Mauvaise nouvelle de France

General Delestraint, November 1943. © SHD

The German services had been on the trail of senior Armée secrète officers since spring 1943. The investigation quickly took them to the La Muette metro station and to Caluire as they reached the top of the ”shadow army”'s leadership structure. After the arrests of General Delestraint, the head of the AS, and Joseph Gastaldo, the deputy chief of staff and head of the 2nd bureau, in Paris on 9 June 1943, the telegram from Claude Bouchinet-Serreules to London reveals the scale of the latest haul by the SIPO-SD and the Abwehr twelve days later, in Caluire.

Corps 1

On 21 June 1943, at the same time as Jean Moulin, General de Gaulle's representative in France, most of the staff of the Armée secrète (AS, Secret Army) were captured: Henri Aubry, chief of staff, André Lassagne, Gastaldo's deputy, Colonel Lacaze, who had been approached to lead the 4th bureau, Colonel Emile Schwarzfeld, tipped to succeed General Delestraint, Bruno Larat, head of the Parachute and Landings Operations Centre, Raymond Aubrac, the military chief of Libération-Sud, and finally René Hardy of the 3rd bureau.

The hunt

The German investigation had begun in Provence, when Jean Multon, a resistance agent who had been ”turned”, caused the arrests of dozens of his former comrades in Bouches-du-Rhône. As the ramifications of his information extended into Rhône, he was made available to the Lyon Gestapo and to Robert Moog, agent K 30 of the Dijon Abwehr, who had been on the trail of Berty Albrecht (arrested on 28 May) and Frenay for several weeks. One goal took priority over all others - to capture the Combat chief and AS military affairs commissioner. The trail of his hideout at the Hôtel de Bourgogne in Mâcon produced no results, but another remained to be pursued: the letterbox of the ”train sabotage section” of the Mouvements unis de la Résistance (MUR, United Resistance Movements) in Lyon. This resulted in the arrest of Marie Reynoard, Hardy's secretary, on 26 or 27 May, and above all the discovery of an unencrypted message describing a meeting to be held between Hardy (under the name of ”Didot”) and the AS chief, General Delestraint (see slideshow) on the morning of 9 June.

Corps 2

Travelling to Paris by train to arrest Delestraint, Multon, accompanied by K 30, recognised Hardy. Moog had him arrested and imprisoned along the route, in Chalon-sur-Saône. Barbie, the chief of the Lyon Gestapo, came to fetch him on 10 June (see From Klaus Barbie to Klaus Altmann). The previous day, at the La Muette metro station at about 9 o'clock, Moog, accompanied by his colleague René Saumande (agent K 4) and probably Hans Kieffer, the head of the SIPO-SD's section IV E, arrested the AS chief. He had prepared the operation with the Abwehr. It also led to the arrests of Gastaldo and Jean-Louis Théobald (under the false name of Terrier), responsible for liaising with the Fighting France delegation. The AS chief, taken with his genuine papers, could not hide his identity. But according to Ernest Misselwitz, the police officer who interrogated him for 50 hours, he ”refused to give the names of his resistance comrades”, ”denied the existence of the AS staff” and answered many questions ”evasively”. Gastaldo was identified, but not Théobald.

One of the two protagonists of the meeting at the La Muette metro station had thus fallen, but the other, ”Didot”, remained to be arrested. One puzzling aspect of the Caluire affair is the date when Hardy was identified as Didot, making it impossible to determine his schedule accurately before Caluire. The only certainty is that his deputy, Max Heilbronn, was arrested on 12 June just after seeing him. Historians agree that Hardy saw his superiors at Combat again, and they asked him to attend the Caluire meeting. But however they got there - informed by Hardy, by following him and/or trailing other participants at the meeting - Barbie and his men also managed to invite themselves along, with the results we have already seen (see slideshow).

Berlin in the know

While both Barbie and the Abwehr claimed a key role in the capture, the role of the Sonderkommando sent especially from Berlin at the end of May to bring down the AS is rarely mentioned: it is, however, essential, and shows that even the highest levels of the Nazi security services could not be unaware of the key stages in the affair. This makes it very probable that Barbie quickly reported on the dragnet operation to his superiors in Paris. A report from the regional head of General Intelligence in Lyon dated 24 June, based on information supplied by the Gestapo services, indicated that Aubry, Lacaze, Lassagne and Schwarzfeld had been identified. Two days later, all four were interrogated at the Gestapo's Paris base. Aubry talked, describing Moulin's role and the structure of the AS and providing information about several senior Resistance figures. ”Max”, i.e. Jean Moulin, was then identified, if he had not already been identified a few hours earlier during the interrogations conducted by Barbie in Lyon. On the evening of 28 June, he was transferred to Paris, where he was interrogated again, confronted with the other men arrested in Caluire and doubtless tortured further. In a sign of his importance, he was not kept in France - on the evening of 7 July, he was transferred to Berlin. He died on the journey.

Thomas Fontaine

Historian, research associate at the Twentieth-Century History Centre, Paris 1

FOR MORE INFORMATION

The arrest of the senior AS staff is covered in the individual files of René Hardy, Robert Moog and Jean Multon (see also Klaus Barbie's interrogation report, reproduced on page 85). These files will be classified under sub-series GR 28 P 9.

  • Général Delestraint, novembre 1943. © SHD

  • Télégramme annonçant l?arrestation de Jean Moulin, envoyé le 22 juin, reçu le 24 juin 1943. © SHD

Mauvaise nouvelle de France

Général Delestraint, novembre 1943. © SHD

Depuis le printemps 1943, les services allemands sont sur la piste des cadres de l’Armée secrète. Cette enquête va les mener rapidement jusqu’à la station de métro La Muette et à Caluire, au sommet de l’organigramme de "l’armée des ombres". Après l’arrestation le 9 juin 1943 à Paris du général Delestraint, le chef de l’AS, et de Joseph Gastaldo, le chef d’état-major adjoint et responsable du 2e bureau, le télégramme de Claude Bouchinet-Serreules transmis à Londres révèle l’ampleur de la nouvelle prise opérée par la SIPO-SD et l’Abwehr douze jours plus tard, à Caluire.

Corps 1

Le 21 juin 1943, en même temps que Jean Moulin, le représentant du général de Gaulle en France, c’est la plus grande partie de l’état-major de l’Armée secrète (AS) qui tombe : Henri Aubry le chef d’état-major, André Lassagne l’adjoint de Gastaldo, le colonel Lacaze pressenti pour être nommé à la tête du 4e bureau, le colonel Emile Schwarzfeld pressenti pour succéder au général Delestraint, Bruno Larat le responsable du Centre des opérations de parachutages et d’atterrissages, Raymond Aubrac le responsable militaire de Libération-Sud, enfin René Hardy du 3e bureau.

La traque

L’enquête allemande avait débuté en Provence, lorsque Jean Multon, un résistant "retourné", provoqua dans les Bouches-du-Rhône l’arrestation de dizaines de ses anciens camarades. Les ramifications se prolongeant jusque dans le Rhône, il fut mis à la disposition de la Gestapo de Lyon, ainsi que Robert Moog, l’agent K 30 de l’Abwehr de Dijon, qui est depuis plusieurs semaines sur la piste de Berty Albrecht (arrêtée le 28 mai) et de Frenay. En effet, un objectif dominait les autres, celui de mettre la main sur le patron de Combat et commissaire aux affaires militaires de l’AS. Si la piste de sa planque à l’hôtel de Bourgogne à Mâcon ne donna rien, une autre restait à suivre : celle de la boîte aux lettres de la "section sabotage des trains" des Mouvements unis de la Résistance (MUR), à Lyon. Elle permit dès le 26 ou le 27 mai d’arrêter Marie Reynoard, secrétaire de Hardy et, surtout, de découvrir un message en clair annonçant l’existence d’un rendez-vous entre ce dernier (sous le nom de "Didot") et le chef de l’AS, le général Delestraint (voir diaporama), le 9 juin au matin.

En se rendant à Paris en train pour procéder à l’arrestation de Delestraint, Multon, accompagné de K 30, reconnut Hardy. Moog le fit arrêter et emprisonner sur le chemin, à Chalon-sur-Saône. Barbie, le chef de la Gestapo lyonnaise, viendra le chercher le 10 juin (voir De Klaus Barbie à Klaus Altmann). La veille à la station de métro La Muette, vers 9 heures, Moog, son collègue René Saumande (l’agent K 4) et sans doute Hans Kieffer le responsable du service IV E de la SIPO-SD, ont arrêté le chef de l’AS. L’opération avait été préparée entre lui et l’Abwehr. Elle permit aussi l’arrestation de Gastaldo et de Jean-Louis Théobald (sous le faux nom de Terrier), chargé de la liaison avec la délégation de la France combattante. Le chef de l’AS, pris avec ses vrais papiers, ne put cacher son identité. Mais, selon Ernest Misselwitz, le policier qui l’interrogea durant 50 heures, il "se refusa à citer des noms de camarades de la résistance", "nia l’existence de l’état-major de l’AS" et répondit "évasivement" sur bien des points. Gastaldo fut identifié, mais pas Théobald.

Un des deux protagonistes du rendez-vous à la station de métro La Muette était donc tombé . restait à arrêter l’autre : "Didot". Une des principales zones d’ombre de l’affaire de Caluire est la date de l’identification d’Hardy comme Didot, ce qui rend impossible de fixer son emploi du temps exact avant Caluire. Seule certitude, son adjoint, Max Heilbronn, est arrêté le 12 juin juste après un rendez-vous avec lui. L’historiographie s’accorde pour dire qu’Hardy revoit ses supérieurs de Combat, qui lui demandent de participer à la réunion de Caluire. Or, quel que soit le chemin pris - informé par Hardy, en le suivant et/ou en surveillant d’autres participants de la réunion - Barbie et ses hommes ont eux aussi réussi à "s’inviter". Pour provoquer la chute que l’on sait (voir diaporama).

Berlin était au courant

Si Barbie et l’Abwehr vont, chacun, revendiquer un rôle clé dans cette prise, le rôle du Sonderkommando envoyé spécialement fin mai par Berlin pour faire tomber l’AS est rarement évoqué : il est pourtant essentiel, démontrant notamment qu’au plus haut niveau des services de sécurité nazis, on ne peut pas ne pas être informé des différentes étapes de l’affaire. De ce fait, il est très probable que Barbie ait rapidement rendu compte du coup de filet à ses supérieurs à Paris. Un rapport du chef régional des Renseignements généraux à Lyon, daté du 24 juin et rédigé à partir d’informations fournies par les services de la Gestapo, indique notamment qu’Aubry, Lacaze, Lassagne et Schwarzfeld ont été identifiés. Deux jours plus tard, les quatre sont interrogés dans les locaux parisiens de la Gestapo. Or, Aubry parle, en évoquant le rôle de Moulin, la structure de l’AS, en donnant des informations sur plusieurs cadres de la Résistance. "Max", c’est-à-dire Jean Moulin est alors identifié, à moins qu’il ne l’ait été quelques heures plus tôt déjà, à la suite des interrogatoires menés par Barbie à Lyon. Le 28 juin au soir, il est transféré à Paris où il est réinterrogé, confronté aux autres arrêtés de Caluire, sans doute de nouveau torturé. Signe de son importance, il n’est pas laissé en France : le 7 juillet au soir, il est transféré à Berlin. Il décède durant le voyage.

 

Thomas Fontaine - Historien, chercheur associé au Centre d’histoire du XXe siècle, Paris 1

 

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS
L'arrestation des cadres de l'AS est notamment abordée dans les dossiers individuels de René Hardy, Robert Moog ou Jean Multon (voir ainsi le compte rendu d'interrogatoire de Klaus Barbie). Ces dossiers seront classés dans la sous-série GR 28 P 9.
  • Général Delestraint, novembre 1943. © SHD

  • Télégramme annonçant l?arrestation de Jean Moulin, envoyé le 22 juin, reçu le 24 juin 1943. © SHD