Newsletter

La nécropole nationale de Luynes

Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

 

Click here to view the cemetery's information panel vignette Luynes

In the late 1950s, the decision was taken to build a cemetery in Luynes in honour of the soldiers of the French Empire who lost their lives in southeast France in the two world wars.


Work began on Luynes National Cemetery in 1966. It contains the bodies of more than 11 000 French troops killed in the First and Second World Wars: 8 347 in 1914-18, 3 077 in 1939-45.


The bodies buried at Luynes were exhumed from temporary cemeteries in the departments of Aude, Alpes de Haute-Provence, Alpes-Maritimes, Bouches-du-Rhône, Gard, Hérault, Var, Vaucluse and Pyrénées-Orientales. In accordance with the law, families that requested the bodies of loved ones had them returned to them, to be buried in private graves, while the remainder were laid to rest at Luynes: 8 402 in individual graves and 3 022, unable to be identified, in three ossuaries. This process went on until 1968. The cemetery was officially opened on 27 September 1969, by veterans minister Henri Duvillard, a former member of the Resistance, leader of the Corps Francs du Nord du Loiret.
 

1914-18: the Empire comes to France’s aid

Right from 1914, France called on its empire to support the war effort, by providing troops, workers (nearly 200 000 men) and raw materials. A total of 600 000 soldiers were mobilised from across the Empire: tirailleurs, spahis and zouaves from North Africa; tirailleurs from sub-Saharan Africa and Madagascar; and troops from Indochina, the Antilles and the Pacific. From the Marne to Verdun, Champagne to the Aisne, these men fought on the main fronts, including the Eastern Front.


The soldiers from the colonies arrived in metropolitan France via Marseille, while others passed through the port city on their way to the Eastern Front. The camp of Sainte-Marthe was set up in 1915 to accommodate the colonial troops.


Unaccustomed to the cold climate, these soldiers were susceptible to respiratory illnesses and frostbite. The violence of the fighting, the bad weather conditions and the poor hygiene of the trenches caused the deaths of more than 78 000 of them.


In winter, the colonial soldiers were withdrawn from the front and sent mostly to the South of France. The French Army’s many wounded and sick who were evacuated from the different fronts, and in particular the colonials, were also treated in the south. Despite the treatment they received, several thousand died in hospitals of the region and were initially buried in local cemeteries. Some 8 347 bodies (2 626 of them in ossuaries) were reburied at Luynes.
 

1939-45: the French Empire in the war

As in the First World War, France called on the troops of its Empire in September 1939, when France mobilised and declared war on Nazi Germany. Alongside their French comrades, the colonial soldiers distinguished themselves in many battles. Among them, the Senegalese tirailleurs (who despite their name came from across sub-Saharan Africa) fought particularly fiercely. Besides sustaining severe losses, they sometimes suffered reprisals at the hands of German troops who, exasperated by their resistance, hounded them relentlessly. Thus, they were the victims of summary executions, for instance at Chasselay (Rhône) or Chartres, where survivors of the 26th Regiment of Senegalese Tirailleurs were massacred, a crime denounced at the time by prefect Jean Moulin.


From July 1940 onwards, as certain territories of the Empire came out in support for Free France (in particular, French Equatorial Africa), countless volunteers from all backgrounds enlisted in General de Gaulle’s Free French Forces. They particularly distinguished themselves at the Battle of Bir Hakeim (Libya), in June 1942, against Rommel’s Italian and German troops.


After the Anglo-American landings in North Africa (November 1942), the French Army of Africa made its re-entry into the war against Germany and Italy. It took part in the Tunisian campaign, which culminated in enemy surrender in May 1943, liberated Corsica in September and, from November, played an active role in the Italian campaign, as part of the French Expeditionary Force commanded by General Juin. The North African tirailleurs, spahis and goumiers distinguished themselves on the slopes of Mount Belvedere (February 1944) and opened up the road to Rome during the victorious Garigliano campaign, in May 1944.


On 15 August 1944, two months after Operation Overlord in Normandy, the Allies landed in Provence. General de Lattre de Tassigny’s Army B (the future French First Army) consisted predominantly of African soldiers. Following violent fighting, on 28 August 1944 they liberated the ports of Toulon and Marseille. These deep-water ports were crucial to maintaining supplies to the Allied armies in France. Ascending the Rhone valley, the French First Army took part in the Battle of the Vosges and the offensive against Belfort (Autumn 1944), where goums and tirailleurs sustained major losses, owing to enemy resistance and bad weather. Even so, during the winter of 1944-45, these men liberated Alsace. Crossing the Rhine, on 31 March 1945, the First Army drove deep into Nazi Germany and entered Karlsruhe and Stuttgart.


Most of the soldiers killed in the Second World War and buried at Luynes (3 077 men) died in the fighting to liberate Provence, following the landings of 15 August 1944. 
 

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © ECPAD

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Senegalese tirailleurs train at the 3rd Colonial Infantry Division training camp, 1917. In spite of their name, the “Senegalese” tirailleurs were not only from Senegal but from all the French colonies in sub-Saharan Africa. In the two world wars, soldiers from across the Empire (North Africa, sub-Saharan Africa, Indochina) were mobilised and fought in metropolitan France. © ECPAD

  • Senegalese tirailleur resting, 1917. © ECPAD

  • Senegalese tirailleurs of the Second Army pass through a village, 1940. © ECPAD

  • Moroccan goumiers during the Tunisian campaign, March 1943. The Anglo-American landings in North Africa (Operation Torch, November 1942) led to the French Army of Africa rallying to the Allied cause and re-entering the war. It was rearmed by the Americans and sent to fight in the Tunisian campaign, until the German surrender of May 1943. © ECPAD

  • Soldiers of the 6th Regiment of Moroccan Tirailleurs, 4th Moroccan Mountain Division, march to the line in Italy, February 1944. A French Expeditionary Force, commanded by General Juin, participated in the Italian campaign, distinguishing itself in particular in the winter of 1943-44 (capture of Belvedere) and at Garigliano (May 1944). © ECPAD

  • Landings of 15 August 1944 and Battle of Provence. © MINARM/SGA/DPMA/Joëlle Rosello

  • Tirailleurs of the 3rd Regiment of Algerian Tirailleurs (3rd Algerian Infantry Division) are cheered by the people of Marseille, August 1944. After violent fighting, the troops of General de Lattre de Tassigny’s Army B liberated Toulon and Marseille on 28 August. © ECPAD

  • At Maximiliansau in Germany, a tirailleur of the 3rd Regiment of Algerian Tirailleurs keeps watch over the Rhine from his lookout post, March 1945. Following the Battle of France, marked by fierce fighting in the Vosges, Franche-Comté and Alsace (October 1944 to February 1945), French troops entered Germany and crossed the Rhine on the night of 30 to 31 March 1945. © ECPAD

  • Moroccan goumier on horseback in the ruins of Büchelberg, Germany, March 1945. © ECPAD

  • > Return to results

    Practical information

    Address


    Luynes

Lettre d'information

La nécropole nationale de Luynes

Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

 

Pour accéder au panneau d'information de la nécropole, cliquer ici vignette Luynes

 

C’est à la fin des années 1950 que fut prise la décision de construire à Luynes, en hommage aux combattants français de l’Empire, une nécropole regroupant les soldats morts dans le sud-est de la France pendant les deux conflits mondiaux.

Aménagée à partir de 1966, la nécropole nationale de Luynes regroupe les corps de plus de 11 000 militaires français morts pour la France pendant les deux guerres mondiales : 8 347 soldats morts pendant la guerre de 1914-1918, et 3 077 combattants de 1939-1945.

Les corps inhumés à Luynes ont été exhumés de cimetières provisoires situés dans les départements de l’Aude, des Alpes de Haute-Provence, des Alpes-Maritimes, des Bouches-du-Rhône, du Gard, de l’Hérault, du Var, du Vaucluse et des Pyrénées-Orientales. Conformément à la loi, les corps demandés par les familles leur ont été restitués pour être inhumés en sépultures privées, tandis que les autres ont été enterrés à Luynes : 8 402 corps sont inhumés individuellement, et 3 022 corps, faute d’identité, ont été rassemblés dans trois ossuaires. Cette opération s’est déroulée jusqu’en 1968. Le 27 septembre 1969, l’ancien résistant, chef des corps francs du nord du Loiret, Henri Duvillard, ministre des Anciens combattants, a inauguré cette nécropole.

1914-1918, l’Empire au secours de la métropole

Dès 1914, pour soutenir l'effort de guerre, la France fait appel à son Empire qui lui fournit soldats, travailleurs (près de 200 000 hommes) et matières premières. Fortes de 600 000 combattants, ces troupes viennent de tout l’Empire colonial : tirailleurs, spahis et zouaves nord-africains, tirailleurs d’Afrique noire et de Madagascar, soldats d’Indochine, des Antilles et du Pacifique. De la Marne à Verdun, de Champagne à l’Aisne, ces hommes combattirent sur les principaux fronts, y compris celui d’Orient.

Les soldats venus de l’Empire arrivaient en métropole par Marseille, tandis que d’autres y transitaient pour rejoindre le front d’Orient. Le camp de Sainte-Marthe fut créé en 1915 pour accueillir les troupes coloniales.

Peu habitués aux rigueurs de l’hiver, ces soldats sont sensibles aux maladies pulmonaires et aux gelures. La violence des combats, les mauvaises conditions climatiques et l’hygiène déplorable des tranchées causent la mort de plus de 78 000 d’entre eux.

L’hiver, les soldats coloniaux sont retirés du front et rejoindre principalement le midi pour y être cantonnés. Les nombreux blessés et malades de l’armée française évacués des différents fronts, et en particulier ceux des troupes coloniales, furent également soignés dans le Sud. Malgré les soins, plusieurs milliers d’entre eux décédèrent dans les hôpitaux de la région et furent dans un premier temps inhumés dans les cimetières locaux. 8 347 corps (dont 2 626 en ossuaires) ont été réinhumés à Luynes.

1939-1945, l’Empire français dans la guerre

Comme en 1914-1918, la France fait appel aux troupes de son Empire en septembre 1939, date à laquelle la France mobilise et déclare la guerre à l’Allemagne nazie. Aux côtés de leurs frères d’armes métropolitains, les soldats coloniaux s’illustrent au cours de nombreux combats. Parmi eux, les tirailleurs sénégalais (originaires malgré leur appellation de toute l’Afrique noire) se battent avec acharnement. Outre les pertes sévères qu’ils subissent, ils sont parfois victimes de représailles par les troupes allemandes, qui, exaspérées de  leur résistance, s’acharnent contre eux. Des exécutions sommaires sont alors commises comme à Chasselay (Rhône) ou à Chartres où sont massacrés les survivants du 26e régiment de tirailleurs sénégalais, crime dénoncé, à l’époque, par le préfet Jean Moulin.

À partir de juillet 1940, avec le ralliement de certains territoires de l’Empire à la France libre (en particulier l’Afrique équatoriale française), de nombreux volontaires venus de tous les horizons s’engagent dans les Forces françaises libres du général de Gaulle. Ils se sont particulièrement illustrés à la bataille de Bir Hakeim (Libye) en juin 1942, face aux troupes italiennes et allemandes de Rommel.

Après le débarquement anglo-américain en Afrique du Nord (novembre 1942), l’armée française d’Afrique fait son retour dans la guerre contre l’Allemagne et l’Italie. Elle prend part à la campagne de Tunisie qui s’achève par la reddition ennemie en mai 1943, libère la Corse en septembre et participe activement, à partir de novembre, à la campagne d’Italie au sein du Corps expéditionnaire français commandé par le général Juin. Les tirailleurs, spahis et goumiers nord-africains s’illustrent sur les pentes du Belvédère (février 1944) et ouvrent la route de Rome lors de la campagne victorieuse du Garigliano en mai 1944.

Deux mois après l’opération Overlord en Normandie, les Alliés débarquent en Provence le 15 août 1944. L’armée B française (future 1re armée) du général de Lattre de Tassigny est majoritairement composée de soldats africains. Après de violents combats, ces troupes libèrent le 28 août 1944 les ports de Toulon et Marseille. Situés en eaux profondes, ces ports sont essentiels pour soutenir le ravitaillement des armées alliées en France. Remontant le couloir rhodanien, la 1re armée française prend part à la bataille des Vosges et à l’offensive contre Belfort (automne 1944) où goums et tirailleurs subissent, en raison de la résistance ennemie et de mauvaises conditions météorologiques, des pertes importantes. Pourtant, au cours de l’hiver 1944-1945, ces hommes libèrent l’Alsace. Franchissant le Rhin, le 31 mars 1945, la 1re Armée pénètre au cœur de l’Allemagne nazie, et investit Karlsruhe et Stuttgart.

Les combattants de 1939-1945 inhumés à Luynes (3 077 hommes) sont majoritairement tombés lors des combats de la libération de Provence qui ont suivi le débarquement du 15 août 1944.

 

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © ECPAD

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Nécropole nationale de Luynes. © Guillaume Pichard

  • Tirailleurs sénégalais en formation au camp d'instruction de la 3e division d'infanterie coloniale, en 1917. Malgré leur appellation, les tirailleurs "sénégalais" ne proviennent pas uniquement du Sénégal mais de toutes les colonies françaises d'Afrique noire. Pendant les deux guerres mondiales, des soldats originaires de tout l'Empire (Afrique du Nord, Afrique noire, Indochine) ont été mobilisés et ont combattu en métropole. © ECPAD

  • Tirailleur sénégalais au repos, en 1917. © ECPAD

  • Tirailleurs sénégalais de la 2e armée traversant un village  en 1940. © ECPAD

  • Goumiers marocains pendant la campagne de Tunisie, mars 1943. Le débarquement anglo-américain en Afrique du Nord (opération Torch de novembre 1942) entraîne le ralliement à la cause alliée de l'armée française d'Afrique et son retour dans la guerre. Elle est réarmée par les Américains et lancée dans la campagne de Tunisie jusqu'à la reddition allemande de mai 1943. © ECPAD

  • Montée en ligne en Italie des soldats du 6e régiment de tirailleurs marocains de la 4e division marocaine de montagne, février 1944. Un Corps expéditionnaire français, commandé par le général Juin, participe à la campagne d'Italie où il s'illustre tout particulièrement au cours de l'hiver 1943-1944 (prise du Belvédère) et au Garigliano (mai 1944). © ECPAD

  • Débarquement du 15 août 1944 et bataille de Provence. © MINARM/SGA/DPMA/Joëlle Rosello

  • Tirailleurs du 3e régiment de tirailleurs algériens (3e division d'infanterie algérienne) acclamés par la population marseillaise, août 1944. Après de violents combats, les troupes de l'armée B du général de Lattre de Tassigny libèrent Toulon et Marseille le 28 août. © ECPAD

  • À Maximiliansau en Allemagne, un tirailleur du 3e régiment de tirailleurs algériens veille face au Rhin à son poste de guet, mars 1945. Après la campagne de France marquée par les durs combats des Vosges, de Franche-Comté et d'Alsace (octobre 1944-février 1945), les troupes françaises entrent en Allemagne et franchissent le Rhin dans la nuit du 30 au 31 mars 1945. © ECPAD

  • Goumier marocain à cheval dans les ruines de Büchelberg en Allemagne, mars 1945. © ECPAD