Le Souvenir Français

Chapeau

Founded in 1887, Le Souvenir Français is a “child” of the Republic. It was founded in response to the Republican government’s desire to use the memory of the Franco-Prussian War to “build a nation”. An heir to that conflict, it has always played an active role in its remembrance.

Inauguration of the memorial to French soldiers, under the German occupation, at Noisseville (Moselle), 1908. © Maurice-Louis Branger/Roger-Viollet
Texte

Following the French defeat in the Franco-Prussian War, two remembrance actors came to the fore: the clergy and the Republic, specifically with the Law of 4 April 1873 on “preserving the graves of the soldiers killed in the Franco-Prussian War”. From 1873 to 1878, the State funded 87 396 graves across 1 438 communes in 38 departments. Remembrance was an affair of State. Commemorating the defeat became a way of looking to the future. An overarching policy was implemented, with widespread ceremonies (14 July was established as the national day in 1880) and the erection of monuments on a massive scale across the cantons and towns of France.

The Republic and the Oeuvre des Tombes et des Prières, set up by Père Joseph, competed with one another. The State sought a new intermediary, and settled on Le Souvenir Français, which adopted its articles of association on 19 February 1887. Article 3 stated: “The Society’s purpose is to maintain the graves of the soldiers killed on French or foreign soil; to ensure the preservation of funerary monuments (...).” Its founding committee was almost entirely comprised of natives of Lorraine who had emigrated to France after the annexation.

With support from the State, Le Souvenir Français grew, and its initiatives increased in number. Between 1887 and 1913, over a hundred memorials were erected and more than 2 000 plaques laid. In the early 20th century, Le Souvenir Français became an instrument of revanchist policy.

On 4 October 1908, the first French memorial to the Franco-Prussian War was inaugurated in Noisseville, near Metz.

On 17 October 1909, a second inauguration took place, at Wissembourg, Alsace, allegedly attended by over 100 000 people. These two events marked a real awakening of pro-French sentiment among the people of the annexed provinces. The growth of the organisation was a major concern to the German authorities, who ordered its dissolution in Alsace-Lorraine on 23 January 1913.

Proud of its heritage, Le Souvenir Français was keen to play a part in the 150th anniversary commemorations of the Franco-Prussian War. Its approach is, above all, realistic – after all, who still remembers the Franco-Prussian War? When the body of the Unknown Soldier was transferred to the Arc de Triomphe, on 11 November 1920, it drew attention away from Gambetta’s heart, enshrined at the Pantheon. Then, during the interwar years, came the turn of the commune of Paris to steal the limelight. Should the Franco-Prussian War then be commemorated now, as France and the world go through a decisive moment in history, with the global pandemic? 150 years have passed, split into two equal parts: 75 years of Franco-German wars; 75 years of peace in Europe, the latter being a work in progress.

When, in 1941, he spoke of a 30-year-long war which he anticipated would end in 1944-45, General de Gaulle, who was shaped by the knowledge of the defeat of 1870-71, was forgetting when that cycle of war had truly begun – in 1870, not 1914. Yet he reflected the mood of the time, and the end of remembrance of the Franco-Prussian War which came with 11 November 1920. Let us then be bold and revive, in 2020, the remembrance of a conflict that has so much to teach us about the French Republic, Franco-German relations and the world we live in.

Playing a part in the remembrance of the Franco-Prussian War means having the courage to think of it as decisive to our lives as French, German and, ultimately, European citizens.


Auteur
Serge Barcellini, Chairman, Le Souvenir Français

Read more

www.le-souvenir-francais.fr

Articles of the review

Le Souvenir Français

Chapeau

Créé en 1887, le Souvenir Français est un "enfant" de la République. Sa création répond à la volonté du gouvernement républicain d’utiliser la mémoire de la guerre de 1870 pour "faire Nation". Héritier de 1870, il a toujours été un acteur de sa mémoire.

Inauguration du monument élevé à la mémoire des soldats français, sous l'occupation allemande à Noisseville (Moselle), 1908. © Maurice-Louis Branger/Roger-Viollet
Texte

Au lendemain de la défaite de 1870, deux acteurs collectifs mémoriels se mettent en place : le clergé et la République, avec notamment la loi du 4 avril 1873 sur la "conservation des tombes des soldats morts pendant la guerre de 1870-71". De 1873 à 1878, l’État finance ainsi 87396 sépultures reparties sur 1438 communes dans 38 départements. La mémoire s’impose comme une affaire d’État. La commémoration de la défaite de 1870 devient porteuse d’avenir. Une politique globale est mise en place avec la multiplication des cérémonies (création du 14 juillet comme fête nationale en 1880), et l’érection massive de monuments dans les cantons et les villes de France.

La République et l’Œuvre des Tombes et des Prières, créée par le père Joseph rentrent en concurrence. L’État part à la recherche d’un nouvel interlocuteur, ce sera le Souvenir Français. Le 19 février 1887, les statuts de cette nouvelle association sont adoptés. Ils prévoient dans son article 3 : "La Société a pour objet d’entretenir les tombes des soldats morts sur le sol de la Patrie ou à l’étranger ; de veiller à la conservation des monuments funéraires". Son comité fondateur est composé en quasi-totalité de Lorrains émigrés en France après l’annexion.

Fort du soutien de l’État, le Souvenir Français progresse. L’association multiple les initiatives. Entre 1887 et 1913, plus d’une centaine de monuments sont érigés et plus de 2000 plaques sont apposées. À partir du début du XXe siècle, le Souvenir Français s’impose comme un instrument de la politique de la Revanche.

Le 4 octobre 1908, le premier monument français de 1870 est inauguré à Noisseville (à côté de Metz).

Le 17 octobre 1909, une seconde inauguration a lieu en Alsace à Wissembourg en présence dit-on de plus de cent mille personnes. Ces deux initiatives marquent le véritable réveil populaire du sentiment pro-français dans les provinces annexées. La progression de l’association inquiète fortement les autorités allemandes qui ordonnent sa dissolution en Alsace-Lorraine le 23 janvier 1913.

Fier et riche de son héritage, le Souvenir Français a souhaité être un acteur du 150e anniversaire de la guerre de 1870- 1871. Un acteur réaliste d’abord, car qui se souvient en effet encore de la guerre de 1870-1871 ? Le 11 novembre 1920, le transfert du corps du Soldat Inconnu sous l’Arc de Triomphe volait la vedette au cœur de Gambetta déposé au Panthéon. Puis ce fut durant les années de l’Entre-deux-guerres au tour de la commune de Paris de prendre la lumière. Faut-il dès lors commémorer 1870 alors que la France et le monde connaissent un temps de rupture historique exceptionnel avec la pandémie du siècle ? 150 ans sont passés, répartis en deux versants d’une durée identique. 75 ans de guerres franco-allemandes. 75 ans de paix européenne, ce second versant étant en développement.

En évoquant en 1941 la guerre de 30 ans en cours dont il anticipait la fin pour les années 1944-1945, le général de Gaulle, qui était pétri de la connaissance de la défaite de 1870/71, oublia le vrai commencement du cycle guerrier – 1870 et non 1914. Mais, il intégrait la force du temps de la clôture mémorielle intervenue le 11 novembre 1920. Alors, osons la réouverture de la mémoire de 1870/2020, qui nous apprend tant sur notre République, sur nos relations franco-allemandes et sur notre monde.

Être acteur mémoriel de 1870-1871, c’est avoir le courage de penser que cette guerre est un temps décisif de nos vies de Français, d’Allemands et tout simplement d’Européens.


Auteur
Serge Barcellini - Président du Souvenir Français

En savoir plus

www.le-souvenir-francais.fr

Articles de la revue