Vitrine du Musée de la résistance. Source : http://maquisardsdefrance.jeun.fr/
The Joseph Lhoménède Museum in Frugières-le-Pin presents the history of the resistance movement in Auvergne.
The Joseph Lhoménède Museum of the Resistance, Deportation and the Second World War in Frugières-le-Pin gives visitors and researchers the opportunity to learn and explore the history of the resistance movement in Auvergne, which started in late June 1940 and continued until May 1944.
The museum, a private initiative of Mr Capelani and a number of local resistance veterans, offers 120 metres of display cases exhibiting period documents, tracts, over 300 posters, photos, parachute and sabotage equipment and over 100 mannequins dressed in the uniforms worn by the allied armies. The collection campaigns helped to find 42 military vehicles, concentration camp wagons as well as documentation on the camp in Riom.
The museum also owns an impressive collection of archives, mostly from private donations. An ideal resource for researchers to see letters from Auschwitz, reports by Eugène Martre, war correspondent in Aurillac for Cantal, and even objects once owned by French politician Jean Zay.
Musée de la Résistance, de la Déportation et de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale (Museum of the Resistance, Deportation and the Second World War)
43230 Frugières-le-Pin, France
Tel: +33 (0)4 71 76 42 15
Getting there 10 miles (15 km) east of Frugières-le-Pin
Opening times Open every day including weekends and public holidays, from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. from November to May and from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. from June to October. Group visits by appointment.
Admission Adults and children: €4, Groups (over 20): €3, School groups: €2
Intérieure du musée. Source : www.ot-brioude.fr