The Flirey national cemetery
La nécropole nationale de Flirey. © ECPAD
Pour accéder au panneau d'information de la nécropole, cliquer ici
The Flirey national cemetery holds the remains of soldiers who died during the battles of La Woëvre. Created in 1919, this place of remembrance is a testament to the extreme violence of the combats that took place between the Mort-Mare forests and the Le Prêtre woods. This cemetery, which was developed in 1924 with a view to bringing together the bodies exhumed from the military cemeteries of Flirey, Fey, Seicheprey and La Woëvre, today holds 4 407 French bodies, 2 657 of whom lie in individual graves. An ossuary holds the mortal remains of 1 750 soldiers. Alongside these men, 22 Russians, three Belgians and three Romanians are buried.
Many relics are still visible in the surrounding area, notably the ruins of the destroyed village of Flirey or the mine craters in the Mort-Mare woods. In the new village of Flirey, two commemorative monuments honour those who fought for its liberation. Bordering the Mort-Mare woods is a Vauthier milestone, marking the front line as of 18 July 1918.
Au nord de Toul, D 904
Visites libres toute l’année