La Chapelle du Souvenir Français

Chapel. Source : lycees.ac-rouen.fr - Le circuit du souvenir

Managed today by the Le Souvenir Français association, this chapel is a shrine of remembrance of France’s participation in the Battle of the Somme.

 

Taking back the village of Rancourt was important, not just for the pursuit of the offensive’s general direction toward the east, but also in that it cut off the important German lines of communication along the Bapaume-Péronne road. This was the mission entrusted to the 32nd French Army Corps on 25 September 1916. Today, Rancourt has the sad distinction of having 3 cemeteries on its territory: French, British and German. It is also an important site –one of the only ones – preserving the memory of France’s participation in the Battle of the Somme.

 

 

Le Souvenir Français Chapel and the French national necropolis

This chapel in ashlar stone was not the result of an official decision, but rather of a private initiative: the du Bos family, natives of the region, wanted to erect a monument to the memory of their son and his comrades in arms killed on 25 September 1916. In 1937, Le Souvenir Français took over management of the building and the memorial. Rancourt Cemetery is the largest French necropolis in the Somme region (8,566 soldiers – 28,000 m²). It attests to the violence of the battles during the last 3 months of the offensive (September – November 1916).


 


Le Souvenir Français Chapel

2, Route Nationale 80360 RANCOURT

Tel.: +33 (0)3 22 85 04 47


 

The Somme Tourism Committee

21 rue Ernest-Cauvin 80000 Amiens

Tel.: +33 (0) 322 71 22 71

Fax: +33 (0) 322 71 22 69

e-mail: accueil@somme-tourisme.com


 

The Somme Tourism Committee will be happy to provide you with any information concerning the Somme Battlefields and the Circuit du Souvenir: commemorations, access, transportation, guided tours for groups and individuals, helicopter tours, accommodation, etc. The Tourism Committee also publishes a range of brochures on Memorial Tourism.


 

Le Souvenir Français Committee of the Canton of Dun sur Meuse


 

The Somme 1914-1918


 

The Somme Tourism Committee

 

 

  • Chapelle du Souvenir Français. Source : le guide de visite des champs de bataille

  • Chapelle du Souvenir Français. Source : Le circuit du souvenir

  • Chapelle du Souvenir Français. Source : Le Souvenir français

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address

    2 Route Nationale 80360
    Rancourt
    Tél. : 03 22 85 04 47Comité du tourisme de la somme21 rue Ernest-Cauvin80000 AmiensTél. : +33 (0) 322 71 22 71FAX : +33 (0) 322 71 22 69e-mail : accueil@somme-tourisme.com

    Prices

    Visit free of charge

    Weekly opening hours

    Accessible year-round

    Read more

    Related articles

    Commemorative sites

La Chapelle du Souvenir Français

Chapelle. Source : lycees.ac-rouen.fr - Le circuit du souvenir

Aujourd'hui gérée par le Souvenir Français, la chapelle est le haut-lieu du souvenir de la participation française à la Bataille de la Somme.

L'importance de la prise du village de Rancourt était, outre la poursuite de la direction générale de l'offensive vers l'est, la rupture de l'important lien de communication allemand constitué par la route Bapaume-Péronne. Telle fut la mission confiée au 32e corps d'armée français le 25 septembre 1916. Rancourt a aujourd'hui le triste privilège de regrouper sur son territoire 3 cimetières : français, britannique et allemand. C'est aussi le haut-lieu - et presque le seul - du souvenir de la participation française à la Bataille de la Somme.

Chapelle du Souvenir Français et nécropole française

Cette chapelle, en pierre de taille, fut non pas le fait d'une décision officielle mais d'une initiative privée : la famille du Bos, originaire de la région, voulut ériger un monument à la mémoire de son fils et de ses camarades de combat tués le 25 septembre 1916. C'est le Souvenir Français qui, en 1937, prit en compte la gestion du bâtiment et l'animation du mémorial. Le cimetière de Rancourt est la plus grande nécropole française de la Somme (8 566 soldats - 28 000 m2). Il atteste de la violence des combats des 3 derniers mois de l'offensive (septembre - novembre 1916).

 

Chapelle du Souvenir Français

2, Route Nationale 80360 RANCOURT

Tél. : 03 22 85 04 47

 

Comité du tourisme de la somme

21 rue Ernest-Cauvin 80000 Amiens

Tél. : +33 (0) 322 71 22 71

FAX : +33 (0) 322 71 22 69

e-mail : accueil@somme-tourisme.com

 

Le Comité du Tourisme de La Somme se tient à votre disposition pour tout type de renseignements liés aux Champs de Bataille de La Somme et au Circuit du Souvenir : commémorations, moyens d'accès, modes de transport, visites guidées pour groupes et individuels, survol en hélicoptère, hébergements, etc ... Le CDT édite également une gamme de brochures sur le Tourisme de Mémoire.

 

Comité du Souvenir Français du Canton de Dun sur Meuse

La Somme 14-18

Comité du tourisme de la Somme

  • Chapelle du Souvenir Français. Source : le guide de visite des champs de bataille

  • Chapelle du Souvenir Français. Source : Le circuit du souvenir

  • Chapelle du Souvenir Français. Source : Le Souvenir français

  • > Retourner aux résultats

    Infos pratiques

    Adresse

    2 Route Nationale 80360
    Rancourt
    Tél. : 03 22 85 04 47Comité du tourisme de la somme21 rue Ernest-Cauvin80000 AmiensTél. : +33 (0) 322 71 22 71FAX : +33 (0) 322 71 22 69e-mail : accueil@somme-tourisme.com

    Horaires d'ouverture hebdomadaires

    Accessible toute l'année

    En savoir Plus

    Articles liés

    Lieux de mémoire