Marie-Madeleine Fourcade

1909-1989
Source photo : © Ministère de la Défense-DMPA

Resistant in 1940, Marie-Madeleine Fourcade was the only woman recognized as the head of a large French resistance network, the Alliance network. Michèle Cointet, her biographer, tells of her extraordinary journey.

 

Marie-Madeleine Bridou escaped from the conformism of the bourgeois background she was born into in 1909. She lived with her two children in Paris, far from her husband Edward Méric, an Indigenous Affairs officer in Morocco. She divided her time between "Radio-Cité" and Commander Loustaunau-Lacau's General Secretariat of anti-communist and anti-German publications. Loustaunau-Lacau was the founder of the Corvignolles network and La Spirale and the person who initiated her into undercover activities. The love of a mythical homeland gained from a childhood in Shanghai where her father was the General Maritime Messaging Agent and... "honourable correspondent" and a lack of illusions about Marshal Petain inspired her in June 1940 to believe that since the men had put down their weapons, it was up to the women to take them up.

However she let herself be convinced to follow Loustaunau-Lacau in Vichy drawn by a general delegation to the powerful French Legion of combatants. A network centered on Marseilles and Vichy was set up which proved fertile ground from which to recruit officials from ministries and patriotic officers. The break with Vichy was not long in coming when Admiral Darlan expelled Loustaunau-Lacau from the Legion in February 1941. Developments in the war offered them an opportunity to engage actively against Hitler. Indeed, submarine warfare threatened the survival of the British. Getting information on submarine departures from Lorient was vital. Only the French could provide this. In April 1941, contact was established in Lisbon where Loustaunau-Lacau got money and a first transmitting station, the most effective weapon to get round the several weeks delay with conventional mail and finally enabling an immediate response. Alliance owned up to 17 of these stations. Since Marie-Madeleine's cover was not blown, unlike Loustaunau-Lacau in Paris, she organised the Alliance network in the north and west proclaiming loyalty to England and equality among partners. The Germans called it "Noah's Ark" because of the animal nicknames adopted by its members.

Arrested in Algiers in May 1941, Loustaunau-Lacau was found guilty then handed over to the Germans. Marie-Madeleine concluded from this event that it was best to refuse to make political commitments and this led some members who wanted to have closer ties with General de Gaulle, such as General Alamichel, to put some distance between themselves and Marie-Madeleine. Driven by her companions, she took over from Loustaunau-Lacau using a neutral signature: POZ 55. Since the results were exceptional, the British eventually acknowledged her, finally unveiled, as the head of the military intelligence network, the only one to benefit from this status in Europe. A great organizer, authoritative, rigorous, a natural leader and bold, she had enough mental flexibility to follow the advice of the British to decentralise the network into sub-networks such as Sea Star or Georges Lamarque's remarkable Druids.

Alliance recruited heavily among civil servants and was unique in  another way: 24% of members were women, making it the resistant organisation with the strongest female presence. Alliance played its greatest role in the Battle of the Atlantic providing information on train operations (German transports to the east), the first information about the V1 and V2 testing at Peenemunde through Amniarix (Jeannie Rousseau), records of launch pad operations in north-western France and a detailed map of the Atlantic defences. Marie-Madeleine organised General Giraud's submarine departure from Lavandou on 4 November, 1942 to Algiers to facilitate the Allied landing there.

She was held up in England following the arrest of her assistant Faye in September 1943 but got to return to France in July 1944 and, after escaping from a German barracks, carried out intelligence missions ahead of Patton's army.

Sensitive to the material and moral suffering of the members of her hard-hit network, 431 were killed i.e. one third of the total, she spent over twenty years caring for the survivors and their families. She published memories in the form of a memorial entitled Noah's Ark and defends the memory of the Resistance as Chairwoman of the Resistance Action Committee. With her husband, Free French fighter Hubert Fourcade, she helped return General de Gaulle to power in 1958. She was neither a political party icon nor anti-fascist activist and remained faithful to her idea of the Resistance: an efficient patriotic struggle against Nazi Germany.


Michèle Cointet, University Professor Emeritus, In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 239/october 2013

For more information:
Marie-Madeleine Fourcade-Un chef de la Résistance, éd. Perrin, 2006.

Marie-Madeleine Fourcade

1909-1989
Source photo : © Ministère de la Défense-DMPA

Résistante dès 1940, Marie-Madeleine Fourcade fut la seule femme reconnue comme chef d’un grand réseau de résistance français, le réseau Alliance. Michèle Cointet, sa biographe, nous relate son parcours hors du commun.


Marie-Madeleine Bridou échappe aux conformismes du milieu bourgeois où elle naît en 1909. Éloignée de son mari Édouard Méric, officier des Affaires indigènes au Maroc, elle vit avec ses deux enfants à Paris. Elle se partage entre « Radio-Cité » et le secrétariat général des publications anticommunistes et antiallemandes du commandant Loustaunau-Lacau, fondateur du réseau Corvignolles et de La Spirale, son initiateur ès activités secrètes. L’amour d’une patrie mythifiée dans une enfance à Shanghai où son père était l’agent général des Messageries maritimes et… « honorable correspondant », une absence d’illusions sur le maréchal Pétain, inspirent en juin 1940 un réflexe : puisque les hommes ont déposé les armes c’est aux femmes de les relever.

Elle se laisse cependant convaincre de suivre à Vichy Loustaunau-Lacau, attiré par une délégation générale à la puissante Légion française des combattants. S’y met en place un réseau centré sur Marseille et Vichy qui se révèle un terrain fertile où recruter fonctionnaires de ministères et officiers patriotes. La rupture avec Vichy ne tarde d’ailleurs pas, l’amiral Darlan renvoyant en février 1941 Loustaunau-Lacau de la Légion. L’évolution de la guerre leur offre une opportunité de s’engager activement contre Hitler. En effet, la guerre sous-marine met en péril la survie des Britanniques. Obtenir des renseignements sur les départs de Lorient des sous-marins est vital. Seul des Français peuvent les fournir. En avril 1941, un contact est établi à Lisbonne d’où Loustaunau-Lacau rapporte de l’argent et un premier poste-émetteur, l’arme la plus efficace car remédiant aux délais de plusieurs semaines des anciens courriers et permettant enfin une riposte immédiate. Alliance en possédera jusqu’à 17. Marie-Madeleine n’étant pas « grillée » comme Loustaunau-Lacau à Paris organise en zone nord et dans l’ouest le réseau Alliance, un nom qui proclame la fidélité à l’Angleterre et l’égalité des partenaires. Les Allemands l’appelleront « Arche de Noé » en raison des pseudonymes d’animaux adoptés par ses membres.

Arrêté à Alger en mai 1941, Loustaunau-Lacau est condamné puis livré aux Allemands. Marie-Madeleine tirera de cet épisode un refus des engagements politiques, ce qui éloignera d’elle des membres comme le général Alamichel qui voulait se rattacher au général de Gaulle. Poussée par ses compagnons, elle succède à Loustaunau-Lacau en usant d’une signature neutre : POZ 55. Les résultats étant exceptionnels, les Britanniques finissent par reconnaître la femme enfin dévoilée comme chef du réseau de renseignements militaires, la seule à en bénéficier en Europe. Grande organisatrice, autoritaire, rigoureuse, entraîneuse d’hommes, hardie, elle a assez de souplesse d’esprit pour suivre les conseils des Britanniques de décentralisation du réseau en sous réseaux comme Sea Star ou les remarquables Druides de Georges Lamarque.

Alliance recrute beaucoup dans la fonction publique et présente une originalité : 24% des membres sont des femmes, ce qui en fait l’organisation résistante la plus féminisée. Alliance a joué son plus grand rôle dans la bataille de l’Atlantique, en fournissant des renseignements sur les TCO (transports allemands vers l’Est), une première information grâce à Amniarix (Jeannie Rousseau) sur les essais de V1 et V2 à Peenemünde, des relevés des rampes de lancement dans le nord-ouest de la France, une carte renseignée des défenses de l’Atlantique. Marie-Madeleine organise le départ le 4 novembre 1942, en sous-marin depuis le Lavandou, du général Giraud qui doit accueillir le débarquement allié à Alger.

Retenue en Angleterre à cause de l’arrestation, en septembre 1943, de son adjoint Faye, elle obtient de revenir en France en juillet 1944 et réalise, après son évasion d’une caserne allemande, des missions de renseignements en avant de l’armée de Patton.

Sensible aux détresses matérielles et morales, elle veille pendant plus de vingt ans sur les survivants et les familles d’un réseau très éprouvé – 431 disparus, soit un tiers de ses membres. Elle publie des souvenirs en forme de mémorial sous le titre L’Arche de Noé et défend la mémoire de la Résistance en tant que présidente du Comité d’action de la Résistance. Elle contribue, avec son mari, le Français libre Hubert Fourcade, au retour au pouvoir du général de Gaulle en 1958. Ni icône d’un parti politique, ni militante antifasciste, elle est restée fidèle à sa conception de la Résistance : un combat patriotique efficace contre l’Allemagne hitlérienne.


Michèle Cointet, professeur émérite des Universités, In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 239/octobre 2013
Pour en savoir plus :
Marie-Madeleine Fourcade-Un chef de la Résistance, éd. Perrin, 2006.