Salses Castle

Le château de Salses. Source : http://www.leguide66.com/

Château de Salses sits between two natural obstacles, the foothills of the Corbières Mountains and the seaside ponds.

In the Pyrénées Orientales département, the gateway to Catalonia, Château de Salses sits between two natural obstacles: the foothills of the Corbières Mountains and the seaside ponds.

By order of Ferdinand the Catholic, King of Aragon, the fortress was built between 1497 and 1504 by Commander Ramiro Lopez, the King’s Grand Artilleryman, to block France’s access to Roussillon. Given its strategic location on a natural border, it was destined to see combat and came under siege in 1503, before it was even finished. Taken and retaken during the Franco-Spanish campaigns, Château de Salses, along with Roussillon, definitively became part of the Kingdom of France with the Treaty of the Pyrenees in 1659.

As it then lay far from the border, it had less strategic interest and the only reason it was not destroyed was that it would have cost too much. The fortress was later used as an army barracks for transiting troops, then as a storehouse for food and ammunition. Classified as a historical monument in 1886, it was handed over to the Ministry of Culture in 1930, which restored it and opened it to the public.


Château de Salses has many of the attributes of a medieval castle. It has kept the round stone towers at the ends of the long, continuous curtain walls, and has a keep to hold the fortress’s vital reserves: the arsenal and food stocks. And yet, notably after the adjustments made after the first siege in 1503, it should be considered as a transitional building, the forerunner of the bastion.

At the end of the 15th century, the development of metal cannonballs required changes to the military fortification. Indeed, the medieval castle, which could resist fragile stone cannonballs, became vulnerable with the appearance of cast iron cannonballs.

Château de Salses illustrates the architectural solutions developed to deal with the devastating effects of metal cannonballs. To avoid enemy fire as much as possible, the fortification’s defences are deeply embedded in the ground, sheltered deep in the ditch. To the southwest and northwest of the fortress, two promontories set in front of the circular constructions seek to keep the enemy at a distance by eliminating blind spots: they were the precursors to the geometrical shapes of modern bastions. Attacks on the fortress itself are delayed by the external works; the curtain walls are no longer crenellated and now have cannon embrasures. Characterised by its thick walls, wide moats, imposing external works, artillery installations on wide platforms, Château de Salses illustrates the necessary adaptation of military architecture to developments in the art of warfare.


 

Salses Fortress

66600 SALSES-LE-CHÂTEAU.

tel.: +33 (0)4 68 38 60 13.

fax: +33 (0)4 68 38 69 85.
 

Open: from 1 June to 30 September, from 9 am to 7 pm. From 1 October to 31 May, from 10 am to 12.15 pm and from 2 pm to 5 pm.

 

Closed on 1 January, 1 May, 1 November, 11 November and 25 December.

Permanent exhibition. Free visits of the exterior. Guided tours of the fortress.

Access from Béziers: on the A9 motorway toward Perpignan, take exit No. 40, then the D 627 and N 9 roads toward Perpignan. From Perpignan: take the N 9 toward Narbonne.
 

Partially accessible to disabled visitors.
 

  • Chateau de Salses. Photo ECPAd

  • Chateau de Salses. Photo ECPAd

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address

    66600
    Salses-le-Château
    tél. 04 68 38 60 13.Fax. 04 68 38 69 85.

    Weekly opening hours

    Du 1er juin au 30 septembre de 9h à 19 h. Du 1er octobre au 31 mai de 10h à 12h15 et de 14h à 17h. Visites libres des extérieurs. Visites commentées de la forteresse.

    Fermetures annuelles

    Fermé les 1er janvier, 1er mai, 1er novembre, 11 novembre et 25 décembre.

    Bereiten Sie Ihren Aufenthalt vor

    Read more

Château de Salses

Le château de Salses. Source : http://www.leguide66.com/

Le château de Salses est cerné entre deux obstacles naturels, les derniers monts des Corbières et les étangs contigus à la mer.

Dans le département des Pyrénées-Orientales, aux portes du pays catalan, le château de Salses est cerné entre deux obstacles naturels : les derniers monts des Corbières et les étangs contigus à la mer.

 

Sur ordre de Ferdinand le catholique, roi d'Aragon, la forteresse est construite de 1497 à 1504 par le commandeur Ramiro Lopez, grand artilleur du Roi, dans le but d'interdire l'accès du Roussillon à la France. Du fait de sa position stratégique sur une frontière naturelle, elle est vouée à l'épreuve du combat, et est assiégée en 1503, avant même son achèvement. Pris et repris au fil des campagnes franco-espagnoles, le château de Salses est définitivement rattaché avec le Roussillon au Royaume de France par le traité des Pyrénées en 1659.

 

Dès lors, à l'écart de la frontière, son intérêt stratégique est moindre, et il n'échappe à la destruction qu'en raison du coût d'une telle opération. Par la suite, la forteresse est utilisée comme une caserne pour accueillir des troupes de passage, puis sert d'entrepôt de vivres et de munitions. Classée monument historique en 1886, elle est cédée en 1930 au ministère de la culture qui la restaure, et l'ouvre au public.

 


Le château de Salses possède de nombreux attributs propres au château médiéval. Il conserve l'usage de tours cylindriques en pierre encadrant de longues courtines continues, et abrite un donjon accueillant les réserves vitales de la place : l'arsenal, et les réserves alimentaires. Cependant, et surtout après les réaménagements effectués à la suite du premier siège de 1503, il doit être considéré comme un ouvrage de transition, qui conduira au bastion.

À la fin du XVème siècle, le développement de l'artillerie à boulet métallique commande l'évolution de la fortification militaire. En effet, le château médiéval, capable de résister au fragile boulet de pierre, devient vulnérable avec l'apparition du canon à boulet de fonte.

 

Le château de Salses illustre les solutions architecturales développées pour contrer les redoutables effets du boulet métallique. Pour se dérober le plus possible aux tirs adverses, les défenses de la fortification sont enfoncées dans le sol, à l'abri de la profondeur du fossé. Au sud-ouest et au nord-ouest de la forteresse, deux éperons, placés à l'avant de constructions circulaires, visent à éloigner l'assaillant en supprimant les angles morts : ils préfigurent les formes géométriques des bastions modernes. L'assaut de la forteresse elle-même est retardé par des ouvrages extérieurs ; les courtines ne sont plus crénelées, et présentent désormais des embrasures à canon. Caractérisé par l'épaisseur de ses murs, l'élargissement des douves, l'importance des ouvrages extérieurs, l'installation de l'artillerie sur de larges plate-formes, le château de Salses illustre la nécessaire adaptation de l'architecture militaire aux avatars de l'art de la guerre.

 


Forteresse de Salses

66600 SALSES-LE-CHÂTEAU.

tél. 04 68 38 60 13.

fax. 04 68 38 69 85.

 

Ouverture : Du 1er juin au 30 septembre de 9h à 19 h. Du 1er octobre au 31 mai de 10h à 12h15 et de 14h à 17h.

 

Fermé les 1er janvier, 1er mai, 1er novembre, 11 novembre et 25 décembre.

 

Exposition permanente. Visites libres des extérieurs. Visites commentées de la forteresse.

 

Accès De Béziers : A 9 vers Perpignan, sortie n° 40, puis D 627 et N 9 vers Perpignan. De Perpignan : N 9 vers Narbonne.

 

Accessibilité partielle aux handicapés.

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

 

  • Chateau de Salses. Photo ECPAd

  • Chateau de Salses. Photo ECPAd

  • > Retourner aux résultats

    Infos pratiques

    Adresse

    66600
    Salses-le-Château
    tél. 04 68 38 60 13.Fax. 04 68 38 69 85.

    Horaires d'ouverture hebdomadaires

    Du 1er juin au 30 septembre de 9h à 19 h. Du 1er octobre au 31 mai de 10h à 12h15 et de 14h à 17h. Visites libres des extérieurs. Visites commentées de la forteresse.

    Fermetures annuelles

    Fermé les 1er janvier, 1er mai, 1er novembre, 11 novembre et 25 décembre.

    Préparez votre séjour

    En savoir Plus