Georges Picquart

1854 - 1914

 Georges Picquart was born in Geudertheim, Alsace, in 1854. A bright student of the Lycée Impérial, in Strasbourg, his schooling was interrupted when war broke out with Prussia, in 1870. Following the annexation of Alsace-Moselle, his family fled to Versailles. The trauma of defeat and the effect of being uprooted doubtless played a part in his decision to pursue a military career, which got off to a very promising start: fifth in his year group, he graduated with flying colours from the École Spéciale Militaire de Saint-Cyr. A brilliant officer committed to republican values, Picquart rose rapidly through the ranks. A highly cultured polyglot, fluent in six languages, he was a regular frequenter of salons, museums and theatres. A music lover, he became a friend of Gustav Mahler, travelling across Europe to attend concerts conducted by him. After a number of campaigns in Algeria and Tonkin (a former French protectorate in northern Vietnam), in 1893 he joined the staff of General Galliffet. It was in this role that he became involved, without playing a central part, in the investigation into Captain Dreyfus, accused of spying for Germany. Alfred Dreyfus was tried behind closed doors by a council of war which, at the end of 1894, stripped him of his rank and deported him for life to French Guiana.

 

 In July 1895, Georges Picquart replaced Colonel Sandherr as head of counter-espionage in what was known as the “Statistics Section” of the Deuxième Bureau.  In other words, he became head of the French intelligence service. Meanwhile, he taught topography at the École Supérieure de Guerre. A man of few words who respected military order, he was driven by a desire to modernise the army for the sake of technical efficiency. On 6 April 1896, he became the youngest lieutenant-colonel. Trusted by his superiors, his appraisals commended his “friendly, likeable” character, his “very sound” judgment, his “perfect” manners, his “very wide-ranging” education, and his “superior” intelligence. He unquestionably represented the future of the French army.

 

Everything was to change a year later.

 

In March 1896, Picquart discovered, in a bundle of papers from the German Embassy, a document that would lead to the reopening of the Dreyfus case. In Picquart’s opinion, this sheet of paper - the famous petit bleu - taken in conjunction with the document unjustly attributed to Dreyfus at his trial, provided irrefutable evidence of the innocence of the Devil’s Island deportee. His mind made up, Picquart undertook with absolute determination to see that the truth prevailed. This sense of a duty of truth, this concept of justice which he set above all other considerations - including an uncertain higher interest of the army - were decisive traits in Picquart’s personality. Relaunching his predecessor’s inquiry, Picquart soon became convinced of Dreyfus’s innocence and of the culpability of Ferdinand Esterhazy. As his conclusions were not in line with the official version of the affair, Picquart’s career came to an abrupt halt: sacked from his post as intelligence chief in October 1896, he was sent on an open-ended tour of inspection around France, followed by Algeria and Tunisia, in a sector so exposed that, on 2 April 1897, feeling in danger, he drew up his will.

 

But Georges Picquart was unyielding in his quest for the truth, and the humiliations he suffered only made him more determined to seek justice. He aligned himself increasingly with Dreyfus’s supporters, the dreyfusards, which led him in turn to be a target of accusations. It should be noted that war minister General Mercier was himself a fierce anti-dreyfusard. The fact that the French President, Félix Faure, was also hostile to any revision of the Dreyfus case helps give a clearer idea of Picquart’s tenacity. It was because of that tenacity that he was discharged - i.e. dismissed - from the army in February 1898, then arrested and imprisoned for 11 months, from 13 July 1898 to 9 June 1899, for passing on the evidence he had in support of Dreyfus’s innocence to a politician, Auguste Scheurer-Kestner.

 

A hero for the dreyfusards and a traitor for their adversaries, Picquart played a key role in the Rennes case of 1899, which ended with Dreyfus’s pardon and amnesty. But Picquart, who now had no more than his army discharge pension to live on, did not abandon his fight for the truth: the verdict, which spared the army’s honour without restoring his own, made him sick to the heart. The uncompromising Picquart was ardently opposed to all those he considered too hasty in forgetting the past. On his journey through the wilderness, his only goal was to get his name cleared. Dreyfus must be retried in order for his innocence to at last be recognised; that alone could both erase the injustice done to the degraded captain and make amends for the damage inflicted on the honour and career of the discharged lieutenant-colonel. Picquart’s quest for truth therefore caused his own destiny to become tied to that of Dreyfus.

 On 12 July 1906, the French court of appeal annulled the Rennes judgment, recognising Dreyfus’s innocence and clearing his name. As for Picquart, it was not a case of getting his name cleared, because he had not been convicted. But his military career had come to an abrupt end, and he was determined to obtain recompense. On 13 July 1906, two bills were tabled, one concerning Dreyfus’s reinstatement, the other Picquart’s. Both were passed with a very large majority, in the National Assembly and the Senate. The text of the bill read as follows:

The proclamation of Dreyfus’s innocence shows that the efforts made loyally and courageously since 1896 by Lieutenant-Colonel Picquart, at the risk of ruining his career irrevocably, to ensure that truth prevailed, were justified. This senior officer, discharged on 26 February 1898, can only be reinstated into the ranks of the military by law. We request, in addition, that you permanently erase the effects of his discharge, promote him to the rank of brigadier, to which 64 officers of the rank of lieutenant-colonel with the same or fewer years of service than he have been appointed, and backdate his appointment to 10 July 1903, the day before the longest-serving of these officers was promoted.

 

Justice had been done for Picquart. His honour restored, he progressed once more in his career. Now a brigadier with three retroactive years of service, he was promoted to major-general on 23 October 1906. Meanwhile, the elections brought victory for Georges Clemenceau’s radicals, the very same Georges Clemenceau who had previously worked for L’Aurore, the daily that published ‘J’accuse... !’, Émile Zola’s open letter in support of Alfred Dreyfus. France’s “number-one cop” became prime minister. He knew the Alsatian general well, having witness his strength of character, independence of spirit and courage. To everyone’s astonishment, beginning with that of Picquart himself, he made him his Minister of War.

 

The former outlaw knew more than anyone else how much the Dreyfus Affair had left marks and divisions within the army. Once in government, he strove to rebuild it more democratically. The new minister made frequent tours on the ground, showing a concern for improving the lives of the ordinary troops through advances in the areas of lodging, food, hygiene, transport and employment conditions. He intended to show the country that the government cared about its soldiers. He improved soldier training and urged Foch and Joffre to modernise the military academies. He worked to reconcile the army with itself and with the nation. His actions eased political tensions and asserted the core values of the Republic. Finally, the guiding principle of his work as war minister was the desire to modernise military hardware, in particular artillery. In late July 1909, with the fall of the Clemenceau government, it was almost with relief that Major-General Picquart left his ministerial functions, despite a more than respectable administration.

 

After a few months’ freedom which he spent travelling, Picquart was given a command role in February 1910. At the age of 56, he became - what was a constant throughout his career - the youngest commander of an army corps, when he took command of the 2nd Army Corps, stationed at Amiens.

 

On 14 January 1914, as every day, Georges Picquart set out on horseback. It was 7.30 am, bitterly cold, and the ground had been frozen solid for several days. He mounted Voltigeur, a notoriously agitated horse, accompanied by his flag-bearer. At full trot along a mud track between Dury and Saint-Fuscien, Voltigeur stumbled, then kicked. His rider lost hold of the reins and was thrown to the ground, landing on his head. He got up, quite composed despite considerable bleeding, and, refusing to rest, got back on the horse and set off for Amiens. On arrival at his headquarters, he alighted from his horse and, as usual, did not leave without first giving him a sugar cube. That day and the next, contrary to the advice of his doctor, friends and family, the general was at his post. But his condition deteriorated: the violent fall had caused facial swelling, which got worse, bringing on ever more severe fits of breathlessness. The last one was fatal. Georges Picquart died on the morning of 19 January 1914. He was not yet 60.

 

The portrait of Georges Picquart by Eugène Carrière is reproduced by kind permission of the Musée Eugène Carrière.

< Back to the list of personalities

Georges Picquart

1854 - 1914
Eugène Carrière, portrait du "Héros de l'Affaire Dreyfus".©Musée Eugène Carrière

 

Georges Picquart naît à Geudertheim, en Alsace, en 1854. Brillant élève au lycée Impérial de Strasbourg, il voit sa scolarité interrompue par la guerre contre la Prusse, en 1870. Suite à l’annexion de l’Alsace-Moselle, sa famille se replie à Versailles. Le traumatisme de la défaite et du déracinement joue sans doute dans sa décision d’embrasser une carrière militaire qui débute sous les meilleurs auspices : sorti 5e de sa promotion de l’École Spéciale Militaire de Saint-Cyr, son parcours est sans faille. Brillant officier attaché aux valeurs républicaines, Picquart franchit au pas de course les différents grades. D’une grande culture, polyglotte - il parle couramment six langues – il fréquente assidûment salons, musées et salles de spectacles. Mélomane, il se lie d’amitié avec Gustav Mahler et n’hésite pas à traverser l’Europe pour assister aux concerts que dirige le compositeur et chef d'orchestre autrichien. Après plusieurs campagnes en Algérie et au Tonkin, il intègre en 1893 l’état-major du général Galliffet comme sous-chef de bureau. C’est à ce titre qu’il participe, sans y tenir un rôle central, à l’enquête sur le capitaine Dreyfus, accusé d’espionnage au profit de l’Allemagne. Alfred Dreyfus est jugé à huis clos par un conseil de guerre qui le condamne fin 1894 à la dégradation et à la déportation à perpétuité en Guyane.

 En juillet 1895, en remplacement du colonel Sandherr,  Georges Picquart devient chargé des affaires de contre-espionnage à la direction du Deuxième bureau (dit Section de Statistiques).  Autrement dit, il prend la tête du Service des renseignements. Parallèlement, il enseigne la topographie à l’École supérieure de guerre. Économe en mots, respectueux de l’ordre militaire, il est animé de la volonté de moderniser l’armée dans un souci d’efficacité technique. Le 6 avril 1896, le plus jeune dans ce grade, il est nommé lieutenant-colonel. Il jouit de la confiance de ses chefs, ses feuilles de notation louent son caractère « aimable et sympathique », son jugement « très droit », son éducation « parfaite », son instruction « très étendue » et son intelligence « supérieure ». Il représente incontestablement l’avenir de l’armée française.

Tout bascule un an plus tard.

En mars 1896, Picquart découvre dans une liasse de documents provenant de l’ambassade d’Allemagne la pièce qui allait relancer l’affaire Dreyfus. Cette feuille de papier – le fameux « petit bleu » - confrontée au « bordereau » injustement attribué à Dreyfus lors de son procès, apporte pour Picquart la preuve irréfutable de l’innocence du déporté de l’île du Diable. Sa conviction faite, Picquart entreprend avec une détermination absolue de faire triompher la vérité. Ce sens du devoir de vérité, cette conception de la justice qu’il place au-dessus de toute autre considération – et au-dessus d’un incertain intérêt supérieur de l’armée – sont des traits déterminants de la personnalité de Picquart. En reprenant l’enquête de son prédécesseur, Picquart est rapidement convaincu de l’innocence du capitaine Dreyfus et de la culpabilité du commandant Ferdinand Esterhazy. Ses conclusions n’allant pas dans le sens de la version officielle de l’affaire, la carrière de Picquart connaît un coup d’arrêt brutal : démis de ses fonctions à la tête du renseignement en octobre 1896, Picquart est envoyé pour une durée indéterminée en mission d’inspection en France puis en Algérie et en Tunisie, dans un secteur si exposé que, le 2 avril 1897, Picquart, qui se sent menacé, rédige son testament.

Mais Georges Picquart est un homme obstiné dans sa quête de vérité : les vexations dont il est victime renforcent sa détermination à faire triompher la justice. Il s’engage de plus en plus aux côtés des dreyfusards, ce qui lui vaut à son tour d’être mis en accusation. Il faut dire que le général Mercier, ministre de la Guerre, est un farouche anti-dreyfusard. Quand on sait que le Président de la République, Félix Faure, est également hostile à toute révision du procès de Dreyfus, on peut se faire une idée plus précise de la ténacité de Picquart. Celle-ci lui vaut d’être mis en réforme, c’est-à-dire renvoyé - de l’armée en février 1898, puis d’être arrêté et emprisonné onze mois durant, du 13 juillet 1898 au 9 juin 1899 pour avoir transmis à un homme politique, Auguste Scheurer-Kestner, les preuves dont il disposait pour innocenter Dreyfus.

Héros pour les dreyfusards, traître pour leurs adversaires, Picquart est un des acteurs majeurs du procès de Rennes de 1899 qui se conclue par la grâce et l’amnistie de Dreyfus. Pour autant, Picquart, qui ne vit plus désormais que de sa pension de réforme, n’abandonne pas son combat pour la vérité : ce verdict qui ménage l’honneur de l’armée, sans rétablir le sien, lui fait horreur. Picquart l’intransigeant s’oppose de toute son âme à ceux qu’il affuble du terme d’« épongistes » car ils entendent oublier le passé. Durant sa traversée du désert, son seul horizon est la réhabilitation pleine et entière. Dreyfus doit être rejugé pour que son innocence soit enfin reconnue : cela seul pourra effacer l’injustice faite au capitaine dégradé mais aussi réparer l’atteinte portée à l’honneur et à la carrière du lieutenant-colonel réformé. Dans sa quête de vérité, Picquart aura donc lié son destin à celui de Dreyfus.

Le 12 juillet 1906, la Cour de cassation annule le jugement de Rennes, reconnaît l’innocence de Dreyfus et prononce son arrêt de réhabilitation. Picquart, de son côté, n’a pas à être réhabilité car il n’a pas été condamné. En revanche, sa carrière militaire a été stoppée net et il entend bien obtenir réparation. Le 13 juillet 1906, deux projets de loi de réintégration sont déposés, l’un pour Dreyfus, l’autre pour Picquart. Ils sont adoptés à une très large majorité, tant à l’Assemblée nationale qu’au Sénat. On y lit :

« La proclamation de l’innocence de Dreyfus démontre la légitimité des efforts que le lieutenant-colonel Picquart, au risque de briser définitivement sa carrière, tentait loyalement et courageusement dès 1896 pour faire triompher la vérité. Cet officier supérieur, mis en réforme le 26 février 1898, ne peut être réintégré que par la loi dans les cadres de l’activité. Nous vous demandons, en outre, d’effacer définitivement les effets de cette réforme, de lui conférer le grade de général de brigade auquel sont parvenus 64 officiers moins anciens que lui dans le grade de lieutenant-colonel ou d’une ancienneté égale et de faire remonter sa nomination au 10 juillet 1903, veille du jour auquel a été promu le plus ancien de ces officiers généraux. »

Justice a été rendue à Picquart. Son honneur est lavé. Sa carrière reprend sa marche en avant. Désormais général de brigade avec une ancienneté, rétroactive, de trois ans, Picquart est promu général de division le 23 octobre 1906. Au même moment, les élections voient la victoire des radicaux de Georges Clemenceau, celui-là même qui travaillait pour L’Aurore, le quotidien qui avait publié le « J’accuse… ! » de Zola. Le « premier flic de France » devient président du Conseil. Il connaît bien le général alsacien dont il a pu apprécier la force de caractère, l’indépendance d’esprit et le courage. À la surprise générale, et en premier lieu à celle de l’intéressé, il en fait son ministre de la Guerre.

Plus que tout autre, l’ancien proscrit sait bien que l’Affaire a laissé des traces et des divisions au sein de l’armée. Une fois au gouvernement, il s’efforce de la reconstruire plus démocratiquement. Le nouveau ministre multiplie les visites et les rencontres de terrain et se montre soucieux d’améliorer le sort des hommes de troupe en favorisant les progrès dans les domaines du logement, de l’alimentation, de l’hygiène, des modes de transport et des conditions d’emploi. Il entend montrer au pays que le gouvernement se soucie de ses soldats. Il perfectionne la formation des soldats et s’appuie sur Foch et Joffre pour moderniser les écoles militaires. Il œuvre à la réconciliation de l’armée avec elle-même et avec la nation. Son action apaise les affrontements politiques et affirme la République en son sein. Enfin, le fil rouge de son action en tant que ministre de la Guerre est la volonté de moderniser les matériels militaires, notamment dans le domaine de l’artillerie. Fin juillet 1909, à la chute du gouvernement Clemenceau, c’est presque avec soulagement que le général Picquart quitte ses fonctions ministérielles, en dépit d’un bilan plus qu’honnête.

Après quelques mois de liberté passés à voyager, Picquart retrouve un commandement en février 1910. Âgé de 56 ans, il devient – c’est une constante dans son cursus – le plus jeune commandant de corps d’armée en prenant la tête du 2e corps d’armée basé à Amiens.

Le 14 janvier 1914, comme tous les jours, Georges Picquart sort à cheval. Il est 7h30, il fait un froid à pierre fendre et le sol est dur, gelé depuis plusieurs jours. Il monte Voltigeur, un cheval notoirement agité. Le général est accompagné de son porte-fanion. Sur un chemin de terre, entre Dury et Saint-Fuscien, alors qu’il est au grand trot, Voltigeur fait une faute suivie d’une ruade. Son cavalier lâche les rênes, passe par-dessus le cheval et tombe sur la tête. Il se relève, reste très flegmatique en dépit d’une hémorragie importante, refuse de se reposer, remonte à cheval et reprend aussitôt la direction d’Amiens. Arrivé à son QG, il descend de sa monture et, comme toujours, ne la quitte pas sans lui avoir donné un morceau de sucre. Le jour-même et le lendemain, le général est à son poste, contre l’avis de son médecin et de ses proches. Mais son état se dégrade : la chute, violente, a engendré un œdème de la face qui s’aggrave et provoque des crises d’étouffement de plus en plus violentes. La dernière lui est fatale. Georges Picquart meurt au matin du 19 janvier 1914. Il n’avait pas 60 ans.

 

Le portrait de Georges Picquart par Eugène Carrière est reproduit avec l'aimable autorisation du Musée Eugène Carrière.