Philippe Apeloig

Chapeau

Graphic designer and typographer Philippe Apeloig has compiled a large-format book of photographs of all of Paris’s Second World War commemorative plaques. Combining typography and remembrance, the plaques reveal the whole tragic story of the period.

6, place du Petit-Pont, 5e arr. © Philippe Apeloig
Texte

Enfants de Paris’ has just been published. Where did the idea for the book and your interest in the commemorative plaques on the walls of Paris come from?

The project was a long time maturing. You could say it began with Maya Lin’s Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall, built in Washington in 1982.  Those names engraved in stone made a profound impression on me. Then, after the terrorist attacks of 11 September 2001, the missing person posters put up all over New York, where I was living at the time, made a big impact on me. Later, in 2004, my mother had a plaque laid in Châteaumeillant, in the department of Cher, to thank the “Righteous” of the village who concealed her family and others during the Occupation. I then made a number of attempts at photographing the plaques in Paris, which I did not pursue. It was not until five years later that I went back to the project in earnest and put it on my studio’s schedule.

Photographing all the plaques in Paris from the period 1939-45 approximately 1 500 requires a lengthy process of cataloguing. How did you go about it?

This may seem surprising, but there is no exhaustive database. So we had to begin by cataloguing the plaques from the period 1939-45, comparing the different partial lists and other information we found in various places – at Paris city council’s cultural affairs department, at the Shoah Memorial archives, on websites, in books, etc. – with all the plaques we noticed on our urban wanderings. This investigative work was not done in advance, but throughout the process. While out taking the photos, we would come across new plaques; sometimes, it felt like we would never reach the end! And of course, we had to take into account those that were laid while the book was being produced, which we often discovered by chance.

Was the issue of passing on memory at the forefront of the project?

It wasn’t at the forefront, but it played an undeniable part. By compiling all these traces that are scattered across the city and showing them up close – whereas people walk past them in the street without noticing them – the book is an invitation to remember the past. And as I mentioned before, the book also has to do with passing on my family’s memory.

You are a graphic designer and particular care has been taken over this coffee-table book. Was the artistic aspect key to its realisation?

This is not a history book, but an art book. It was conceived as a design object, from its blank cover – with its bas-relief lettering as if it had been engraved – to its red and blue flyleaves which together with the white inner pages form the tricolour flag, to the choice of typefaces used. The uncluttered layout highlights the beauty and graphic diversity of the plaques. The book also begins and ends with close-ups – as if you were looking at the plaques through a magnifying glass – to draw attention to their craftsmanship. The idea is to reveal the beauty of this urban typographic collection, which tends to go unnoticed.

Why the title Enfants de Paris?

This poetic title echoes that of the film by Marcel Carné, Les Enfants du Paradis, which was filmed during the Occupation against the backdrop of a Paris replicated in secret by Jewish set designer Alexandre Trauner. It also evokes the opening words of the French national anthem, “Enfants de la Patrie” (Children of the Motherland). Finally, it honours the memory of the young people whose commitment cost them their lives (members of the Resistance, soldiers, the “Righteous of France”) or who were arrested and deported for being Jewish.


Auteur
The editorial team

Read more

Enfants de Paris, 1939-1945, Philippe Apeloig, éditions Gallimard.

https://apeloig.com/

Articles of the review

Philippe Apeloig

Chapeau

Graphiste et typographe, Philippe Apeloig a rassemblé dans un beau livre les photographies de toutes les plaques commémoratives parisiennes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Entre typographie et mémoire, ces plaques nous révèlent toute l’histoire tragique de cette période.

6, place du Petit-Pont, 5e arr. © Philippe Apeloig
Texte

"Enfants de Paris" vient d’être publié. Comment est née l’idée de ce livre et votre intérêt pour ces plaques commémoratives apposées sur les murs de Paris ?

Ce projet est issu d’un long mûrissement. The Wall, le monument en mémoire des vétérans du Vietnam construit par Maya Lin en 1982 à Washington, est un point de départ. J’avais été marqué par ces noms gravés dans la pierre. Puis, après les attentats du 11 septembre 2001, j’avais été bouleversé par ces feuilles accrochées partout à New York, où je vivais, avec le mot "Missing" et des noms de disparus. Plus tard, en 2004, ma mère a fait apposer une plaque à Châteaumeillant, dans le Cher, pour remercier les Justes du village qui ont caché sa famille et d’autres pendant l’Occupation. J’ai alors fait plusieurs tentatives de photos des plaques de notre capitale, laissées sans suite… C’est seulement il y a cinq ans que j’ai repris sérieusement le projet, en le mettant au programme de mon atelier.

Photographier toutes les plaques parisiennes de la période 1939-1945 – 1 500 environ – nécessite un long travail de recensement. Comment avez-vous procédé ?

Cela peut paraître étonnant, mais il n’existe pas de base de données exhaustive. Il a donc fallu commencer par recenser les plaques de la période 1939-1945, en compilant les diverses listes partielles et autres indications existantes çà et là : à la Direction des affaires culturelles de la ville de Paris, aux archives du Mémorial de la Shoah, sur des sites Internet, dans des livres… avec toutes celles que nous avons repérées durant nos déambulations urbaines. Le travail d’enquête n’a pas été mené "en amont", mais tout au long du processus. Au fur et à mesure des prises de vue, nous tombions sur de nouvelles plaques : parfois, nous avions l’impression que cela n’en finirait jamais ! Et, bien sûr, il a fallu prendre en compte celles posées pendant la conception du livre, que nous découvrions souvent par hasard.

La question de la transmission de la mémoire a-t-elle prévalu dans votre démarche ?

Elle n’a pas prévalu, mais elle est une composante indéniable. En rassemblant toutes ces traces disséminées dans la ville, en les montrant de près alors que l’on passe devant sans les voir dans la rue, le livre invite à se souvenir du passé. Et ma démarche relève aussi, comme évoqué précédemment, d’une transmission de ma mémoire familiale.

Vous êtes graphiste et un soin particulier a été porté à ce "bel ouvrage". L’aspect artistique était-il déterminant pour sa réalisation ?

Ce livre n’est pas un livre d’histoire, mais un livre d’art. Il a été pensé comme un objet de design, de sa couverture sans image, avec ses lettres en creux comme si elles étaient gravées, aux pages de garde bleues et rouges, qui recomposent le drapeau tricolore avec la tranche blanche des pages, en passant par les choix des polices de caractères utilisées pour la mise en page. Celle-ci, épurée, met en valeur la beauté et la diversité graphique des plaques. Le livre commence et finit d’ailleurs par des gros plans : comme si l’on regardait les plaques à la loupe, pour mettre en valeur les métiers d’art. L’ouvrage veut révéler la beauté inaperçue de cet ensemble typographique urbain.

Pourquoi avoir choisi pour titre "Enfants de Paris" ?

Le titre, poétique, crée un écho avec le film Les Enfants du Paradis de Marcel Carné, tourné pendant l’Occupation et dont l’histoire se déroule dans un Paris reconstitué dans la clandestinité par le décorateur juif Alexandre Trauner. Il évoque aussi l’expression républicaine "Enfants de la Patrie", qui ouvre notre hymne national et, enfin, il honore la mémoire des jeunes gens qui ont payé de leur vie leur engagement (résistants, militaires, Justes…), ou qui ont été arrêtés et déportés parce que nés juifs.


Auteur
La rédaction

En savoir plus

Enfants de Paris, 1939-1945, Philippe Apeloig, éditions Gallimard.

https://apeloig.com/

Articles de la revue