Le Vercors

 

In 1940, Le Vercors, a genuine natural fortress, sixty kilometres long and 30 wide, at an altitude of over 2,340 m between L'Isère and La Drôme, was a place of refuge especially for victims of the Vichy Government's political and racial discrimination measures.

 

With the occupation of the southern zone in November 1942, the Vercors mountain also became the site of resistance for those who rejected the idea of a subservient France. Those who refused STO i.e. the compulsory working service that sent young French to work in Germany, swelled the ranks of the maquis.

 

Young maquisards. Source: Departmental archives of Le Drôme

 

But these maquisards were lacking a plan, a strategy. In fact, as early as 1942, Pierre Dalloz and his friend the writer Jean Prévost had the idea of transforming the massif into a "Trojan horse for airborne commandos". This idea took shape in January 1943: Le Vercors would intervene during the expected allies landings in Provence and the airborne troops would immediately take the battle to the rear of the enemy.

 

The project, accepted by Jean Moulin and general Delestraint, Commander of the Secret Army, became the "Mountaineers plan". It was approved by general de Gaulle and the Allies in London and Algiers. This plan was implemented by Alain Le Ray then François Huet, military leaders of Le Vercors in association with Eugène Chavant, civilian chief of the maquis. It seems clear that the constitution of this maquis and its placing on alert was not to take place until the summer of 1944 after the landing in the South.

 

By 1943, the resistance was getting organized in the mountains. A dozen camps had been set up in the heart of the forests. By early 1944, they comprised 400 to 500 civilians and combat personnel, some very young, with food being provided by a generally favourable population and weapons and medicine from allied airdrops.

 

 

USAAF B-17 dropping materiel for the maquis. Source: USSTAF photographer.

 

 

June 6, 1944, Le Vercors answers the general mobilisation order. On 25 and 28 June, numerous airdrops helped arm the resistance fighters. In early July, 4,000 volunteers proclaimed the 'Vercors Republic' and flew the French Tricolour over a territory declared to be 'free.' These revolting mountaineers were a challenge to the enemy. In Grenoble, the German general Pflaum decided to eradicate them. The 'Mountaineers plan' was not applied. The maquisards, potential attackers, were now under siege.

 

Throughout June, the Germans lead several offensives intended to test the effective resistance of the maquis: on June 13 and 15 against the village of Saint-Nizier which was burned and on June 17 and 24 in the Défilé des Ecouges.

 

Rail traffic was disrupted, ambushes organised, allied missions were parachuted in and containers dropped. The maquisards cleared sites to receive the planes they expected to land. In valley villages, captured resistance fighters were shot.

 

On 14 July, a drop of containers above Vassieux was followed by a German bombing operation that destroyed the village. Messages requesting air intervention and ammunition continued to be sent to Algiers.

 

The Germans decided to go all out: four battalions of the 157th alpine division of the Wehrmacht, two mountain artillery batteries, three battalions of auxiliaries recruited among Soviet prisoners, 200 Feldgendarmerie men, part of a security regiment — all supported by an air squadron.

 

On 19 July, the enemy took up position at Saint-Nizier and Paillasse then attached the Col de Grimone. The next day, they attacked Crest and Saint Nazaire-en-Royans, completing the encirclement of Le Vercors.

 

On July 21, 1944, after a few offensives intended to test the effective resistance of the maquis, in particular in Saint-Nizier, on 13 and 15 June, 1944, and Les Ecouges, on 21 June, Pflaum sent in 15,000 troops taken from the Normandy front to attack Le Vercors. The attack was an across the board attack, by road, over the steep passes that can only be crossed on foot, and by air in Vassieux the Waffen SS gliders landed there where it was expected the Allies would: 200 SS disembarked while 300 others were parachuted in. By the evening, the enemy held the village; 11 villagers were shot and 101 resistance fighters killed. The Germans reached  Châtillon-en-Diois and Le Pas de l'Aiguille in the south, Villard-de-Lans and Autrans in the north and Saint-Jean-de-Royans in the west.

 

On the 22rd the German advance which the maquisards tried to counter by manoeuvring, continued slowly. The Pas de la Balme and Pionnier pass were occupied. Die was taken.

 

On the 23rd, the resistance counter-attacked at Vassieux but had to fall back while German reinforcements were brought in to the plateau. The fighting intensified. A maquis company was annihilated at Valechevriere. The Pas sector eventually gave way. Resistant units begin to disperse into the forests.

 

On the 24th, the Germans were at the Rousset pass at Pré-Grandu. The wounded but valid maquisards evacuated the Luire cave which had been transformed into a hospital. The Allies bombed the Chabeuil airfield.

 

On the 25th, the different German detachments joined up. Chapelle-en-Vercors was raided and 16 hostages executed. The last resistance fighters reached La Mure, Vezon.

 

On the 26th, numerous young recruits, falling back from Saint-André-de-Royans towards the plain fell into the hands of the enemy. In Petits-Goulet, 104 maquisards managed to escape the German beats.

 

On the 27th, the maquisards in the southern zone of the plateau fell back while inflicting heavy losses on the enemy. Elements from the 157th German ID took hold of the Luire cave where they killed off the seriously wounded. The repression intensified on the plateau.

 

On the 28th, the maquisards stopped an enemy column from advancing towards Limouches pass, but a fresh German attempt the next day succeeded. The village of Léoncel was pillaged.

In the South Drôme sector, sharp clashes continued.

 

 

 

Valchevriere Chapel, Isère, France. Source: Photo Eric Lapeyre

 

 

After a week of hard but unequal fighting, the Vercors was on its knees. More than 600 resistance fighters and one hundred Germans were killed.

 

 

Makeshift cemetery in Vassieux en Vercors. Source: Departmental archives of Le Drôme

 

 

The civilian population exposed to the savagery of the attackers paid a heavy tribute: 201 people died in often atrocious conditions, 41 others were deported and 573 homes were destroyed.

 

 

Ruin in Vassieux: More abandoned that betrayed, Le Vercors was to become a place of remembrance as a result of these dramatic events, embodying resistance, freedom but also tragic heroism.
Source: Departmental archives of Le Drôme

 

 

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA

Le Vercors

Drapeau de la République Libre du Vercors (juin-juillet 1944). Source : Licence Creative Commons.
Drapeau de la République Libre du Vercors (juin-juillet 1944). Source : Licence Creative Commons.

Dès 1940, le Vercors, véritable forteresse naturelle de soixante kilomètres de long sur trente de large, à plus de 2 340 m d’altitude entre l’Isère et la Drôme, est un lieu de refuge en particulier pour les victimes des mesures de discriminations politiques ou raciales du gouvernement de Vichy.

Corps 1

Avec l’occupation de la zone sud en novembre 1942, la montagne du Vercors devient aussi le site de résistance pour ceux qui refusent l’idée d’une France soumise. Les réfractaires au STO, le Service de travail obligatoire qui envoie les jeunes Français travailler en Allemagne, viennent grossir les rangs des maquis.

 

Jeunes maquisards. Source : Archives départementales de la Drôme

 

Mais il manque un plan, une stratégie, à ces maquisards. En fait, dès 1942, Pierre Dalloz et son ami l’écrivain Jean Prévost ont l’idée de transformer le massif en « Cheval de Troie pour commandos aéroportés ». Cette idée prend corps en janvier 1943 : le Vercors interviendrait au moment d’un débarquement allié attendu en Provence et les troupes aéroportées iraient immédiatement porter le combat sur les arrières de l’ennemi.

Le projet, accepté par Jean Moulin et le général Delestraint, commandant de l’Armée Secrète, devient le « plan Montagnards ». Il est approuvé par le général de Gaulle et les Alliés à Londres comme à Alger. Ce plan est mis en œuvre par Alain Le Ray puis par François Huet, chefs militaires du Vercors en liaison avec Eugène Chavant, chef civil du maquis. Il semble entendu que la constitution de ce maquis et sa mise en alerte ne se fera qu’au cours de l’été 1944 après le débarquement dans le Midi.

Dés 1943, la résistance s’organise dans le massif. Au cœur de forêts, une douzaine de camps existent. Début 1944, ils rassemblent 400 à 500 civils et militaires, souvent très jeunes, ravitaillés par une population généralement favorable, approvisionnés en armes et en médicaments par les parachutages alliés.

 

B-17 de l'USAAF larguant du matériel destiné au maquis. Source : USSTAF photographer.

 

Le 6 juin 1944, le Vercors répond à l’ordre de mobilisation générale. Les 25 et 28 juin, de nombreux parachutages permettent d’armer les résistants. Début juillet, 4 000 volontaires proclament la « République du Vercors », faisant flotter le drapeau tricolore sur un territoire déclaré « libre ». Ce massif en armes est un défi à l’ennemi. A Grenoble, le général allemand Pflaum décide d’en finir. Le « plan Montagnards » n’est pas appliqué. Les maquisards, assaillants potentiels, deviennent assiégés.

Tout au long de juin, les Allemands mènent plusieurs offensives destinées à mesurer la résistance effective du maquis : les 13 et 15 juin contre le village de Saint-Nizier qui est brûlé, les 17 et 24 juin dans le défilé des Ecouges.

Le trafic ferroviaire est perturbé, des embuscades sont tendues, des missions alliées sont parachutées, des containers largués. Les maquisards aménagent des terrains pour recevoir les avions qu'ils attendent. Dans les villages des vallées, les résistants capturés sont fusillés.

Le 14 juillet, un largage de containers au-dessus de Vassieux est suivi d'un bombardement allemand  qui détruit le village. Les messages de demandes d'intervention aérienne et de munitions continuent à être lancés vers Alger.

Les Allemands ont mis en œuvre de gros moyens : quatre bataillons de la 157e division alpine de la Wehrmacht, deux batteries d'artillerie de montagne, trois bataillons de supplétifs recrutés parmi les prisonniers soviétiques, 200 hommes de la Feldgendarmerie, une partie d'un régiment de sécurité, le tout appuyé par une escadre aérienne.

Le 19 juillet, l'ennemi prend position à Saint-Nizier et à Paillasse, attaque au col de Grimone. Le lendemain, il attaque Crest et Saint Nazaire-en-Royans, achevant l'encerclement du Vercors.

Le 21 juillet 1944, après quelques offensives destinées à mesurer la résistance effective du maquis, notamment à Saint-Nizier, les 13 et 15 juin 1944, et aux Ecouges, le 21 juin, Pflaum lance 15 000 hommes, soustraits du front normand, à l’assaut du Vercors. L’attaque est générale, par les routes, par les cols escarpés que l’on ne franchit qu’à pied, et par les airs à Vassieux se posent les planeurs de la Waffen SS là où auraient dû atterrir les Alliés : 200 SS en débarquent tandis que 300 autres sont parachutés. Au soir, l'ennemi est maître du village . 11 villageois ont été fusillés, 101 résistants tués. Les Allemands atteignent, au sud, Châtillon-en-Diois et le Pas de l'Aiguille, au nord, Villard-de-Lans et Autrans, à l'ouest, Saint-Jean-de-Royans.

Le 22, la progression allemande, que les maquisards tentent de contrer en manœuvrant, se poursuit lentement. Le Pas de la Balme, le col du Pionnier sont occupés. Die est conquise.

Le 23, les résistants contre-attaquent à Vassieux mais doivent se replier, tandis que renforts allemands sont acheminés sur le plateau. Les combats s'intensifient. Une compagnie du maquis est anéantie à Valechevrière. Le secteur des Pas finit par tomber. Les unités résistantes commencent à se disperser dans les forêts.

Le 24, les Allemands sont au col du Rousset, Pré-Grandu. Les maquisards blessés mais valides évacuent la Grotte de la Luire, transformée en hôpital. Les Alliés bombardent le terrain d'aviation de Chabeuil.

Le 25, les différents détachements allemands font leur jonction. La Chapelle-en-Vercors est pillée, 16 otages exécutés. Les derniers résistants gagnent La Mure, Vezon.

Le 26, beaucoup de jeunes recrues, refluant de Saint-André-de-Royans vers la plaine tombent aux mains de l'ennemi. Aux Petits-Goulet, 104 maquisards parviennent à échapper aux battues allemandes.

Le 27, les maquisards de la zone sud du plateau se replient en infligeant des pertes sensibles à l'ennemi. Des éléments de la 157e DI allemande s'emparent de la Grotte de la Luire où ils achèvent les grands blessés. La répression s'intensifie sur le plateau.

Le 28, les maquisards arrêtent une colonne ennemie qui avançait vers le col de Limouches, mais  une nouvelle tentative allemande réussit le lendemain. Le village de Léoncel est pillé.

Dans le secteur Drôme Sud, de vifs accrochages vont se poursuivre.

 

Chapelle de Valchevrière, Isère, France. Source : Photo  Eric Lapeyre

 

Après une semaine d’un combat acharné mais inégal, le Vercors est à genoux. Plus de 600 résistants et une centaine d’Allemands sont tués.

 

Cimetière provisoire de Vassieux-en Vercors. Source : Archives départementales de la Drôme

 

Quant à la population, exposée à la sauvagerie des assaillants, elle paie un lourd tribut : 201 personnes meurent dans des conditions souvent atroces, 41 autres sont déportées, 573 maisons sont détruites.

 

Ruine de Vassieux : Abandonné plus que trahi, le Vercors deviendra depuis ce drame un lieu de mémoire, associant résistance, liberté mais également héroïsme tragique.
Source : Archives départementales de la Drôme