Lettre d'information

Philippe Viannay

1917-1986
Philippe Viannay (au centre). ©Fondation de la Résistance, AERI, coll. Défense de la France DR

 

Nothing had prepared him to confront the war and join the Resistance. Yet at 25 Philippe Viannay became the undisputed leader of one of the main resistance movements in the north. We go back over the life of a freedom-loving man who was a pioneer in many areas.

 

In the galaxy of the great leaders of the French resistance, Philippe Viannay has a unique position. Although he directed Défense de la France (DF), a leading movement in the north, Philippe Viannay is less well known than many of his counterparts - Frenay, Bourdet or the Aubrac couple to name just a few. His young age - just 23 years old in 1940 - his refusal to go into politics after the war, the posthumous publication of his memoirs... all these elements go to explain this relative silence. Yet everyone who met him - in undercover night-time operations as in the Journalists Training Centre (CFJ), the Jean Moulin club or the Glénans centre - all keep a fond memory of a highly charismatic personality. Whatever his merits, we do not want to give idolising biographical details of this resistance fighter's life but rather explore the uniqueness of a prominent leader in the Army of shadows.

Philippe Viannay was born in 1917 in a conservative family: his father was close to Colonel de la Roque's PSF movement and his mother had a nobles of the robe background. He also felt that his family belonged to "an honourable bourgeoisie" that despised money while having a small amount of it. After a year of hypokhâgne at Louis-le-Grand secondary school, he began studying philosophy while considering the priesthood - a vocation he abandoned in 1938 to resume his studies at the Sorbonne.

After fighting bravely in 1940, he returned to Paris, determined as the saying goes "to do something". Indeed, in October 1940 he considered publishing an underground newspaper, an idea given him by the boss of a friend, Marcel Lebon. Backed by a former classmate, Robert Salmon, and a student he met in the Sorbonne, Hélène Mordkovitch, whom he married in 1942, he launched an underground newspaper, Défence de la France with the first issue being published on 14 July, 1941.

Can you escape from your roots? The answer to this question is neither black or white when considering Philippe Viannay's life. Coming from a conservative Catholic family background, in many ways his opinions reflected those of his upbringing. In fact, up to 1942, DF adopted a Petainist line, wrongly crediting Petain with resistant tendencies. Similarly, the apprentice philosopher built his fight on an ethical basis. He did not try to fight against the occupier militarily but mainly focused his efforts in calling for a moral uprising.

Simultaneously, Philippe Viannay moved away from his milieu. Far from blindly following Petain, he considered the fight against Germany as a burning priority. And thanks to Hélène Viannay, DF became a patchwork where rather right-wing bourgeoisie elements mingled with more left-wing Russian migrants.

Through his charisma, sense of organisation and open mind, Viannay then influenced the line taken by the movement. As he came to realise the obvious, the paper gradually abandoned Petain and supported de Gaulle after an initial Giraud period. Above all, DF gradually embraced the idea of an armed struggle, setting up corps-francs then maquis groups in Burgundy-Franche-Comté and Seine-et-Oise in particular. But he failed to win over fighting France. While getting funds that enabled him, among other things, to finance a false ID papers workshop, the movement was not a part of the National Council of the Resistance. Viannay was probably a much better organizer than he was a politician! In fact, he preferred in 1944 to fight in Seine-et-Oise - where he was severely wounded - than go to Paris to prepare the now open publication of Défense de la France / France Soir .

Viannay

Albert Bernier, Philippe Viannay (centre) and Françoise de Rivière, the Seine-et-Oise maquis in August 1944.
©Fondation de la Résistance, AERI, coll. Défense de la France DR

 

Although a member of the Consultative Assembly, at the Liberation Viannay abandoned both his political career and France-Soir . However, anxious to train journalists who he had found lacked professionalism before the war, he set up the CFJ, invested in the newspaper France-Observateur, and created the Glénans nautical centre. In this he remained faithful to his ideas. While remaining interested in public affairs through the Union of the Socialist Left and the Jean Moulin club, he preferred to get involved in civil society - the common link between his clandestine commitment and his investments in calmer times in a restored Republic. He died in 1986, aged 69.


Olivier Wieviorka, author of Une certaine idée de la Résistance, Seuil, 1995, reprinted. 2010. In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 240/November 2013

Philippe Viannay

1917-1986
Philippe Viannay (au centre). ©Fondation de la Résistance, AERI, coll. Défense de la France DR

 

Rien ne le préparait à affronter la guerre et à entrer dans la Résistance. Et pourtant, Philippe Viannay devient, à 25 ans, le chef incontesté d'un des principaux mouvements de résistance de la zone nord. Retour sur l'itinéraire d'un homme, épris de liberté, qui fut un précurseur dans de nombreux domaines.

Dans la galaxie des grands chefs de la résistance française, Philippe Viannay occupe une place singulière. Bien qu'il ait dirigé Défense de la France (DF), un important mouvement de zone nord, l'homme est resté moins connu que nombre de ses homologues – Frenay, Bourdet ou le couple Aubrac pour ne citer qu'eux. Sa jeunesse – il a tout juste 23 ans en 1940, son refus d'embrasser après-guerre une carrière politique, la publication posthume de ses mémoires..., autant d'éléments qui expliquent ce silence relatif. Dans le même temps, tous les hommes qui l'ont croisé – dans la nuit clandestine comme au Centre de formation des journalistes (CFJ), au club Jean Moulin comme au centre des Glénans – conservent le souvenir ému d'une personnalité dont le charisme était grand. Quels qu'aient été ses mérites, il ne s'agit pas, ici, de proposer une lecture hagiographique d'un résistant mais d'explorer la singularité d'un éminent dirigeant de l'Armée des ombres.

Philippe Viannay naît en 1917, dans un milieu conservateur : son père est proche du PSF du colonel de la Roque et sa mère appartient plutôt à une petite noblesse de robe. Il estimait d'ailleurs que sa famille appartenait à "une bourgeoisie d'honneur", méprisant l'argent tout en en ayant quelque peu. Après une année d'hypokhâgne au lycée Louis-le-Grand, il entame des études de philosophie tout en envisageant la prêtrise – vocation qu'il abandonne en 1938 pour reprendre son cursus à la Sorbonne.

Combattant vaillamment en 1940, il revient à Paris, bien décidé, pour reprendre la formule consacrée, "à faire quelque chose". En effet, il envisage dès octobre 1940 de monter un journal clandestin, suivant l'idée soufflée par un patron de ses amis, Marcel Lebon. Épaulé par un ancien condisciple, Robert Salmon, et par une étudiante rencontrée à la Sorbonne, Hélène Mordkovitch, qu'il épousera en 1942, il lance un journal clandestin, Défense de la France, dont le premier numéro sort le 14 juillet 1941.

Peut-on s'émanciper de ses origines ? L'itinéraire de Viannay invite à répondre de façon nuancée. Issu d'une famille conservatrice et catholique, l'homme épouse à bien des égards les réflexes de son milieu. De fait, DF adopte, jusqu'en 1942, une ligne maréchaliste, créditant bien à tort Pétain de sentiments résistants. De même, l'apprenti philosophe construit son combat sur un plan éthique. Il ne cherche pas à lutter militairement contre l'occupant mais appelle avant tout à un sursaut moral.

Dans le même temps, Philippe Viannay s'éloigne de son milieu. Loin de suivre aveuglément le Maréchal, il considère la lutte contre l'Allemand comme une ardente priorité. Et DF devient, grâce à Hélène Viannay, un lieu de brassage où une bourgeoisie plutôt droitière se mêle à des émigrés russes notamment, plutôt de gauche.

Par son charisme, son sens de l'organisation et son ouverture d'esprit, Viannay infléchit par la suite les destinées de son mouvement. Se rendant à l'évidence, le journal abandonne progressivement sa ligne maréchaliste pour soutenir de Gaulle, non sans un détour giraudiste. Surtout, DF se convertit progressivement à la lutte armée, montant des corps-francs puis des maquis, en Bourgogne-Franche-Comté et en Seine-et-Oise notamment. Mais, il ne parvient pas à s'imposer auprès de la France combattante. Tout en obtenant des fonds qui lui permettent, entre autres, de soutenir un atelier de faux-papiers, le mouvement ne siège pas au Conseil national de la Résistance. Viannay était sans doute meilleur organisateur que fin politique ! De fait, il préfère, en 1944, combattre en Seine-et-Oise – où il est gravement blessé – plutôt que de préparer à Paris la sortie au grand jour de Défense de la France /France Soir.

 

Albert Bernier, Philippe Viannay (au centre) et Françoise de Rivière, maquis de Seine-et-Oise, août 1944.
© Fondation de la Résistance, AERI, coll. Défense de la France DR

 

Bien que député à l'Assemblée consultative, Viannay abandonne à la Libération et la carrière politique, et France-Soir. En revanche, soucieux de former les journalistes dont il avait constaté avant-guerre le manque de professionnalisme, il monte le CFJ, s'investit au journal France-Observateur, tout en créant le centre nautique des Glénans. Il reste, à cette aune, fidèle à ses postulats. Tout en s'intéressant, via l'Union de la Gauche socialiste puis le club Jean-Moulin, à la chose publique, il préfère s'investir dans la société civile – fil rouge qui relie son engagement clandestin à ses investissements durant les temps plus calmes de la République retrouvée. Il décède en 1986, à l'âge de 69 ans.


Olivier Wieviorka, historien, auteur de Une certaine idée de la Résistance, Seuil, 1995, rééd. 2010, In Les Chemins de la Mémoire, 240/novembre 2013