Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation en Ardèche (07)

© Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation en Ardèche

A museum founded by former members of the Resistance in the Ardèche, the Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation en Ardèche is the only museum in the department devoted to the little-known history of the Ardèche Resistance, and more generally to the Second World War in the local area. ? Dates for your diary > Invitation to exhibition preview on 15/09/2017 | Events calendar > SEPTEMBER-NOVEMBER 2017 Find out more

 Founded in 1992 by former members of the Resistance, eager to pass on the memory of all those who fought for liberation and for victory over Nazi barbarity, the museum takes visitors on a journey through the history of the Second World War in the department. Drawing on rich archives, the exhibition sheds light on specific features of the Ardèche Resistance: underground presses, pamphlet distribution, parachute drops and acts of sabotage. The museum’s founding organisation defines its purpose as follows: “Our museum is not dedicated to any unit, movement or leader in particular, but to the Resistance, which was a collective effort.”

 

 Located in the commune of Le Teil, the museum tells the story of the Resistance across the department. It is therefore not a local history museum, although the local Resistance is mentioned. Similarly, although references are made to links with other departments, the museum is devoted above all to the particularities of the Ardèche Resistance, and its role in the liberation of the department.

 

The archive put together by the museum’s founding organisation was registered with the departmental archives, then, in 1996, donated to the department. Catalogued under number 70J, it can be consulted by anyone wishing to research the history of the Second World War in the Ardèche. The archive continues to grow as a result of regular donations and collections.   

 

The museum has been run since 2010 by the Rhône-Helvie community of communes which, in 2017, became the Ardèche Rhône Coiron community of communes. It is maintained by the Ardèche departmental authority and the commune of Le Teil. It offers a varied cultural programme and a learning programme for schools.


 

2017 programmation

 

Learning programme: workshops, self-guided tours with a specially designed questionnaire, help with preparing for the Concours national de la Résistance et de la Déportation (a competition for middle- and high-school students) and the loan of touring exhibitions. All activities for school students are free (regardless of age group or the geographical location of the educational establishment concerned).

 


 

 

Sources : © Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation en Ardèche

 

Office de tourisme - Place Pierre Semard, 07400 Le Teil - Tél.: 04 75 49 10 46

  • ©Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation - MRDA

  • ©Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation - MRDA

  • Dessin de Robert Petit-Lorraine, Ardèche, 1944 © Archives départementales de l?Ardèche, fonds Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation de l?Ardèche, 70J39

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address

    15 rue du travail, espace Aden 7400
    Le Teil
    +33 (0)4 75 92 25 61

    Prices

    - Free for school students and children under 12 - Full price: € 3 - Young people: € 3 - Groups: € 2 (ten people or more) - Free for school students and children under 12 - Passes/combination tickets: Pass’Ardèche / group offers available from the Office de Tourisme Sud Ardèche Rhône et Villages

    Weekly opening hours

    Special opening on some Sundays Wednesday to Friday, 10 am to 12 noon and 2 pm to 5 pm During the school holidays and from 1 July to the second weekend of September: Monday to Friday Summer period: open until 6 pm Closed on bank holidays

    Fermetures annuelles

    Last weekend of November to the beginning of the February school holidays

Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation en Ardèche (07)

©Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation - MRDA

Un musée créé par d’anciens résistants de l’Ardèche : il s’agit de l’unique musée du département consacré à l’histoire méconnue de la résistance ardéchoise, et plus largement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale à l’échelle locale.


Consulter l'offre pédagogique du musée >>>  Ardèche


Fondé en 1992 par d’anciens résistants, avec la volonté de transmettre la mémoire de tous ceux qui ont combattu pour la libération et pour la victoire contre la barbarie nazie, le Musée présente un parcours à travers l’histoire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale dans le département. Riche de nombreuses archives, l’exposition invite à découvrir la spécificité de la résistance en Ardèche: imprimeries clandestines, distri­bution de tracts, parachutages, sabotages. L’association fondatrice du musée définit son objectif comme suit : « Notre Musée n’est dédié à aucune unité, à aucun mouvement en particulier, à aucun chef, mais à la Résistance, qui fut œuvre collective. »

Installé au Teil, le musée propose dans son parcours une histoire à l’échelle départementale. Si la résistance teilloise est évoquée, il ne s’agit donc pas d’un musée d’histoire communale. De même, si les liens intra-départementaux sont précisés, le musée est avant tout consacré à la spécificité de la Résistance ardéchoise, et à son rôle dans la libération du département.

Le fonds d’archives réuni par l’association fondatrice du musée a été déposé puis donné en 1996 au Département via les Archives départementales. Réuni sous la cote 70J, il est ainsi consultable par tous, et permet de faire des recherches sur l’histoire du second conflit mondial en Ardèche. Il continue de s’enrichir grâce à des collectes et des dons réguliers.   

Le Musée est géré depuis 2010 par la Communauté de Communes Rhône-Helvie, devenue en 2017 Communauté de Communes Ardèche Rhône Coiron. Il est soutenu par le Département de l’Ardèche et la Mairie du Teil. Il propose depuis une programmation culturelle variée et un programme pédagogique à destination des scolaires.

 

Sources : ©Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation ©MRDA
Office de tourisme - Place Pierre Semard, 07400 Le Teil - Tél.: 04 75 49 10 46
  • ©Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation - MRDA

  • ©Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation - MRDA

  • Dessin de Robert Petit-Lorraine, Ardèche, 1944 © Archives départementales de l?Ardèche, fonds Musée de la Résistance et de la Déportation de l?Ardèche, 70J39

  • > Retourner aux résultats

    Infos pratiques

    Adresse

    15 rue du travail, espace Aden 07400
    Le Teil
    04 75 92 25 61

    Tarifs

    - Visite gratuite : pour les scolaires et les moins de 12 ans. - Plein tarif : 3 € - Jeunes : 3 € - Groupes : 2 € (à partir de 10 personnes) - Gratuité : pour les scolaires et les moins de 12 ans - Pass/tarifs groupés éventuels : Pass Ardèche / offre groupe de l’Office de tourisme sud Ardèche Rhône et Village

    Horaires d'ouverture hebdomadaires

    Ouverture exceptionnelles certains dimanches. Du mercredi au vendredi, 10h-12 et 14h-17h Pendant les vacances scolaires et du 1er juillet au second week-end de septembre : du lundi au vendredi. Période estivale : ouverture jusqu’à 18h. Fermé les jours fériés.

    Fermetures annuelles

    Du dernier week-end de novembre au début des vacances scolaires de février