Newsletter

Compiègne

Compiègne-Royallieu National Cemetery. Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA/ONACVG

 

Click here to view the cemetery's information panel vignette Royallieu

 

Compiègne-Royallieu National Cemetery holds the remains of soldiers who died for France after succumbing to their wounds in the town’s hospitals. Backing onto Compiègne South cemetery, this necropolis was established in 1921. It is located on the site of the former military cemetery attached to temporary military hospital No 16. In 1916, bodies exhumed from other cemeteries in the Oise were also brought to rest here. The cemetery holds nearly 3 400 bodies, including, from the First World War, 3 300 French (264 in two ossuaries), 81 British, 11 Russians, 1 Belgian and a German soldier buried in an ossuary, together with 4 Frenchmen killed during the Second World War.

 

The Battles of the Oise, 1914-18

In August 1914, as set out in the Schlieffen Plan, German troops entered Belgium and marched on Paris. They crossed the Oise and the Aisne before being stopped by the French counter-offensive on the Marne. The two armies then established a front from Verdun to Dunkirk; the right bank of the Oise was occupied by the Germans, while fierce fighting took place on the left bank, with the zouave regiments particularly distinguishing themselves.

For three years, from September 1914 to March 1917, the front didn’t budge. Noyon came under one of the strictest occupations, and the Oise saw no major military operations; it was a “quiet” sector. The French and German troops consolidated their positions, occupying underground quarries, which they decorated and carved.


At the end of 1916, the German command wanted to strengthen the front, and therefore decided to abandon the Noyon sector. Applying a scorched earth policy, the Germans retreated to the Hindenburg Line, which they had just established, thereby limiting the effects of an Allied offensive in this sector. By mid-March 1917, the area was liberated, but in ruins: the houses had been dynamited, the fields flooded, and the bridges and junctions destroyed.


However, the respite was short-lived. Less than a year later, 27 German divisions broke through the British front across 80 km and swept towards Noyon which, on 25 March 1918, found itself occupied once again. Entrenched on Mont Renaud, overlooking the town, the French drove back 23 German attacks, and for over a month shelled the enemy positions. Spared up until now, Noyon was completely destroyed.


On 9 June 1918, the German command ordered a fresh offensive. The Oise then became the scene of a bitter struggle, known as the Battle of Matz, during which the two enemy armies employed heavy artillery and tanks without reserve. Over the first few days, the German army made rapid progress. But due to major losses, their advance was halted at Compiègne. Led by General Mangin, the French army regained the initiative, liberating the Thiescourt massif and crossing the River Divette. On 30 August, Noyon was liberated for good.


The first department on the front line to come back under French control, the Oise has preserved the memory of that bitter fighting and, with the signing of the Armistice on 11 November 1918 in the forest of Rethondes, it remains one of the symbols of the Great War.

The town of Compiègne in the Great War

A town emblematic of First World War remembrance, where the Armistice was signed on 11 November 1918, from the early days of the war, soldiers of the British Expeditionary Force were stationed at Compiègne. Occupied temporarily by the Germans, the town was abandoned at the end of the Battle of the Marne. Located 12 km from the front, Compiègne became a vital link in the chain of medical attention provided to French Army casualties. A major hospital complex in the battle zone, it had many of its public buildings requisitioned, including Saint Joseph’s boarding school and the barracks of the 54th Infantry Regiment at Royallieu. The newly built barrack buildings could accommodate large numbers of wounded. Evacuated in June 1918, this medical complex was re-established and went on to function until the end of the war.


Threatened with enemy bombing from the air, in 1917 Compiègne became home to the French General Headquarters. In March 1918, due to the last major German offensives, the town came under threat once more and most of its population left. A strategic point on the route to Paris, the pressure from the enemy was entirely lifted from Compiègne in June 1918.

  • Compiègne-Royallieu National Cemetery. Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA/ONACVG

  • Compiègne-Royallieu National Cemetery. Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA/ONACVG

  • Compiègne-Royallieu National Cemetery. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Entrance to the Chauffour quarry. © ECPAD

  • French soldiers in position before Mont Renaud, as it is about to be recaptured, Passel, 29 August 1918. © ECPAD

  • A shell explosion on Mont Renaud. © ECPAD

  • Official visit by Georges Clemenceau to the ruins of Compiègne. © ECPAD

  • The Moroccan division stationed in the Froissy sector, in the Oise. © ECPAD

  • Entrance to a former bureau de change at Noyon, 20 March 1917. © ECPAD

  • Destruction of a bridge over the Oise, Verberie, 1914. © Private collection / FBN / DR

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address


    Compiègne

Lettre d'information

Compiègne

Nécropole nationale de Compiègne-Royallieu. Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA-ONACVG

 

Pour accéder au panneau d'information de la nécropole, cliquer ici vignette Royallieu

 

La nécropole nationale de Compiègne-Royallieu regroupe les dépouilles de soldats morts pour la France des suites de leurs blessures dans les hôpitaux de la ville. Adossée au cimetière sud de Compiègne, elle fut créée en 1921 et se situe à l'emplacement de l'ancien cimetière militaire dépendant de l'hôpital militaire temporaire n°16. En 1935 y furent également regroupés les corps exhumés de cimetières du département. Le cimetière rassemble près de 3 400 corps dont au titre de la Grande Guerre, 3 300 Français (264 en deux ossuaires), 81 Britanniques, 11 Russes, un Belge et un Allemand inhumé en ossuaire, ainsi que quatre Français tués lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

 

Les batailles de l’Oise - 1914-1918

En août 1914, conformément au plan Schlieffen, les troupes allemandes pénétrèrent en Belgique et marchèrent vers Paris. Ils franchirent l’Oise puis l’Aisne avant d’être arrêtés par la contre-offensive française de la Marne. Les deux armées se fixèrent alors sur un front allant de Verdun à Dunkerque ;  la rive droite de l’Oise fut occupée par les Allemands tandis que des combats acharnés eurent lieu sur la rive gauche où s’illustrèrent notamment les régiments de Zouaves.

Durant trois ans, de septembre 1914 à mars 1917, le front se figea. Noyon subit une occupation des plus strictes et l’Oise ne fit l’objet d'aucunes  grandes opérations militaires ; ce fut un secteur "calme". Les troupes françaises et allemandes consolidèrent leurs positions et aménagèrent notamment des carrières souterraines qu’ils décorèrent et sculptèrent.

Au terme de l’année 1916, l’Etat-major allemand souhaita resserrer le front et décida donc d’abandonner le secteur de Noyon. Appliquant la stratégie de la "terre brûlée", les Allemands se replièrent vers la ligne Hindenburg qu'ils venaient d'organiser, limitant ainsi les effets d'une offensive alliée dans ce secteur. Mi-mars 1917, ce territoire fut libéré mais ruiné : les maisons furent dynamitées, les champs noyés et les ponts, comme les carrefours, détruits.

Toutefois, le répit fut de courte durée. Moins d’un an après, vingt-sept divisions allemandes enfoncèrent le front anglais sur 80 km et déferlèrent vers Noyon, qui, le 25 mars 1918, fut à nouveau  occupée. Retranchés sur le Mont-Renaud, dominant la ville, repoussant vingt-trois assauts allemands, les Français bombardèrent pendant plus d’un mois les positions ennemies. Noyon épargnée jusque-là, fut entièrement détruite.

Le 9 juin 1918, l’État-major allemand décida d’une nouvelle offensive. L’Oise devint alors le théâtre d’une lutte acharnée, "la bataille du Matz", au cours de laquelle les deux armées ennemies employèrent sans compter l'artillerie lourde et les chars…  Au cours des premiers jours, l’armée allemande progressa rapidement. Mais, en raison des pertes importantes, ce mouvement fut  arrêté devant Compiègne. Conduite par le général Mangin, l’armée française reprit l’initiative, libéra le massif de Thiescourt, passa la Divette et, le 30 août, libéra définitivement, Noyon.

Premier département de la ligne du front à redevenir français, l'Oise conserve le souvenir de ces âpres combats et, avec la signature de l’Armistice du 11 novembre 1918 en forêt de Rethondes, demeure l'un des symboles de la Grande Guerre.

La ville de Compiègne dans la Grande Guerre

Cité emblématique de la mémoire de la Grande Guerre, la ville de Compiègne, qui reçut la signature de l'Armistice du 11 novembre 1918, accueille, dès les premiers jours du conflit, les soldats du corps expéditionnaire britannique. Investie provisoirement par les Allemands, la ville est au terme de la bataille de la Marne abandonnée. Située à douze kilomètres du front, cette cité devient, pour l'armée française, un maillon essentiel dans la chaine des secours apportés aux blessés. Centre hospitalier important de la zone des armées, un grand nombre de bâtiments publics comme le pensionnat Saint-Joseph ou la caserne du 54e RI à Royallieu sont alors réquisitionnés. Les bâtiments de cette caserne récemment construits permettent d'accueillir de très nombreux blessés. Evacué en juin 1918, cette formation sanitaire s'y réinstallera pour fonctionner jusqu'à la fin de guerre.

Menacée par les bombardements de l'aviation ennemie, Compiègne accueille, en 1917, le Grand Quartier Général français. En mars 1918, en raison des dernières grandes offensives allemandes, cette ville est à nouveau menacée et la majorité de ses habitants la fuient. Enjeu stratégique contrôlant la marche vers Paris, Compiègne est pleinement dégagée de la pression ennemie en juin 1918.

  • Nécropole nationale de Compiègne-Royallieu. Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA-ONACVG

  • Nécropole nationale de Compiègne-Royallieu. Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA-ONACVG

  • Nécropole nationale de Compiègne-Royallieu. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Entrée de la carrière du Chauffour. © ECPAD

  • Soldats français en position devant le Mont-Renaud, sur le point d'être reconquis, Passel, 29 août 1918. © ECPAD

  • Explosion d'un obus sur le Mont-Renaud. © ECPAD

  • Visite officielle de Georges Clemenceau dans les ruines de Compiègne. © ECPAD

  • La division marocaine est stationnée dans le secteur de Froissy, dans l'Oise. © ECPAD

  • Entrée d'un ancien bureau de change à Noyon, 20 mars 1917. © ECPAD

  • Destruction d'un pont de Verberie enjambant l'Oise, 1914. © Collection privée/FBN/DR