Service historique de la Défense

Archive news - Cultural calendar - Publications

Le Service historique de la Défense

The SHD is a branch of the Department for Remembrance, Heritage and Archives (DMPA), one of the departments of the Secretariat-General for Administration (SGA) of the Ministry of Defence. ?Site officiel ?Facebook dédié ? YouTube ? Instagram officiel

 

The site of the archives of the ministries responsible for military affairs since records began, the Service Historique de la Défense (SHD) also has one of the most extensive specialist libraries in France. It also has the role of approving, cataloguing and gathering together the elements of military symbolism (emblems and insignias), as well as contributing to research into the history of defence.

 

Its collections, comprised of 450 km of archives dating back to the 17th century, totalling nearly one million works, represent a part of the French national memory, which the SHD’s archivists, librarians, historians and scientific and technical staff are engaged in preserving, transmitting and sharing. These first-class documentary resources belong to the French people.

 

Founded on 1 January 2005 through the merging of the former historical departments of the armed forces, the SHD is a branch of the Department for Remembrance, Heritage and Archives (DMPA), one of the departments of the Secretariat-General for Administration (SGA) of the Ministry of Defence.

 

It is comprised of three centres: the Centre Historique des Archives (located in Vincennes, Cherbourg, Brest, Lorient, Rochefort, Toulon, Caen and Le Blanc), the Centre des Archives de l’Armement et du Personnel Civil (located in Châtellerault) and the Centre des Archives du Personnel Militaire (located in Pau).

 

Learn all about the SHD through the exhibition organised to celebrate its 10th anniversary.

> Return to results

Practical information

Address

Château de Vincennes - Avenue de Paris 94306
Vincennes

Service historique de la Défense

Actualités des fonds d'archives - Agenda culturel - Publications...

Le Service historique de la Défense

Le SHD est rattaché à la direction des patrimoines, de la mémoire et des archives (DPMA), l'une des directions du secrétariat général pour l'administration (SGA) du ministère des Armées.

Agenda culturel des musées Défense

Lieu de conservation des archives des ministères chargés des affaires militaires depuis l'origine, le service historique de la défense (SHD) dispose en outre d’une bibliothèque spécialisée parmi les plus riches de France. Il est également chargé d’homologuer, de répertorier et de rassembler les éléments de la symbolique militaire (emblèmes et insignes) et de contribuer aux travaux relatifs à l’histoire de la défense.

Ressources documentaires de premier ordre, ses collections (450 km d’archives remontant au XVIIe siècle, près d’un million d’ouvrages), représentent une part de la mémoire de la nation que les archivistes, les bibliothécaires, les historiens, les personnels scientifiques et techniques du SHD s’emploient à conserver, transmettre et partager. Elles appartiennent à tous les Français.

Créé le 1er janvier 2005 par regroupement des anciens services historiques d'armées, le service historique de la défense est rattaché à la direction des patrimoines, de la mémoire et des archives (DPMA), l'une des directions du secrétariat général pour l'administration (SGA) du ministère des Armées.

Il se compose de trois centres : le centre historique des archives (implanté à Vincennes, Cherbourg, Brest, Lorient, Rochefort, Toulon, Caen, Le Blanc), le centre des archives de l’armement et du personnel civil (implanté à Châtellerault), et le centre des archives du personnel militaire (implanté à Pau).

> Retourner aux résultats

Infos pratiques

Adresse

Château de Vincennes - Avenue de Paris 94306
Vincennes