité bastionnée sur le sol du futur Royaume de France. Au coeur des Pyrénées-atlantiques, au sud-ouest de la plaine béarnaise, Navarrenx est élevée dès 1316 au rang de bastide. Après l'assaut des troupes espagnoles de Charles Quint qui s'emparent de la ville en 1523, Henri II d'Albret, roi de Navarre, décide de renforcer la protection de la rive droite du gave d'Oloron. De 1538 à 1546, des travaux de fortification sont menés par les maîtres maçons béarnais François Girard et Arnaud de Mirassor, selon des plans conçus par l'ingénieur architecte italien Fabricio Siciliano.

  • La poudrière

    La poudrière. Photo Guillaume Roumeguère

  • Le bastion de la clochette vu depuis la porte Saint-Antoine

    Le bastion de la clochette vu depuis la porte Saint-Antoine. Photo Guillaume Roumeguère

  • Vue sur l'entrée Saint-Antoine

    Vue sur l'entrée Saint-Antoine. Photo Guillaume Roumeguère

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA

 

Moins d'un siècle avant la naissance de Vauban, Navarrenx est ainsi transformée en place forte moderne bastionnée "à l'italienne", sur le modèle de la citadelle de Lucas en Toscane. Dans un second temps, l'élévation d'une poudrière permet de stocker jusqu'à 25000 livres de poudre : construction carrée d'un peu plus de neuf mètres de côté, elle est ceinturée à l'origine par un mur dont une partie du tracé reste visible au sol. Cette enceinte aujourd'hui disparue, l'épaisseur des murs (1,4m), et la faible hauteur du bâtiment (6 m) devaient empêcher les tirs directs des assaillants.


Les fortifications sont éprouvées dès le règne de Jeanne d'Albret lors des guerres de religion, où la garnison commandée par le baron d'Arros résiste victorieusement à un siège de trois mois, en 1568. La place est à nouveau aménagée au XVIIIème siècle, notamment par la construction de la porte Saint-Antoine édifiée par l'ingénieur De Salmon sur les ruines d'une ancienne église. Orientée vers l'Espagne, elle doit son nom à une chapelle accueillant les pèlerins, détruite lors de la construction des remparts. Dotée de trois arcades massives, elle est commandée par un pont-levis, dont on peut encore observer le passage des chaînes. Au XIXème siècle, des travaux de voirie conduisent à la destruction de l'ancienne porte Saint-Germain, orientée vers la France.


L'enceinte fortifiée de Navarrenx a conservé au fil des siècles l'essentiel de son aspect. Elle dessine un polygone renforcé à chacun de ses cinq angles par un bastion. Deux sur cinq sont pourvus de galeries à contremine, tandis qu'un glacis et des ouvrages de terre renforcent la place à l'est, en avant du fossé. Plusieurs casernes ont été élevées à l'intérieur de l'enceinte pour installer la garnison, l'une d'entre elles accueillant désormais le syndicat d'initiative. Du haut des remparts, par exemple depuis la plate-forme à créneaux surplombant la porte Saint-Antoine, une agréable vue s'offre aux regards sur la chaîne pyrénéenne et, en contrebas, sur les arches du pont de Navarrenx (XIIIème siècle).

 

Navarrenx

 

Office du tourisme de Navarrenx L'Arsenal

Rue Saint-Germain 64190 Navarrenx

tél. 05.59.66.14.93

fax. 05.59.66.54.80

e-mail : navarrenx@tourisme-bearn-gaves.fr

 


Visites

Les 1818 mètres de pourtour de la place sont libres d'accès. Sur les murs de la ville sont apposés des plaques signalétiques bilingues (français-anglais) retraçant l'historique de chaque bâtiment. Les renseignements pour les visites guidées peuvent être obtenus auprès de l'office de tourisme intercommunal de Navarrenx

 

Accès A 80 km de Bayonne via Peyrehoarde et Escos par l'A 64/E 80 (sortie n° 6 Peyrehoarde), puis la D 936 et la D 115.

A 40 km de Pau via Tarsacq, Noguères, et Mourenx, par la D 2, la D 281, puis la D 111. A 60 km de Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port par la D 933 en direction de Sauveterre-de-Béarn, puis la D 936.

A 6 km de Gurs par la D 947 et la D 936.

 

site portail commun aux quatre cantons du Béarn des Gaves

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

Partager :