Lettre d'information

Mustapha Kemal Atatürk

1881-1938
Mustapha Kemal Atatürk Source : Licence Creative Commons. Public domain.

Mustafa Kemal was born in Salonika, Macedonia, on 19 May 1881.

After graduating from military high school and the military academy in Istanbul, he was appointed Staff Captain in 1905 before being assigned to the Fifth Army based in Damascus, Syria, fighting against the Druzes. At the same time, he formed a small opposition society, called Vatan ve Hürriyet (Motherland and Liberty). In Autumn 1907, he was appointed Senior Captain of the Third Army in Salonika, where he met the Committee of Union and Progress and the Young Turks who opposed the regime which re-established the Constitution in 1876. In April 1909, he became Chief of Staff under General Mahmud Shevket, commander of the army put in place by constitutionalist officers to combat the uprising in Istanbul led by the defenders of absolutism. 

He made a name for himself in December 19911, in Libya, during the Italo-Turkish war, winning the Battle of Tobruk before he took military command of Derna, in March of the following year. However, Montenegro having declared war on Turkey in October, he returned to take part in the first Balkan war which saw Turkey fighting against Montenegro, Serbia, Bulgaria and Greece. Chief of Staff in Gallipoli, he forced back the Bulgarian offensive. He was made military attaché to Sofia in 1913.

In November 1914, Turkey joined the war fighting alongside Germany. As Lieutenant Colonel, Mustafa Kemal was tasked with forming the 19th infantry division and made a reputation for himself during the German-Turkish counter-offensive which aimed to prevent the French and British troops landing in the Dardanelles Strait. Pushing back the allied assaults, he claimed a major victory on the Anafarta front in August 1915. Promoted to general, in 1916 he took command of the 16th army corps in the Caucasus then of the 2nd army in Diyarbakir. Confronting the Russian troops, he took Mus and Bitlis. Recalled to Syria, where he served under German General Erich von Falkenhayn, he was given command of the 7th army. When he returned to Istanbul in autumn 1917, he accompanied the crown prince Vahidettin on an official trip to Germany. He returned to Syria again in August 1918 where he took order of the 7th army against the British until the signing of the Armistice of Mudros on 30 October 1918.

After the armistice and in opposition to the occupation and dismemberment of Turkey, he established an organised national resistance movement.

Appointed as general inspector of the northern and north-eastern armies in May 1919, he was tasked with assuring the security of the Samsun region, where Turkish, Greek and Armenian populations were fighting, and ordered the forces against the Greek troops which landed in Smyrna. 

Following disagreements with the Sultan’s politics, he made an announcement putting the Turkish War of Independence in motion, in the town of Amasya on 22 June 1919. He then called for national conferences to be held in Erzurum and Sivas in July and September respectively. Finally, the meeting of the Grand National Assembly in Ankara on 23 April 1920 resulted in the formation of a national government of which Assembly President Mustafa Kemal was elected as leader. 

Securing the withdrawal of the French from Cilecia and Armenia’s return of the occupied territories, he also succeeded in driving the Greeks out of Anatolia, importantly leading and winning the Battle of Dumlupinar (30 August 1922) and signing the Armistice of Mudanya on 11 October 1922.

In the meantime, the Sultan accepted on 10 August 1920 the Treaty of Sèvres which considerably shrank the Turkish Empire. Mustafa Kemal fought against this treaty and successes in having the Allies revise the terms. On 24 July 1923, the Treaty of Lausanne put an end to the Armenian and Greek claims and recognised Turkish sovereignty across the entire national territory.

Having got this far, Mustafa Kemal went even further, introducing major political, economic and social reforms to bring Turkey into the modern age. The sultanate was abolished (1 November 1922) and the Republic declared on 29 October 1923. Elected President, he made Ankara the capital, incorporated secularism into the constitution and set the country on the path to economic development. In line with the law of 1934 enforcing Turkish citizens to adopt a surname, he took the name Atatürk, meaning “Father of all the Turks”

He died on 10 November 1938 in Istanbul.

Lettre d'information

Mustapha Kemal Atatürk

1881-1938
Mustapha Kemal Atatürk Source : Licence Creative Commons. Photo libre de droit.

Mustapha Kemal est né à Salonique, en Macédoine, le 19 mai 1881.

Après des études à l'École de guerre et à l'Académie militaire d'Istanbul, capitaine d'état-major en 1905, il est affecté à Damas, en Syrie, où il sert au sein de la 5e armée en lutte contre les Druzes. Dans le même temps, il forme un petit groupe d'opposition, Vatan ve Hürriyet (Patrie et Liberté). À l'automne 1907, il est nommé à l'état-major de la 3e armée, à Salonique, où il côtoie le Comité Union et Progrès et les Jeunes-Turc, opposants au régime qui obtiennent le rétablissement de la Constitution de 1876. En avril 1909, il est chef d'état-major du général Mahmoud Chevket, commandant de l'armée mise en place par des officiers constitutionnalistes pour combattre le soulèvement, à Istanbul, des défenseurs de l'absolutisme.

Il s'illustre en décembre 1911 en Libye, durant la guerre italo-turque, en remportant la bataille de Tobrouk avant de prendre le commandement militaire de Derna, en mars de l'année suivante. Cependant, le Monténégro ayant déclaré la guerre à la Turquie en octobre, il rentre afin de participer à la première guerre balkanique qui oppose la Turquie au Monténégro, à la Serbie, à la Bulgarie et à la Grèce. Chef d'état-major à Gallipoli, il repousse les offensives bulgares. Il devient attaché militaire à Sofia en 1913.

En novembre 1914, la Turquie entre en guerre aux côtés de l'Allemagne. Lieutenant-colonel, Mustapha Kemal est chargé de former la 19e division d'infanterie et se distingue lors de la contre-offensive germano-turque visant à faire échouer le débarquement franco-anglais dans le détroit des Dardanelles. Repoussant les assauts alliés, il remporte une victoire majeure sur le front d'Anafarta, en août 1915. Promu général, il prend, en 1916, le commandement du 16e corps d'armée dans le Caucase puis celui de la 2e armée à Diyarbakir. Affrontant les troupes russes, il reprend Mus et Bitlis. Rappelé en Syrie, où il sert sous les ordres du général allemand Erich von Falkenhayn, il prend le commandement de la 7e armée. De retour à Istanbul à l'automne 1917, il accompagne à la fin de l'année le prince héritier Vahidettin dans un voyage officiel en Allemagne. Il rejoint à nouveau la Syrie en août 1918 où il reprend le commandement de la 7e armée contre les Britanniques jusqu'à la signature de l'armistice de Moudros, le 30 octobre 1918.

Après l'armistice, opposé à l'occupation et au démembrement de la Turquie, il organise la résistance nationale.

Nommé inspecteur général des armées du Nord et du Nord-Est en mai 1919, il est chargé d'assurer la sécurité de la région de Samsun, où populations turques, grecques et arméniennes s'affrontent, et lance ses forces contre les troupes grecques débarquées à Smyrne.

En désaccord avec la politique du sultan, il appelle, de la ville d'Amasya, le 22 juin 1919, à la création d'une représentation nationale indépendante puis convoque les congrès d'Erzurum et de Sivas en juillet et en septembre. Enfin, la réunion de la Grande Assemblée nationale à Ankara, le 23 avril 1920, aboutit à la formation d'un gouvernement national à la tête duquel Mustapha Kemal, président de l'Assemblée, est élu.

Obtenant le retrait de la France en Cilicie et la restitution par l'Arménie des régions occupées, il parvient en outre à repousser les Grecs d'Anatolie, menant et remportant notamment la bataille de Doumlupinar (30 août 1922), et signe avec eux, le 11 octobre 1922, l'armistice de Moudanya.

Entre-temps, le sultan a accepté, le 10 août 1920, le traité de Sèvres qui réduit considérablement l'Empire turc. Mustapha Kemal parvient à obtenir des Alliés sa révision. Le 24 juillet 1923, le traité de Lausanne met un terme aux revendications arméniennes et grecques et reconnaît la souveraineté turque sur tout le territoire national.

Cette étape franchie, il s'emploie, par de profondes réformes politiques, économiques et sociales, à faire de la Turquie un pays moderne. Le sultanat est abolit (1er novembre 1922) et la République proclamée (29 octobre 1923). Élu président, il installe la capitale à Ankara, inscrit la laïcité dans la Constitution et engage son pays dans la voie du développement économique. Conformément à la loi de 1934 imposant aux citoyens turcs de prendre un nom de famille, il prend celui d'Atatürk, "Père de tous les Turcs".

Il décède le 10 novembre 1938 à Istanbul.

 

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA